We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Golden Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Golden Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 337: English reviews
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had planned for a long walk along the beach on a very cold wet day. Decided to go and find hot coffee and was pleasantly surprised that The Golden Lion was open for bar meals. Very pleased we went in. Nice hot meal and good large cup of coffee. Staff pleasant and helpful, have always found it so on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann22051958
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this hotel just for lunch. Although it was just after Christmas it was very busy and only seemed to be serving in a small area near the bar. But the staff was very accommodating and helpful. There were four of us and only a table with two chairs available but they were more than happy to provide two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Sally S. Happy New Year. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I decided to have lunch here with my wife and daughter – big mistake! We only ordered sandwiches but they took over thirty minutes to arrive despite the bar area being virtually empty. When they eventually came, they were incredibly disappointing; very little filling and seemed to have just been thrown together in a hurry. The coleslaw was dreadful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ironthrone
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning ironthrone. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I can assure you that I will be investigating this straight away. Regards, Zoe.

King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Good food, nice staff and the building looks good. However the places like the toilets are awful. This needs sorting. If the toilets are this bad what else is! Would I come back. Yes but they need to invest in the facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jon M. Thank you for your review of your recent visit. As you will have seen we have had a large refurbishment this year which is part of a rolling programme which will look at the toilets in the near future. Regards, Zoe.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

The Golden Lion is part of the Shearings Group 'Coast and Country Hotels. Shearings are always GREAT value and The Golden Lion is no exception with three nights dinner bed and breakfast for two at less that £300. Paid for parking is available at the hotel or there are free public spaces outside and loads of other nearby cheap car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia / Stephe... T
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Sylvia/Stephe... T. It is nice to read that you feel that we offer great value for money and that you like our recent refurbishment. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and send an e-mail to head office. Regards, Zoe.

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Our room was excellent, bathroom, a wetroom ,l'm disabled so this was superb.All the staff were so pleasant ,especially our waiter ,David ,who seeing that I had trouble walking, fetched everything for me. The dining room looked out to sea, and everywhere was newly decorated. We shall return next summer, and this time my sister and her husband will join...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david h
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening David h. It is great to read that you had such a lovely break with us. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Regards, Zoe.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Been before very good hotel staff and food excellent worth paying extra for sea view. However one thing missing is residents lounge,there used to be one adjoining the dining room but this seems to have disappeared, and it can be rather noisy in the public lounge,having had my little moan we enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valharding77
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon valharding77. Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards, Zoe.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We ate here and didn't stay I cannot comment on the rooms. There were 6 of us for lunch, we had a variety of food from sandwich to duck breast all was terrible. Chips were cold, panini cold and the veg accompaniment was frozen vegetable mix I felt like I'd gone back to 1978 This day and age totally unacceptable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mum527
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon mum527. Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had this experience with us. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard and that this will be fully investigated. Regards, Zoe.

Castleford
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay at The Golden Lion and it's position is second to none overlooking The Wash. The food was well prepared, cooked and presented. Staff were more than helpful in all areas. Bedrooms were on the small side but had everything you needed. However the hotel boasts in its brochure that it has comfy beds, ours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelmanCastleford
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon TravelmanCastleford. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you found your bed uncomfortable. We normally get great comments about our beds so I will certainly look into this, thank you for bringing this to my attention. It is great to read that you will be making a return visit. Regards, Zoe.

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

contrary to previous reviews, we stayed at this hotel a week ago and found it to be very good value for money. The food and services were very good, and the staff without exception very professional. We will definitely stay again for longer next year. One tip, pay for a parking space prior to arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 195fred39
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 195fred39. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year. Regards, Zoe.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.0 km away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
770 reviews
1.7 km away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
781 reviews
0.3 km away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
0.2 km away
The Shellbrooke
The Shellbrooke
#9 of 23 in Hunstanton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
The Golden Lion hotel
The Golden Lion hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Price Range: €61 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Leicester, United Kingdom
Plymouth
11 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“GREAT sea views at front. No lift and stairs are steep but some ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 128sylviat, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We asked for a ground floor room, and it was superb.”
 of 5 bubbles L5326YWdavidh, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ground floor facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 195fred39, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a parking space, trust me.”
 of 5 bubbles AlbertTattlock, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request lower floor if any mobility difficulties as there is no lift”
 of 5 bubbles Richard10, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay