We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Golden Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Golden Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 333: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Golden Lion is part of the Shearings Group 'Coast and Country Hotels. Shearings are always GREAT value and The Golden Lion is no exception with three nights dinner bed and breakfast for two at less that £300. Paid for parking is available at the hotel or there are free public spaces outside and loads of other nearby cheap car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia / Stephe... T
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Sylvia/Stephe... T. It is nice to read that you feel that we offer great value for money and that you like our recent refurbishment. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and send an e-mail to head office. Regards, Zoe.

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was excellent, bathroom, a wetroom ,l'm disabled so this was superb.All the staff were so pleasant ,especially our waiter ,David ,who seeing that I had trouble walking, fetched everything for me. The dining room looked out to sea, and everywhere was newly decorated. We shall return next summer, and this time my sister and her husband will join...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david h
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening David h. It is great to read that you had such a lovely break with us. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Regards, Zoe.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been before very good hotel staff and food excellent worth paying extra for sea view. However one thing missing is residents lounge,there used to be one adjoining the dining room but this seems to have disappeared, and it can be rather noisy in the public lounge,having had my little moan we enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valharding77
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon valharding77. Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards, Zoe.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here and didn't stay I cannot comment on the rooms. There were 6 of us for lunch, we had a variety of food from sandwich to duck breast all was terrible. Chips were cold, panini cold and the veg accompaniment was frozen vegetable mix I felt like I'd gone back to 1978 This day and age totally unacceptable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mum527
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon mum527. Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had this experience with us. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard and that this will be fully investigated. Regards, Zoe.

Castleford
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay at The Golden Lion and it's position is second to none overlooking The Wash. The food was well prepared, cooked and presented. Staff were more than helpful in all areas. Bedrooms were on the small side but had everything you needed. However the hotel boasts in its brochure that it has comfy beds, ours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelmanCastleford
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon TravelmanCastleford. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you found your bed uncomfortable. We normally get great comments about our beds so I will certainly look into this, thank you for bringing this to my attention. It is great to read that you will be making a return visit. Regards, Zoe.

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

contrary to previous reviews, we stayed at this hotel a week ago and found it to be very good value for money. The food and services were very good, and the staff without exception very professional. We will definitely stay again for longer next year. One tip, pay for a parking space prior to arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 195fred39
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 195fred39. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year. Regards, Zoe.

Tipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, end of September. Luckily we had paid for a parking space beforehand, otherwise parking would have been a problem due to the small number of spaces available. Our first room,209 (bare with me) was at the back of the hotel overlooking the kitchen and bins. There was a constant hum coming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlbertTattlock
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon AlbertTattlock. Thank you for your review and I am sorry that our recent refurbishment has not met or exceeded your expectations. We are always looking to make improvements to the hotel and have taken your comments on board. Regards, Zoe.

East Anglia, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We arrived to be told that there was no space to park the car in the car park, we should have booked a space at £5 per day. Luckily a car was leaving from outside the hotel so we took that space but car parking is limited. Check in efficient, young lady very helpful and polite. Our room overlooked the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LesGUk
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon LesGUk. Thank you for your comments. I can assure you that the stardard of cleanliness that you have encountered is certainly not our usual standard. I hope that you decide to return to see our usual high standard of cleanliness. Regards, Zoe.

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

All the reserved parking places were booked well in advance, so we had difficultly finding anywhere near the hotel to park, as street parking is limited but free for 45 minutes.There were a limited number of parking places in front of hotel where there was no charge, but these were taken mainly be local workers.On arrival the reception staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard10
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Richard10. Thank you for taking the time to review your break with us. I am sorry that you were dissapointed with certain aspects of your break. I have passed your feedback onto the team. Regards, Zoe.

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We went on a 4 day self drive holiday to the Golden Lion Hotel. Parking was a problem and we had to use the public car park 5 minutes walk away. Our room was nice and the reception staff were excellent.A great location facing the sea. the food however was another issue, It was poor. The evening meals were always...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank OriginallyFromHove
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon OriginallyFromHove. I am sorry to read that you were dissapointed with your visit. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments. Thank you for your review. Regards, Zoe.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.0 km away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
762 reviews
1.7 km away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
774 reviews
0.3 km away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
0.2 km away
The Burleigh
The Burleigh
#2 of 25 in Hunstanton
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
The Golden Lion hotel
The Golden Lion hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Price Range: €77 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Leicester, United Kingdom
Plymouth
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“GREAT sea views at front. No lift and stairs are steep but some ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 128sylviat, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We asked for a ground floor room, and it was superb.”
 of 5 bubbles L5326YWdavidh, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ground floor facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 195fred39, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a parking space, trust me.”
 of 5 bubbles AlbertTattlock, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request lower floor if any mobility difficulties as there is no lift”
 of 5 bubbles Richard10, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay