We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
See the most recent reviews
Showing 590: English reviews
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting friends and family in the area. The hotel is typical Holiday Inn. We dined there the first night and the food was adequate but not wonderful. The room was fine, large and comfortable but it was on the side of the hotel close to the motorway and the traffic noise was quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank jintyjan2
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback of your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by traffic noise from the nearby A1. This is usually deadened by our triple glazing windows so we will investigate the issue you had. Thank you for your suggestion regarding our board games. It is a shame... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

A poorly stocked bar and menu unavailability was an initial indicator that all is not well. We waited almost 50 minutes for food to arrive after our order only to receive tepid rather than hot food. We did not complain as we believed it would neither be resolved nor recorded. This was a great disappointment as the front of house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Q3927ATmichaelf
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay. Please rest assured that your feedback is always listened to and that we are always committed to ensuring that all of our guests are well looked after and happy with the services we provide. We are so disappointed that your experience during your stay was not up to scratch... More 

sidcup
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I went on a shearings holiday to 0ban , for 8 days, The hotel we stayed in had been recently redecorated , The rooms were very comfortable, I had a room on the ground floor, the shower had a seat in which was fitted to the shower room wall , this was ideal for people with mobility problems. Check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank cnuttynan
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very happy to able able to provide shower seats in all of our standard rooms and are glad that this proved to be of benefit to you during your stay. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Having planned a trip with my 10 year old daughter i had booked a room 5 months in advance, however following a lengthy drive from Dundee i was informed that the room i had booked was for September and not October. Fearing the worst ( and a bit stupid) i had visions of spending the night in the car !... More 

Helpful?
Thank guernseyandy
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. It is great to hear that you were looked after during your stay with us. Everyone makes mistakes from time to time and we are just pleased that we were able to help get you sorted out after such a long journey down from Dundee. We hope that you will... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Reception staff were friendly and check in was quick. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the car park. Our room was spacious although the air conditioning unit was quite noisy which I had to switch off in the end. Bit of a strange room layout as the wash basin was just outside the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you had a good nights stay and that you found our staff to be friendly. Your feedback regarding our restaurant service is very important to us and we are committed to making improvements to ensure that the problems that arose do not happen... More 

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly reception staff , check in was quick helpful and friendly , room was large and clean , strange configuration of the bathroom , wash hand basin was in the main bedroom , shaving point was available and wi if was really good , we had an end of corridor room very quiet , really comfortable bed , restaurant was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scottiedog55
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you had a good check in and that on the whole you had a quiet peaceful stay. We are however most disappointed that you did not feel the same about our restaurant service and the quality of meals that... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights recently while we visited family and friends in the area. We were absolutely delighted at the standard of decoration, cleanliness and facilities in the rooms. We loved the shower - the towels were large and good quality and there were plenty of complimentary toiletries. WiFi coverage and access was excellent for keeping in touch!... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueHR51
HIDarlington, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review we are very pleased that you would recommend us and that we exceeded your expectations. Good to hear. Kind Regards Holiday Inn Darlington North More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This hotel is clean the rooms are very spacious and the staff are all extremely pleasant.The breakfast was very good , I have ceoliac and was pleasantly surprised as I was very well catered for. I will definitely us this hotel again. I look forward to returning very soon.

Helpful?
Thank RobertaNorfolk
HIDarlington, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you when you return. Kind Regards Holiday Inn Darlington North More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Overall the staff were very welcoming, the rooms were really comfortable, it had a large shower. The food in the restaurant as well as the breakfast were delicious. The location of the hotel is just off the a1. The only issue i had was the air contioner in my room, it made an awful rattle every 5- 10 mins so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sohail R
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us. Please allow me to apologise for the noise coming from your heating/cooling unit. Thank you for letting us know so we can get it fixed. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

What can I say. The room was spacious, immaculate and up to date decor. It was easy to find just of junction 59 on the a1. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was tasty although not the biggest portions. The gym was an added bonus and well maintained. It is only just over 30minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your thoughts on our hotel. It is so wonderful to hear that you think the hotel is Amazing. We really appreciate the lovely comments and hope that we can welcome you back again to stay with us. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager More 

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
4.9 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
721 reviews
7.8 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
674 reviews
8.2 km away
Premier Inn Darlington East (Morton Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: €45 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles TheBeardedLlama, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles jintyjan2, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet room ask for one facing the fields 2nd floor right at the end of the corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles Oxfordcameraman, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 22 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles katemX3005PF, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room I had was nice and quiet on First floor....”
 of 5 bubbles holiday1122, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay