We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 605: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
 Click to rate
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large, immaculate room and en suite. Lovely staff. Dinner was e cellent and served by knowledgeable staff. Even though room was on A1 side it was well insulated so was quiet considering the traffic and was air conditioned. Bedroom was rather warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fluffysfriend2015
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear fluffysfriend2015, Thank you so much for the fantastic comments. We are all thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be excellent in every department and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again. Kind Regards from everyone here at the hotel. Pat MacInnes General Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good and bad experiences can be a one off - so, to have a balanced view on a site, repeat visits are required to fully appreciate how a site really is. This Holiday Inn has been consistently good, and I so enjoy staying here! Parking is ample, out front of the building. I love the fact that 'appropriate' music is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morser221
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear Morser21, Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough and comprehensive review of our hotel. It is fantastic to hear the views of someone who has stayed with us on several different occasions. We agree that it does help to give a very balanced view overall of the hotel team and our facilities and as such...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was nice and room was good, it was strange that the sink was outside the bathroom,not in the bathroom. Other that it was a nice room with a good sleep. The dinner was ok, but the kids one was small and my meal did not come with chips, no one explain that you have to order your chips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Interesting S
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies that it was not made clear to you by your server that chips were not included with your meal. We welcome all constructive comments and thank you once...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here on business for 1 night. Good location for the site I was visiting, bar was nice, bed was comfy. However the room was strange, the sink was in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom, and very annoyingly the plugs were all set into the wall flush with the wall mounted desk - meaning it was impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Danie1Lawson, Food & Beverage Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found our bar area and beds comfortable. We were made aware of an issue with our water system on the morning of your check-out. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Be assured that this was an isolated incident and our Maintenance Manager took...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed at this Holiday Inn using a BuyAGift voucher we had been given for "A 2 night Relaxing Break". On the first night we were allocated Room 19 - a disabled type twin bedded room at the end of the corridor on the ground floor. Don't accept this room if you want a good night sleep. It is next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanF_100
Danie1Lawson, Food & Beverage Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you encountered and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The first and foremost aspect of a hotel is that you receive a good nights sleep. I'm sorry that we let you down on this occasion. I would like to speak...

York
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed for one night on Sunday- we knew the hotel through stopping off for coffee on long journeys so decided it was ideal for our stop over needs.I phoned ahead to ask for the heating to be turned up in the room and the single beds to be pushed together ( accessible room ) The room was far bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBDYork
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you think our hotel is fabulous. However we are so sorry that we let you down on our room service breakfast. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and it should be served to you in the...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I stay in Holiday Inns all the time and usually the food is pretty reliable. This was so bad I couldn't eat it - cold, tasteless, lumpy mash, over cooked veg. I did complain and they didn't charge me for it. Due to the location there is no other choice of place to eat in walking distance either so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ness1976
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. We are all so disappointed to hear that you had a problem with the food you ordered. Rest assured this will be dealt with accordingly and improvements will be made. We are so sorry to have let you down during your stay. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

London
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Stayed for a couple of nights while doing business nearby. Hotel is very close to the A1 and has plenty of free parking. Had dinner on two evenings - both meals were delicious, with quick and friendly service. The room was not good though. Had a room on the ground floor. The heater didn't work at all, just made an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldfatandtired
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. I would firstly like to take the opportunity to apologise for the noise disruption which came from other guests. Unfortunately we did have some less considerate people staying with us recently who returned to the hotel after having too much alcohol. We did deal with this...

Essex
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I use Holiday Inn hotels all the time, and this is not the best ambassador. The hotel looked tired in parts My bed had stained sheets (not nice) and the pillows were lumpy, tells me they needed replacing. I must say the staff were very friendly, but did lack some training. I had a meal in the restaurant, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USADriver
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and thank you for your communications with our F & B Manager Daniel Lawson. We apologise that you had cause for concern during your stay and appreciate the constructive feedback you have passed on to us. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Convenient to A1 but behind services so don't expect to go for a walk anywhere nearby, surrounding area not great. Hotel clean n up to date. Bar and restaurant area feels more like a corridor no atmosphere. Ground floor rooms noisy with creaking floor boards above. Executive rooms worth the upgrade far more spacious and much better decor. So great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you find our hotel to be clean and up to date. We have two different types of rooms within the hotel, executive and standard. I am sorry that you find our standard rooms to be not too your taste. Thank you once again for...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
4.9 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
740 reviews
1.1 km away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
745 reviews
5.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: €49 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on west side would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles fluffysfriend2015, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 19 unless you want a poor sleep from noise, or need an access room”
 of 5 bubbles AlanF_100, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had accessible room 19”
 of 5 bubbles LBDYork, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Ness1976, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor - it's very noisy (noise comes from inside the hotel). Rooms near the reception suffer from a creaky floor above.”
 of 5 bubbles oldfatandtired, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5