We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 611: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
 Click to rate
Eydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and a good good room. Iron and ironing board in the room. Shower was OK - but poor pressure. I'm sure it's kind to the environment! Despite proximity to the road it was pretty quiet and I had no problem sleeping. Bed was good. Breakfast also good and there was a bar and food service in the evening which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crafty_Jock
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be nice and quiet for your purposes. It is always great to be able to pleasantly surprise our guests and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again. Hopefully we will still...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was easy to find. Clean with great facilities. Staff welcoming and helpful. Room was lovely with a comfortable bed. Restaurant provided a good quality self service breakfast. Food was available all day though we didn't eat there. The menu appeared to give adequate choice - similar to basic pub grub. Hotel was further away from anywhere than we expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary Q
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well placed for visiting the North East. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious, with double being a 6 foot bed. Breakfast was a standard holiday inn breakfast. Would stay again. However, could not recommend the restaurant. It was very poor value for money. It was very ordinary heat and serve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pattie42
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some feedback on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies that you did not find our food to be of a good standard. It is always helpful to have specific comments so that we can address them. We do try to serve good hearty meals that our guest will enjoy without being pretentious. Your comments...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff are great and are what make the hotel. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are poor. A small cupboard like room with a toilet and shower, made it feel like a poor b&b. The restaurant/bar area is small but nice and down in the new more funky HI style. It's probably more suited to a Holiday Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amp330
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are very pleased that you found our staff to be great and we certainly agree that the people are what makes a hotel great. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here with a Just Go coach trip and must say we were very impressed. Lovelly room however it was a far to hot and had to leave the window open all night which was noisy as it was overlooking the motorway. The food was very nice and staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregory s
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear Gregory s, Thank you for the feedback and for saying you had a very nice stay. This means a lot to us all here at the hotel. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Tow Law, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stopped here as we were attending a family event in newton aycliffe first off the reception staff were fantastic and very friendly and very helpful i asked about taxi numbers to take us to our venue not only did they have the numbers but they booked them for us leaving us to relax for a while we stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank met181
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear Met181, Thank you for the lovely comments. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in the area. We pride ourselves on always trying our best to help our guests and we are delighted that you had this experience with us. Thanks you so much for saying that you would recommend us. Kind...

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Large, immaculate room and en suite. Lovely staff. Dinner was e cellent and served by knowledgeable staff. Even though room was on A1 side it was well insulated so was quiet considering the traffic and was air conditioned. Bedroom was rather warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fluffysfriend2015
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear fluffysfriend2015, Thank you so much for the fantastic comments. We are all thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be excellent in every department and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again. Kind Regards from everyone here at the hotel. Pat MacInnes General Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Good and bad experiences can be a one off - so, to have a balanced view on a site, repeat visits are required to fully appreciate how a site really is. This Holiday Inn has been consistently good, and I so enjoy staying here! Parking is ample, out front of the building. I love the fact that 'appropriate' music is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morser221
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear Morser21, Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough and comprehensive review of our hotel. It is fantastic to hear the views of someone who has stayed with us on several different occasions. We agree that it does help to give a very balanced view overall of the hotel team and our facilities and as such...

Reviewed 4 March 2017

The hotel was nice and room was good, it was strange that the sink was outside the bathroom,not in the bathroom. Other that it was a nice room with a good sleep. The dinner was ok, but the kids one was small and my meal did not come with chips, no one explain that you have to order your chips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Interesting S
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies that it was not made clear to you by your server that chips were not included with your meal. We welcome all constructive comments and thank you once...

Reviewed 22 February 2017

Stayed here on business for 1 night. Good location for the site I was visiting, bar was nice, bed was comfy. However the room was strange, the sink was in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom, and very annoyingly the plugs were all set into the wall flush with the wall mounted desk - meaning it was impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Danie1Lawson, Food & Beverage Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found our bar area and beds comfortable. We were made aware of an issue with our water system on the morning of your check-out. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Be assured that this was an isolated incident and our Maintenance Manager took...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
7.7 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,031 reviews
0.8 km away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
754 reviews
5.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: €50 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on west side would be quieter.”
fluffysfriend2015, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 19 unless you want a poor sleep from noise, or need an access room”
AlanF_100, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had accessible room 19”
LBDYork, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
Ness1976, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor - it's very noisy (noise comes from inside the hotel). Rooms near the reception suffer from a creaky floor above.”
oldfatandtired, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
HolidayInn.comUS$63
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates