We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Orchid Guesthouse.

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for White Orchid Guesthouse.
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Dehra Dun, Uttarakhand, India
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I had booked this guesthouse via yatra.com and when I reached there,the staff rudely said to me that they didn't have any confirmation.On enquiries,we found that the room that was supposed to be booked was unavailable.They were offering us a smaller room and gave us a option to accept it or get lost.Thats my story. Another thing I want to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aprmunu
Goldenhillboy, Manager at White Orchid Guesthouse., responded to this review

Dear Sir , We regret you had to face an issue regarding your booking . Our sold out inventory was duly forwarded to the booking portal yet the booking was made . We tried our best to accomodate you in the only room available at the time one which did not have an attached bathroom & one which you did...

Kolkata
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I was not happy with the commercialisation of Shillong Hotels and home stays in the past few years, and therefore was looking out for a different place to stay in Shillong this time, where i periodically go for work. I found details of White Orchid on Trip Advisor and after talking to Chetan the manager there, decided to stay there....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dbsgi
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This guest house is located in Malki Point in Shillong which is away from the hustle and bustle of the overcrowded Police Bazar. Our room was a double occupancy deluxe room located on the ground floor. It was quite spacious. The room and attached bathroom were very clean. Bathrooms was fitted with a geyser,so there was no problem of hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MACLIN00
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I stayed in White Orchid The Guest House during the period from 30.08.2016 to 06.09.2016. The guest though small but is beautiful. I stayed in room no 204. It was very spacious, well maintained and tidy. The toilet was also very neat & clean. The room has wide windows through which I enjoyed the cool breeze & sunshine in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raja B
Guwahati, India
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

A nice place to stay in Shillong especially if you want to have home like feeling as the ambience is quite homely and the surrounding is really good. The staff are quite Cooperative as you can get all kind of help from them- vehicle or guidance regarding spot you are about to visit. They are all the time at Ur...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rmanpang
Reviewed 17 August 2016

It was really amazing experience for me to be in White orchid.... Just Rs 10 share taxi ride from Police bazar point to Malki Point. 5 minutes journey,,,,, place is silent.....good to live n enjoy Shillong environment.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NIRBAN L
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

What a fantastic spot to stay in Shillong! After a wifi drought, we came across the White Orchid who were one of the only guest houses willing to put us up in Festival season and for a decent price. The real selling point here though, is the staff. The boys that work here are all extremely polite and courteous and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank josephmurray007
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at White Orchid for 5 nights. Our double room was clean with our own bathroom. There was no shower but a bucket to fill and use. The water was very hot. Chetan the manager could not help us enough, nothing was too difficult for him. The rest of the team were also very helpful. We end got to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bubblybev123
Stanford, California
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Great location in the city and a decent price. Although, I would have liked greater comfort. I faced two inconveniences: a) entrance to the room was through a Liliputian doorway and corridor through which I had to pass, with back considerably bent b) many rooms come with non-attached bathrooms, but this one took the cake: the bathroom was located on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikasm01
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Good hotel, with very decent services and a remarkably helpful staff and manager, Mr Chintu. Food also very nice and the parking facilities were helpful considering the dearth of space in Shillong. It is also centrally located, so a great boon for visitors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GGR J

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.2 km away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
130 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
10.9 km away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 19 in Shillong
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 19 in Shillong
250 reviews
1.5 km away
The Shillong Hills Guest House
0.2 km away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located newly constructed guesthouse comprised of eight guestrooms. The location is in Upper Lachaumiere, formerly a part of the 'European Ward' area of Shillong. Simple, clean, bright and spacious rooms. Panoramic view from the rooftop. Close proximity to all major areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Orchid Guesthouse.

Address: Upper Lachaumiere, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Price Range: €16 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Orchid Guesthouse. staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Haora, West Bengal, India
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from White Orchid Guesthouse. staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the front facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms of east & west side for nice view”
 of 5 bubbles amlandutt, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles A3316VLmels, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the upper floor as the view and the wifi connection is better there”
  • View from the landing
 of 5 bubbles dbsgi, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms with attached bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles MACLIN00, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5