We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
See the most recent reviews
Showing 286: English reviews
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Great location, with a super friendly staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and bright with great amenities! It was a surprisingly quiet stay being located downtown. As a travel agent they waved the parking fee for myself but it's typically $12/day for parking, which is a bit steep. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank km_berkstresser
Management response:

Dear km_berkstresser, Thank you for your recent stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Downtown Columbus Ohio. We truly appreciate such positive guest feedback and hope to see you again soon! At your service, P. Andrew Hurles Director of Operations.

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I recently stayed here for 5 nights and the service is second to none. When I checked in I was greeted by Ryan who was very pleasant and efficient in checking me in. He made me feel welcome to the hotel and told me if there was anything that he could help me with to let him know. I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael B
Management response:

Dear Michael B., What and honor to receive such positive feedback from you and to learn that our Associates truly exceeded expectations. I will forward your comment's to the employee's that you have mentioned. We look forward to your return and again, thank you for your patronage and comment's. At your service, P. Andrew Hurles Director of Operations.

Reviewed 4 October 2016

This was a pretty nice hotel. We stayed here for a Buckeyes game. They have a shuttle service that will take you pretty much anywhere downtown. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked like a great place to grab a drink.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrea M
Management response:

Dear Andrea M, Thank you so much for your recent stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Downtown Columbus Ohio. Your kind remarks and positive feedback let us know that we are meeting our guest expectations. The next time your in town, please try our restaurant, Burger Theory! Great drinks, great prices.....fun place to watch the game! Go Bucks! At...

Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel worked out just fine. It was clean, friendly staff and I felt safe traveling alone. They have a restaurant downstairs that was busy. However, I did not get a chance to eat there. There is a pool and exercise room too. The showers are nice and the bathrooms have great mirrors and lighting for make-up application. Ample parking.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melissa C
Management response:

Dear Melissa, Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Columbus. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience at our newly renovated property. The next time your in town, please join me in our new restaurant, Burger Theory as we are receiving fantastic feedback from our guests. We look...

Ridgeley, West Virginia
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We were in town for a Birding Expo. There may have been some recent renovations; our room was very clean with comfortable beds and a choice of soft or firm pillows. Front desk person at check in was very helpful and we took advantage of the shuttle two evenings to go to dinner. Russel the driver was very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roveen
Management response:

Dear Roveen, Thank you for recent stay with us. The entire team truly appreciates your kind remarks regarding our room cleanliness, check-in experience and of course, Russell our prized Shuttle Driver. We look forward to seeing you again if your ever in town. At your service, P. Andrew Hurles Director of Operations.

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice as well. It was a little loud because our room was right next to the elevator. They did allow us to have a later check out and an early check in, which was nice. I do not recommend eating at the burger joint inside the lobby. Very unprofessional service and food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saradee925
Management response:

Dear Saradee925, Thank you for your recent stay with us! We were very pleased to learn that you had a positive room cleanliness experience and I apologize for noise due to the elevator. I have alerted the culinary/restaurant team regarding your comment's and I'm sure they will work very hard so that this does not happen again. If your ever...

Canandaigua, New York
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Came to Columbus to attend the American birding expo. Selected the holiday inn because of its proximity to the expo. When we checked in we were greeted by a very friendly guest service agent named mike. Mike then surprised me with some great news, that I was the IHG guest of the day. There was a sign on the counter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian T
Management response:

Dear Brian T. Thank you so much for your kind remarks regarding your stay with us. Recognizing our loyalty guests are very important to us and we truly look forward to seeing you again.

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Well, most know already, that middle eastern management is terrible. ALSO, can anyone please explain to me WHY .. ASSIGNING ROOMS to a GROUP before THOSE ROOMS are vacant, then making your PAYING GUESTS, which by the way, are paying your SALARIES, and without the "GUESTS" you would not be open or have a J.O.B... WAIT UNTIL THAT PARTICULAR ROOM...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pro Coach O
Management response:

Dear Pro Coach: I sincerely apologize for the poor service and long wait your experienced during your recent stay with us. Our newly renovated room's and restaurant, Burger Theory have been completed and we have been making great strides with improving our service standards. I have alerted the Management Team regarding your remarks and if there is anything that I...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses before and this is by far the worst one. First of all when I booked this hotel there was a restaurant listed as something that the hotel has. However the hotel does not have a restaurant. They don't have free breakfast. There's no way to eat in this hotel. My family and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrincessFarrah
Management response:

Dear Princess Farrah: Thank you for your recent stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Downtown Columbus Ohio. I truly apologize for the substandard service and lack of options you experienced. Fortunately our new restaurant, Burger Theory has announced it's Grand Opening and has received great reviews from our guests. I have alerted the Management Team regarding your other comment's...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I booked here for a conference because I had to make my reservations at the last minute. I was pleasantly surprised as this place was much better than expected. Recently updated, the room was clean and modern. The downside is that there isn't much around the hotel although there is a CVS just down the street at High Street. Quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us. Our new restaurant, Burger Theory is now open and we look forward to seeing you again when you are in Columbus Ohio.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 km away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.7 km away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
1.0 km away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#32 of 141 in Columbus
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.5 km away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#63 of 141 in Columbus
605 reviews
0.6 km away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to Port Columbus International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Address: 175 E Town St, Columbus, OH 43215-4609
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: €120 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
north olmsted, ohio
Lima, Ohio
2 months ago
Sandusky, Ohio

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had an upper-floor room, it was quiet and across from vending machines. Didn't notice if minibar fridges have room for own water.”
 of 5 bubbles 361pennyw, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed on the 4th floor and no good views here. Maybe a higher floor would have a view.”
 of 5 bubbles gikki409, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“downtown holiday inn, pretty close to the airport”
 of 5 bubbles ChristyS6, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room facing the Ohio State House on a high floor and away from the elevators”
 of 5 bubbles timv966, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Use the community bike system to tour around town. $8 for 24 hours if you ride in 30 minute increments.”
 of 5 bubbles Haleca, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay