We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Show Prices
#27 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 322: English reviews
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 14 January 2015

What a cool and convenient property! Property used to be a bank in the old days and the breakfast area is inside of the old safe! Stayed here for a few nights on business and had a little extra time to explore the area. It wasn't snowing yet so it was nice to be able to walk right outside to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Everan
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Everan, It’s nice to hear from you. We appreciate you choosing us and I’m delighted to know your stay was pleasant. We value your comments and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to hosting you again. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Residence Inns are a reliable option for business travel, and this one in a restored old bank building is a good bet. In-room kitchen and complimentary popcorn were great. The manager's cocktail hour is also a nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JOIFL
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JOIFL, I’m thrilled to learn we were well suited to your travel needs; thanks for taking the time to share your experience. It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our well designed rooms and evening social. We appreciate your recommendation, but of course the highest form of praise would be your return! Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager

Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

It's really unfortunate that this Marriott is in such bad condition. It's an incredible location and an old historic Bank building. Half the lobby for some reason is quarantined off from gas. I don't know why the hotel isn't utilizing that space. There was absolutely no one here in the hotel I was here. I went to visit the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason C
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jason C, I appreciate you noting our kind and helpful associates. I’m sorry that our accommodations were not to your liking. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I regret that we left you with a poor impression. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages change for future stays. Thank you for taking the time to share your review...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 17 December 2014

As a Marriott "Gold" customer, I've stayed here a few times over the last two years. I do business downtown and the location is great. However, this property is trending in the wrong direction and is no longer a "Marriott quality" experience. The property needs work and the atmosphere is almost depressing. When checking in, the desk clerk was clueless...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JTSomers
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JTSomers, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the lapses in service during your stay. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future....

Aurora, Ohio
Reviewed 2 December 2014

this is our favorite hotel in Columbus. We love the ambiance of its prior life as a bank. The valet people are friendly and fast. I love that I can send them a text to bring my car around. The front desk people are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, including the beds. We think that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikeshy
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mikeshy, Welcomes back! Thank you for sharing your experience. Your review serves as encouragement towards achieving our goal of providing the best accommodations and service. Your kind words let us know the efforts across all departments are being noticed. We are humbled by your recognition and hope to be your hotel of choice. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We are big fans of The Residence Inn, mainly for the extra room they provide. This is a below average Residence Inn. It could do with refurbishment. the decor is looking tired. The staff at Marriott are fabulous, well trained and responsive. No complaints there. So how could it be better? It is a converted old style bank, and has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dryrun3205
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dryrun, Thank you for your review. I appreciate you acknowledging that our great location and friendly staff. I apologize for your disappointment in our room decor. Your valuable feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and continually improve our property. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity...

Reviewed 23 November 2014

When you first walk into the lobby, look up. The building was formerly a bank with huge decorative ceiling. The hotel itself is typical of the newer Residence Inn format - modern fixtures and furniture. Adequate little kitchenette. Comfortable chairs and bed. Free Wi-Fi. The valet parking is a bit pricey, but inline with other downtown hotels. We were visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Writerjeff
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Writerjeff, We're happy to hear from you! It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our great location. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager

Ravenna, Ohio
Reviewed 16 November 2014 via mobile

Gay Street is about half mile safe walk to either convention center or arena so you can park your car for $20 valet overnight and leave it. The property was an old bank. Furnishings were clean and functional. Over 30 TV channels, good breakfast, quiet rooms. Water pressure in shower was a little low for my taste but the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Leslie C, We appreciate you sharing your kind recommendation. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service, modern accommodations and central location. Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. Your words serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager

Land of Pleasant Living
Reviewed 16 November 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times since it has opened, most for 4-5 day stays. I am writing this review while I am still in the room. The bed was horrible - poor night's sleep. My wife just took a shower and there was hardly any pressure and the water wasn't even warm. I will not be taking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cz75guy
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear cz75guy, Thank you for sharing a review with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark due to the water pressure and the comfort of your bed. Your feedback provides us...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and the staff was GREAT! I only had a reservation or one night, but they were able to extend it- which aided me in not having to switch hotels an hour before the night. Additionally, the valet(only option) was ran by excellent staff! Very nice and worked quickly. One even helped me put my luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jessica S, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. It is sincere feedback like yours which allows us to monitor and enhance our guest experience. We’re pleased to hear our , friendly staff and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay while in town for a wedding. There is no better compliment than a...

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 km away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.3 km away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#42 of 143 in Columbus
192 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.5 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Residence Inn Columbus Downtown hotel offers contemporary all-suite accommodations in the exquisitely renovated Historic Buckeye Building. This high-rise hotel in Downtown Columbus will impress you from the moment you arrive with the lobby's soaring 40-foot ceiling. Specializing in extended-stays, our Columbus hotel features newly renovated, spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens, living and work areas, luxury bedding and free Wi-Fi. In the morning, indulge in a variety of healthy and hearty favorites from our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. During downtime, work up a sweat in our state-of-the-art fitness center featuring free weights and cardio equipment with TV screens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Address: 36 E Gay St, Columbus, OH 43215-3108
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: €161 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#20 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Columbus Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Columbus Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you plan to stay long, you can buy groceries and prepare meals in the Queen Suite, to save $$$ versus restaurant dining.”
 of 5 bubbles DragonDad, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms have the best views but are colder in winter time”
 of 5 bubbles Traveling_Scouter, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good place for a longer term stay with full kitchen. Not much on this end of town to do & quite a walk to the Short North.”
 of 5 bubbles j0nash77, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors are best”
 of 5 bubbles arejbee1, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for a high floor and ask for a view. 1 beds all look towards the convention center and not the river, worth it for the extra space tho.”
 of 5 bubbles WanderingPicts, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5