We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Meningie's Waterfront Motel

10/05/2017 11/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Meningie\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Meningie's Waterfront Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This motel is right on the water (Lake Albert). Not all rooms face the lake and cost a bit more, but even if you stay in one of the roadside rooms, you still have easy access to water views. The room we stayed in was basic (e.g. no closet to hang clothes) but we didn't expect luxury for the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosetrippin2014
MeningiesWaterfront, Owner at Meningie's Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would point out that, because our rooms are limited in space, we have removed what closets there were and replaced them with a bracket on the wall, with coat hangers supplied, to maximize the available space in the room. I can also promise you that from outside you cannot see in through the vertical...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

The motel has a great location at the edge of Lake Albert. Rooms with a lakeview are a most in front of the wharf where pelicans and seagulls congregate. The hotel has a veranda in front of the lake where you can sip wine watching a beautiful sunset. We recommend it if you are on your way to visit the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriana V
MeningiesWaterfront, Owner at Meningie's Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed what we have to offer. Thank you

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

This motel has the potential to be awesome with it located on the shores of Lake Albert. Views of pelicans, water hens, silver gulls and ducks galore abound. The rooms are old, small and dowdy. It was near impossible to have a conversation with his pet parrot never ceasing to screech. The toilet bowl would not refill and rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micheal E
MeningiesWaterfront, Owner at Meningie's Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your opening comment. It is truly a spectacular view. This motel was built in the 60's and, yes the rooms are small however they have comfortable beds, all you could want for an overnight stay and are meticulously clean. We do have a limited number of larger rooms for those wanting extra space. That Australian Superb parrot...

Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Not sure what people expect from a motel in a town the size of Meningie...but we were very happy. Fantastic view from your room out over the beautiful Lake Albert, perfect for watching the Pelicans glide over the water on sunset. The rooms are basic, and aged. But they're clean, comfortable and safe. A vast majority of people travelling through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Clean, simple. Nice shower. Comfortable bed. TV. But not 5 star. Good for a quick stopover, Located just off the main entity road. A beautiful view out over the lake with the Pelicans nearby. Some cheaper rooms don't have the view at all. Pity, but it was built that way. Pub meals nearby are good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor661
Reviewed 21 October 2015

There seem to be quite a few disappointed reviews on this motel so I thought I give it a go for myself, I agree with previous reviews that the motel is older than most, and the room I stayed in isn’t the size I am use to but is perfectly adequate and the motel certainly has a lot of pluses....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David P
MeningiesWaterfront, Owner at Meningie's Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

Thank you David for a very balanced and accurate review. We appreciate people who focus on what we do have and not what we don't have.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Absolutely superb location right on the waterfront good views all round. The disappointing thing was owners were selling so no restaurant or bar .With new owners having all facilities open an idyllic place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank corndodger
Reviewed 25 September 2015

I went south to be on the Coorong once again, now that it is in great condition again and pulled into the Waterfront motel at Meningie, because it was right on the lakefront. I only intended to stay a night, but ended up staying for three !!! SSSOOOO beautiful for the nature lover, bird watcher and a quiet get away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheryl y
australia
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Great little motel by the lake! We stayed here for the evening in a small but adequate room with water views (option to upgrade to a larger room if needed ). Please do not expect 5 star accomadation here as the motel is old but is was very clean,tidy and rooms were extremely well priced . There is the option...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candle49
Morphett Vale, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Restaurant not open, no heater in beer garden, we were freezing, no customer care or thought, no billiard table, no jukebox, no dining at all. Cobwebs in motel rooms, mould on ceiling, tv very old, with constant buzzing noise which drove you crazy. Tiles in shower broken so can cut your feet. Old decor with horrible colour scheme. Cutlery behind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen G
MeningiesWaterfront, Owner at Meningie's Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

1. Guest came with their friends, with whom we spoke on several occasions before they came, and they were advised that we only serve breakfast and evening meals were available in the town. We even called them back with contact details for restaurants in the town. It is a downright lie to say there was no dining at all and...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
10/05/2017 11/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meningie hotels
1.5 km away
Lake Albert Motel
Lake Albert Motel
#1 of 2 in Meningie
53 reviews
2.3 km away
Lake Albert Caravan Park
Lake Albert Caravan Park
#1 of 3 in Meningie
96 reviews
13.1 km away
Coorong Cabins
Coorong Cabins
#2 of 3 in Meningie
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Coorong Wilderness Lodge
Coorong Wilderness Lodge
#3 of 3 in Meningie
23 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the shores of the largest freshwater lake system in Australia, this budget motel in Meningie is the ideal stopover for those travelling between Adelaide and Melbourne or on their way to and from Kangaroo Island. Motel is a 2.5 star member of the Budget Motel Chain. There are 11 ground floor units available, including: standard rooms (which offer a queen bed), waterfront rooms (which offer a queen bed), superior waterfront room (which offers a queen and 2 single beds), and family room (which offers a queen and 2 single beds). Most of the motel's stunning rooms are located just metres from Lake Albert's edge. The rooms at Meningie's Waterfront Motel feature an ensuite bathroom, ceiling fans, reverse cycle air conditioning, clock radio, electric blankets, tea and coffee making facilities, refrigerator, toaster, remote control television and DVD player. Microwaves are available in some rooms. A hairdryer can be made available upon request (from reception). The motel only serves breakfast at the motel but there are several options for meals in the town. Guests can arrange to bring pets by contacting the property directly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Meningie's Waterfront Motel

Address: Princes Highway, Meningie, South Australia 5264, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Meningie
Price Range: €62 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meningie's Waterfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meningie's Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Meningie's Waterfront Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice view from the room over the lake”
Nifty499736, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Service road access to Motel with parking outside your room.”
  • Lake view from room window.
  • Bedroom to outside door and passage way.
  • Looking into the on-suite
  • Bed with side and above the bed reading lamps.
davidpN1122MK, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask owner/staff, they will advise you, depending on why you are there.”
588cheryly, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“no rooms to recommend at all”
karengZ6724HB, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Waterfront is just $10 more than standard, well worth it.”
  • Lake Albert Pelicans, natural home and breeding ground
  • Sunset views from the motel, pretty as a picture every day
455darrylb, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates