We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 666: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 February 2016

When we arrived in the main reception it was very pleasant and clean, we were told we had been upgraded which was a surprise. The surprise was if we had been upgraded what from as when we found our room in the Rainforest Resort Rooms, as we opened the door the smell of dampness was quite powerful and the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensteve D
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, I am very sorry that you found frog in your room, the rooms are of course cleaned daily, and the matter of the frog was discussed with me. I am delighted that you found our front desk staff helpful and we trust that you enjoyed your drink at...

Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Looks good, location best point as had room with walk out to pool & lawn then beach. Room comfy but tired-for money paid would expect decor to be better. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion provided & soap but no shower gel-most important in 30 degrees plus. Minimal staff it seems-served lunch by pool but had to take tray back as got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Medicsec
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Medicsec, Thank you for your feedback and review. I am sorry that the pool service was slow and i will be following up on this with our team, thank you for your constructive feedback on this matter. The Chicken and Crocodile pie was a special on Australia Day ( sometime reviews are slow in coming through) which will prevent...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights in November 2015 and had a pleasant stay. We were sure to make sure we booked the main building on the beach front due to poor reviews of the rainforest rooms and we were very glad we did. The rooms were clean and modern but quite small. The restaurant was beautiful and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Thank you for your review and feedback we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Mission Beach. I very sorry that you were disappointed with the pool access from your room. You booked a hotel room,all the other rooms on the ground floor are resort rooms or family rooms all of which have balconies or direct access...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We stayed here as a family in a 2 bedroom spa apartment. Unfortunately over the restaurant. We booked in for 2 nights but ended up leaving after one. The view was ok. Being above the restaurant the sails blocked our view a bit. The noise we could tolerate but with a baby and toddler, it wasn't an ideal room to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Freqflyers31
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Freqflyers, Thank you for your review and feedback, I am sorry that you encountered the items mentioned in your review and your comments directed at me are noted. My apology if you felt i was uncaring, i can assure you this is not the case and we take constructive feedback very seriously and i will follow this up with...

Innisfail, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2016

A large group of locals and interstate friends recently booked a 3 day stay at Castaways in Mission Beach. The debacle that Charlie C describes in a previous review is absolutely correct - we were also in that group! The attitude of a couple of bar / waitress staff left a lot to be desired - considering this is touted...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mandy L
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, Thank you for your feedback and review, i am unable at this time to make comment on your review,

Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Lets start with a positive. Room and bed was clean and comfy. Magnificent views and location, but unfortunately that is where it stopped. Recently spent a weekend at Castaways and had a number of issues mainly with the complete lack of service at the Hotel Restaurant. The night we ate their we were booked to sit down at 7.30 but...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Charlie C
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, I am sorry but your review has been reported to trip advisor, something we have never done before. This review it is false, inaccurate and misleading. Our staff have issued formal complaints in relation to your groups behaviour during your stay. You are aware of why this is the case. I am sorry but on this occasion will...

South Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2016

I knew the rainforest rooms were in the old Mackay motel so is a separate property about 50-100m form Castaways main location but is only a minutes walk. I assumed they would have brought these rooms up to a reasonable standard. Sadly not, the bathrooms are old, there is a basin but no vanity, a small mirror less than 30cmx30cm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sonia, Thank you for your feedback and review, Castaways Rainforest is our economy brand the room fit out does reflect this, however i do take on board your comments and i will be reviewing your comments in our forward planing meetings. Thank you.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Stunning location Get an ocean view room on the 2nd level. Good size clean room and bathrooms. Good Pool (I burn easy, and the pool is in the shade from 1pm onwards- so it was beautiful for a swim in the afternoon) The place is nice, quiet and relaxing. The customers service is not at luxury level- so don't go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tash D
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Tash, Thank your for your feedback and review, We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us in Mission Beach, Yes you do need to watch the sun, even on a day where we have cloud it is possible to get sun burnt. Please enjoy the rest of your travels Regards

Reviewed 21 January 2016

Wonderful views, friendly staff, great restaurant; our 1-night stay here would have been perfect if not for the air-conditioner, which we really had to have on (especially at this time of year) as there was no other way of cooling the room, i.e., no fan and no screens on the sliding doors. No problem, except - starting at around 10pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeoffSmith1
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Geoff, Firstly please accept my apology for your distributed nights sleep, secondly, thank you for bring this to my attention and thirdly thank you for your review and feedback. I am just looking back through our guest history to determine which room you were staying in, so i could follow on why i was not informed and to check...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

We stayed for an amazing 12 days period. Couple and two small kids. Our room was in the ground floor, and had direct access to the beach through the garden and a beautiful view. Because we stayed for so long, much more than the average time people spend there, I would say that we had time to experience the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IsabelAC
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Isabel, Thank you for your review and feedback, we are of course delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and in Mission Beach. I am very sorry you were disturbed by a fire alarm. However fire alarms are install to protect life and property i am sure you would appreciate this, a full investigation has been conducted and...

372 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (350)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
5.5 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
149 reviews
1.7 km away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
248 reviews
3.1 km away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
357 reviews
3.0 km away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
77 reviews
7.0 km away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Price Range: €77 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beachfront Balcony Room”
 of 5 bubbles Solarpowered_12, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Third floor room with balcony is best for sea and beach view”
 of 5 bubbles brianwR6658FB, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want a room with a Ocean view do not book in the rain forest area.”
 of 5 bubbles CocotheClown2015, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have a better view but pool side rooms are very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles petermc35, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MissCoCoH, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5