We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 629: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

For the price and from the pictures on the website, I expected more. The website said the rooms had been renovated in 2014 but the furniture was worn, the walls were badly damaged and paintwork chipped. The rooms are looking a little tired and run down. While the bed was comfortable, the pillows are the worst I've ever slept on....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LMM44
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review LMM44; I'm sorry that the standard of the room that you stayed in was not up to your expectations. The resort was renovated in 2014 and we are constantly striving to improve the facilities. I have passed your comments on to our maintenance team and I will look into options for a softer close on...

Wakken, Belgium
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We were here for only 1 night. Castaway is a very nice hotel right at the beach. We had a great time drinking cocktails by the pool (they were really good!), and our room was spacious with a view of the ocean from our terrace. Allthouh I know that cockroaches are inevitable in this climate, it's never a pleasant surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte C
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Charlotte C! I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the beautiful weather; cocktails and tapas by the pool is the perfect way to spend your afternoons here at Castaways. I do apologize for the pests in your room during your stay and I thank you for your understanding. As the weather...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely location and staff eager to please. My room disappointing a structure hides our view. Felt we should of been warned. Pool lovely but not heated like at port Douglas. Refreshing though. Feels like Fiji. Towels provided for pool. Large. Breakfast included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prue W
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thank you Prue W, we are lucky to have such a great team of staff here - hard not to be motivated when we live in such a wonderful location! I apologise that your room had a slightly obstructed view; I like to think that it is still better most that you are able to find! Please feel free to...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The rooms has a great outlook over the beach, with a nice sized veranda. The facilities are nice, but a little tired. Nice spa, very cosy for two. Bed is great and air conditioning works well, Plenty of room and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill4177
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Bill4177, thank you for choosing Castaways Resort & Spa - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our balconies have an incredible view of the beach - my absolute favourite! Hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were in the annex a short distance away but it was a very good apartment with parking alongside. The main hotel is in a wonderful location with a garden fronting onto the beach which is like paradise. However even paradise has a few drawbacks. We were devoured by giant ants, there was a wedding going on which meant our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John H
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi John H, I'm glad that you enjoyed your lodgings in our Rainforest Property, the direct parking access to our Rainforest Hotel rooms is very convenient! :) I apologize that there seemed to be some issues with our restaurant service during your stay, we have had some changes in our staffing within the last few weeks, so I believe that...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I had 9 perfect days at Castaways ,and invited 6 friends and their families up for the school holidays. each family has re booked for next year ! No other Australian East Coast hotel offer uninterrupted views of beach and palm tress to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island like Castaways does and from every room !! The pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHRISNEV
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi CHRISNEV & thank you for your review! We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and are anticipating your visit next year - rebooking is the best compliment we can receive; thank you. We certainly are very lucky to have such a wonderful location and a trip out to the reef with Mission Beach...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a 2brm oceanview room for 2 adults and 3 kids. The room had a nice view and was close to the main part of mission beach however the layout really lets the room down. The only bathroom and toilet in the room is located in the master bedroom and there is no door on the shower so every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anitaandfamil
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Anitaaandfamil, I apologise for the miscommunication regarding the layout of our Beachfront 2 bedrooom Spa Apartments; I'm not certain how you made your reservation with us, but we do try to illustrate this as clearly as possible across all channels. I will look into ways that we can communicate this better in the future. Should you choose to stay...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay here on our way up to Port Douglas and what a lovely surprise. The resort is beautiful, the location idyllic and the view from the room to the ocean stunning! We would have loved to stay longer. Tropical unspoilt paradise!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel T
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thanks Mel T, I'm glad that you found us on the way to Port Douglas! Mission Beach is a bit of a hidden gem in Tropical North Queensland and we love it too. Hope to see you back here with us soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

BEWARE if you book into the Rainforest Resort rooms this is really a separate resort across the street, a poorly maintained one. We found: - dirty glasses, water in one in the fridge - puddle in bottom of fridge - bathroom door sticks - half of slower screen missing making it impossible not to wet floor - back of tv...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn H, I'm sorry that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us in our Rainforest Property; your comments have been noted and passed on to our maintenance team, thank you for notifying us, as we we unaware of these issues. I have also passed on your concern to the breakfast team and you will be pleased to...

Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed in one of the Rainforest Rooms and loved it!!! Having stayed here before under the previous owners, we knew where we were going which made it easier, however I could understand how some first timers may get confused with the two separate buildings and where to go to check in (we read this on the sign after we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette C
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for review, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at our Rainforest Property. Our Rainforest gardens tend keep the property a little cooler and we love the tranquility of the rooms. We hope to have you stay with us again soon Bernadette!

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
5.5 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
146 reviews
3.1 km away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Mission Beach
159 reviews
2.7 km away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#1 of 24 in Mission Beach
236 reviews
4.1 km away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
105 reviews
3.8 km away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 6 in Wongaling Beach
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Price Range: €75 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms have a better view but pool side rooms are very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles petermc35, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MissCoCoH, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles michaelq2014, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The upper floor near the beach is the best”
 of 5 bubbles Bill4177, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great,best on level 2.”
 of 5 bubbles CHRISNEV, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay