We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The African Cottage and Rondawel

Save
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (6)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“fig tree”(12 reviews)
“bobotie”(7 reviews)
“african food”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Pets Allowed
Breakfast included
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for The African Cottage and Rondawel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
47
23
7
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
47
23
7
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfig treebobotieafrican foodsouth africaafrican themefresh linenwashing machine and dryerrecommend highlytwo storeyspent nightsmid weekbush landsecond bedroomlovely ladyself containedsunshine coastmy partner
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We came across this place on a special deals type website and got a good deal. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the whole lot. We stayed in the African Cottage, which could easily house 8-9 people for a holiday. We only had four, which...More

1  Thank funkyhughes23
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We were very disappointed, we were looking forward to a relaxing couple of days with a log fire and a good book. unfortunately there is no log fire only ethanol one which you have to pay extra for and the lights as so small and...More

3  Thank refinnej11
Response from Matilda S, General Manager at The African Cottage and RondawelResponded 5 July 2017

Really sorry that you were disappointed. But as per usual, I wonder what makes people tick if they don't come and tell us that something is not working. We are a friendly bunch and we could have easily fixed lights, toaster etc. Although I'm a...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Had booked last year and was unable to come so pushed it out till this week. Sadly the weather was not kind and dampened the experience. The setting is very peaceful. We were in Cape Cottage. Overlooking a beautiful fig tree with nature at our...More

Thank Phyllis C
Response from Matilda S, Owner at The African Cottage and RondawelResponded 16 June 2017

Bless you Phyllis! You were such lovely people to deal with. Guests like you make all the hard work worth it! And next time you come and visit we are going to cook you a special meal!

Reviewed 10 May 2017

Just came back today and had spent 3 nights in the African Cottage with friends and had such a relaxing and tranquil time there. It was very cosy, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Location was great to be in the country. Many thanks...More

Thank jbykiw
Response from Matilda S, Owner at The African Cottage and RondawelResponded 17 May 2017

Well, with guests like you how could we be anything else but friendly? If we can give a star rating to guests it will be a 5 Star Rating. Loved your company, loved the interaction - and Tiger loved the cuddles! We really like our...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017

Matilda and her excellent and friendly staff certainly fulfil their motto: arrive as a guest, leave as a friend. We loved the personal atmosphere and nostalgic South African touches of the cottage - it really felt like home. The tropical garden is a perfect setting...More

Thank Tracey L
Response from Matilda S, Owner at The African Cottage and RondawelResponded 18 May 2017

We can't wait for your next visit either! We love what we do here, and we love guests coming into the office for a chat - and becoming friends. Thank you for your kind words. And yes, Suzy is a fabulous cook! Hoping to see...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Maleny
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Details
Price range
US$141 - US$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$141 - US$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (6)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The African Cottage and Rondawel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"500 year old Oak Tree is lovely"
Read review
"The outlook from the Cape Cottage of the enormous tree was really lovely."
Read review
"Ask question, make sure its what you are after"
Read review
"Rondawel Cottage is the Bomb!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing