We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The African Cottage and Rondawel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The African Cottage and Rondawel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My hubby, son & I stayed in the African cottage with 2 friends & 2 other children. When we arrived, they insisted to go up and turn the air conditioners on to cool the place down, which I thought was really nice. Loved the space - bedrooms are very spacious with high ceilings. We found it very well equipped for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pkmkl
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely words! We do want our guests to relax and have a wonderful experience. We don't try and be 5 Star - more rustic and homely. And when lovely people like you tell us we have succeeded, it makes my heart sing! So we really do hope to see you back here in the near future. Have...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed in the front two story cottage, which is very close to the road, but as there is little traffic, that was not a problem for us. There are three bedrooms and two bathrooms, the upstairs bedrooms have queen beds and are quite comfortable, there is fresh linen, but as others have stated previously the overall feeling is that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robyn S
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Robyn. But I think you have been sadly influenced. Because just before you checked in the whole of African Cottage was PAINTED inside (cost me a fortune!), new blinds in the lounge, and thoroughly sprig cleaned - including washing ALL doona covers and pillow cases (which we do weekly anyway!)! More we cannot do! And seriously,...

Atherton, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding the rooms were spacious there was a fire place but no other heating and it was quite cool The rooms were very African however slightly too much African I think for what we paid per night they could of offered more than just euro beds For the extra guests as the cottage only sleeps...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AntnJoobie R
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - if a bit negative. It was October you stayed, and if you were cold all you had to do was ASK and we would have given you fuel for the eco friendly fireplace in the lounge. There is also an oil heater in one of the bedrooms. Maybe you didn't notice it! As for the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Rondawel for a long weekend. We took up both the cottage and house. When we first arrived, we were impressed by the fig tree and beautiful birds surrounding the accommodation, but this is where it ended. Both places were dirty and looked (and smelled) like they have not been cleaned for a long time....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tvinney
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

I never cease to be amazed at how cunning people can be! As always, I went into The Rondawel where everyone was sitting, and asked if everything was OK. I always check up on my guests to see if we can do something for them. All agreed everything was fine - no problems! Well, if the place was so dirty,...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

On our visit stayed in the Rondawel, it was a delight. Lots of space and everything there you could need and if it wasn't then Matilda was on hand to help. Her main aim seemed to be ensuring we had an enjoyable time and she is a fantastic cook! The cottage is rustic and set back off the road in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Streuthy
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

You are quite right - my main aim is for our guests to have a pleasant experience! Sometimes there is a hiccup - but nothing that can't be fixed. And yes, the cottages are rustic. We are in the country, with a lot of foliage around - not a sterile environment. I LOVE spoiling our guests, cooking them delicious food...

Brisbane, Queensland
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Rondawel for 3 nights. Lovely cottage with great African feel and atmosphere but our stay became more and more disappointing as we continually noticed the poor standard of cleanliness throughout the cottage (blinds, lightshades, rugs, sofa, kitchen, bedding). The cottage itself initially presents well and sitting out on side verandah with glass of wine overlooking giant fig tree...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simc
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

Thank you for a positive and fair review. Point taken. It has been very dry lately and those blinds are like a magnet to dust! But we should have been more vigilant. They have been thoroughly cleaned now - a mammoth task! And an ongoing one as there is so much foliage around the cottage. But we do want our...

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Cape Cottage. Firstly the location is lovely and not far from both Maleny and Montville - two of my favourite places. I was very excited to stay here due to the positive reviews on TripAdvisor....really I should have paid more attention to the negative reviews as they are spot on. Perhaps the veiled intimidation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah H
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

Well, what do I say? Firstly I would like to apologise for the dust and the bugs - but I think the comments were grossly exaggerated. I would NEVER let guests stay in such filthy conditions! I always inspect the cottages after the cleaner has done her job - and it is ridiculous to even suggest that I would approve...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016

A Completely rip-off. Over prize for what you get. Place not well looked after, dirty, scruffy and old furniture. Please take note South Africans houses is very neat and tidy and what this house and cottage looks like is not a very good impression of African Living. Matilda is very friendly lady but that is where it stops. Food very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rianafoord
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

I wasn't even going to answer this one. But for the sake of other guests who might be confused I will. There was NO pleasing these guests - from the minute they arrived they complained. We even moved them from one cottage to another because they "didn't like" the first one. No reason, just that. They didn't like it. I...

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the African cottages just a couple of months ago. We were met by a lady called Matilda who was so welcoming and warm, we instantly felt at home. The cottage decor was fab, with an attention to detail. It was filled with interesting african themed memorabilia, It had so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilirishone
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to have guests like you! So many times people just cannot be pleased - but you were delightful! Glad you liked the food too! We look forward to welcoming you back here!

Reviewed 9 November 2016

we recently visited The African Cottage and Rondawel in 2016 as a family, We felt completely ripped off with the price it cost to stay for two nights especially with the place not having any pool, the garden has not been looked after the furniture was dirty and some even broken, on display there was some brochures of activities to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claudia F

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
6.4 km away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
165 reviews
10.3 km away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#2 of 3 in Montville
360 reviews
3.5 km away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Innistaigh Mountain Retreat
1.5 km away
Maleny Views Cottage Resort
1.3 km away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The African Cottage and The Rondawel - and now our NEW CAPE COTTAGE and KALAHARI COTTAGE is a little bit of Africa in Aus! Relax on your beautiful deck, order a romantic traditional South African dinner, have a soothing massage - all in the comfort and privacy of your cottage! Or go for a rainforest walk, dine at our many award winning restaurants, browse the interesting shops and art galleries. Australia Zoo only 20 mins away, and beautiful beaches 30 mins. Relax, revive, rejuvenate!THE AFRICAN COTTAGE sleeps up to 9 guests comfortably and is ideal for families or groups of friends. THE RONDAWEL sleeps 6, is a very special hexagonal glass and timber cottage with the branches of our 500 year old figtree touching the deck! KALAHARI COTTAGE and CAPE COTTAGE are cosy cottages for couples. Both are open plan with eco friendly camp fires. KALAHARI has its own private courtyard with soothing water feature and CAPE COTTAGE is sheer magic as it is under the figtree with the branches embracing the cottage. It has a stunning deck, overlooking the tree! All our cottages are fully self contained. Perfect for a relaxing getaway to recharge the batteries! Come and experience a little bit of Africa in Aus! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The African Cottage and Rondawel

Address: 943 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Price Range: €130 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Cottage and Rondawel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The African Cottage and Rondawel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The African Cottage and Rondawel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The tropical view from the deck and the close rain forest and water falls all adds to The magic of Maleny and Montville......”
 of 5 bubbles 326barbp, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are limited rooms so depends on the number of people; the fig tree cottage was superb for 1-2”
  • The fig tree-wrapped verandah
 of 5 bubbles Suetheshark, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dont have the room closet to the road or pond. You can her the traffic & the frogs are rather noisy”
 of 5 bubbles J7941YDdeniseh, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Romantic time away try Rondawel or family try the cottage”
 of 5 bubbles 327lynnev, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
“very unique and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles L5189GYjoycec, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay