We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We just left yesterday 31st August after a weeks stay in Cockatoo. Treehouse was just amazing, the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed. The breakfast basket provided for the first morning was simply amazing . Organic Yoghurt , tasty museli and plenty of fresh fruit. The bread provided was very good, no artificial ingredients and not at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wombat55555
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Well, thank you very much for the wonderful review. We all try very hard to make our guest's stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible. The Atherton Tablelands is indeed a nature lovers jewel, with unique flora and fauna to be found in a comfortable tropical highland climate. It is also heartening to read your comments about our rainforest rehabilitation...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Lovely tree houses which were very comfortable and clean. Would have given this review 5 stars however, the breakfast hamper was a bit of a disappointment. I would have expected more for the price we paid i.e. locally sourced wholefoods, greater quantity of yogurt (a tiny little 300ml cup was not enough for 2 adults for 2 breakfasts), more fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PorridgeEngineer13
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Rose Gums. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We have taken on board your comments regarding the complimentary breakfast hamper and will be reviewing this

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I actually stayed at Rose Gums several years ago, shortly after the big cyclone had hit, and were absolutely delighted by the experience. Looking at the website it appears to be even more wonderful now (the vegetation has now recuperated from the cyclone) and I am sure the hosts are just as wonderful (friendly, helpful and knowledgeable)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nainai007
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about Rose Gums and I hope the Mouse House lives up to your expectations. To give you an update on us; luckily, Cyclone Yasi veered south in February of 2011, and did not cause too much damage here. The rain forest is well recovered and we even see a young Cassowary sauntering through the...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Looking for a retreat in the trees? This is the place in the midst of a rainforest, stunning surroundings and plenty of natural sounds - accommodation and nature perfectly combined. Apartment surprisingly accommodates for all needs, even the bath tub offers jacuzzi moments! Restaurant is gourmet experience, and highly individualized with 'personal' chef. Morning animal feeding recommended, fascinating proximity to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gauttle
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your comments and will certainly pass on your compliments to the rest of our team. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the wildlife viewing, it is very popular and allows our guests the opportunity to see the King Parrots and Lorikeets up close and to also delight in...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Thank you Peta and Jon for a wonderful stay at Rose Gums. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and can not wait to return back. It was just what we needed to unwind and relax. The treehouses were just adorable and very comfortable. The meals at LEAF Restaurant were wonderful and it was great to get a takeaway dessert to finish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MermaidNat
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for these lovely comments on your stay at Rose Gums. It is a special pleasure for us to welcome back return guests and to read that your stay was so enjoyable. I will certainly pass on your compliments to the rest of the team. We are just coming into breeding season so the wildlife is particularly active here...

Palm Cove, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This is the 4th time I have been here over the years and its consistently lives up to expectations!! We were greeted by the owners charming son and picked up afew dvds of the shelf as it was going to be a rainy weekend. Chalet was clean and the bed super comfy. We always love the breakfast basket waiting in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMbeachlover
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

It is always our pleasure to welcome back previous guests and we thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are a small team here at Rose Gums and your glowing comments are greatly appreciated by us all, thank you. Hopefully, it won't be too long before we can welcome you back again.

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We had 3 nights here. We stayed in the accomodation furtherest from the restaurant which was inconvient as we didn't want to have to drive, the walk back at night was not ideal. Apart from that everything was nice although not really quite the level of quality you would expect for the price. The shower had the worst water hammer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonia A
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay here at Rose Gums. We take all guest comments very seriously and will certainly address the issues you have raised.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2016

A stunning spot in the Atherton Tablelands where you can truly unwind and relax. Whilst some may find the no reception/no wifi a little scary, it certainly encourages total relaxation and some quality time with loved ones! Sitting on our balcony we had uninterrupted views over the rainforest and distant mountains. Great for opening a good bottle of red and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HayleyHirschfeld
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Rose Gums. We are delighted that you enjoyed the peace and tranquillity to be found here. Connectivity is definitely an issue in such a remote location but we hope that by limiting availability to the reception area, we allow our guests the opportunity to "get away...

Beesd, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Hard to find if you happen to come from some directions. Navigation system didn't know the address until I found out that I shouldn't drop Malanda as destination. You need to drive about 9 km over unpaved road to find the place, which is absolutely gorgeous. The accommodation has everything you need, and a splendid view (if it isn't raining)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globalarchret
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rose Gums and thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful a review. We will double check the mapping websites to ensure that we have up to date information on how to find us on our website, thank you

Hampton
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Yes a corny title but staying here is quite a uniquely nourishing experience. Our tree house was quiet ( except for the constant melody of nature) and secluded, with a panoramic view of the forest and mountains. On the first morning we took the guided notes from the tree house and walked to the creek. Birds sang around us and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank May C
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

THANK YOU! Really, there is not much more I can say. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and know we have helped make your holiday something you will never forget. That's made our day! We sincerely hope that you will find your way back this way again in the future.

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
12.5 km away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
232 reviews
13.6 km away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
7.4 km away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
140 reviews
13.2 km away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
121 reviews
13.4 km away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a secluded rainforest retreat in the cool highlands above Cairns, all our treehouses are self-contained featuring spa baths, fireplaces and magnificent views. The 93 HA property has 9 kilometres of walking tracks and over 160 species of birds and other wildlife, including Platypus that inhabit our pristine rainforest creeks. Delight in our own in-house restaurant, LEAF, a private dining experience in the tree-tops. Your hosts Peta & Jon are very friendly and helpful and are looking forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat

Address: 324 Land Road, via Lake Eacham | P.O. Box 776, Malanda, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Price Range: €239 - €312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the best view - but I think all the "tree houses" have great views”
mw140, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a one room suite for two but they can accomodate families. We could see a beautiful moonrise on our side.”
annb23, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We loved room 5”
81DaveH, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the cabins had amazing views and are secluded.”
suebF3305EJ, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All "tree houses" are good”
RobertW301, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5