We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Atherton Blue Gum B & B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Atherton Blue Gum B & B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 24: English reviews
ADELAIDE
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nothing about this B & B matched the description on the booking website, from the photos to the description. Perhaps if you were lucky enough to stay at the Summit it would be a different story as the photo's shown and description provided were obviously of that premises and not the little spare room situated under the family's main house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantil3
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on Atherton Blue Gum B & B, it is a traditional bed and breakfast, purpose built and not a spare room in the house as you stated, but 3 private rooms with private entrances on their own level. The Summit is non-hosted and self contained so offers something completely different. We...

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have just spent two nights here. The room was simple but comfortable, everything clean. The breakfasts were fine. The thing that made it so special for us were Helen and John. They were so welcoming, and all the information that they gave us, especially John, was invaluable. We got much more out of our stay, and subsequent journey to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan H
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Helen, the owner of BlueGums, upgraded us to this amazing building. It comprises 3 bedrooms, 2 of them with a common bathroom, the other with an en-suite. Also a common cooking/dining area, laundry and attached common lounge area, and parking for 3 cars below. Access to accommodation is by steps. It had everything we needed, was spotlessly clean, airy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I decided 2 weeks before Easter that we wanted to get away and visit the Tablelands and because it was last minute, we thought we wouldn't have many accommodation options to choose from. Another B&B passed my details onto Atherton B&B and Helen was very prompt in her reply to me and then also kept up the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zelia_11
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The room was quite small and the TV miniscule. It was quiet enough and a little out of the way which some may prefer. Everything was clean and tidy. The access to the accomodation is not suitable for people with disabilities. Would have had a good view but the smoke haze killed that, but I'm sure it would normally have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linton6460
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

We can understand your frustration/annoyance when you hit that large rock in our garden with your hire car, you were obviously upset. We hope you were able to come to some sort of agreeance with the hire company. We felt that we supplied more than what you paid for with the upgrade, we suppose that it just shows us that...

Reviewed 17 October 2011

I booked a room at their seperate unit (The Summit) when we arrived we were told that they had let it out to The Lions club , (who had a convention on) and they put us in a small room in the main house. Well this room came equiped with a 12" TV, a kettle, fridge, bed and not much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank headgreenkeeper
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

We understand your disappointment, especially being Welsh and arriving on the same day that Wales was playing in the Semi of the World Cup in NZ that you had just attended in NZ. You were so excited. To see them lose in that way and losing their magnificent Captain - SW. You were getting ready to return to NZ to...

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 September 2009

During our trip around Cairns and region for 2 weeks in July, we stayed at Blue Gum from 8-10 July. We really liked the new house that the hosts provided us. We were told that we received an upgrade, but in comparison to our previous stay at Cape Trib Farmstay and Holiday Inn Cairns, per night, this was the most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FJBoersma
Virginia
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Our family of three quite enjoyed our stay at the Blue Gum. It is located on the first floor of a building in a residential neighborhood on a hillside about the town center, with the second floor serving as the home of the hosts John and Helen, who have a large Australian (Irish descent) Catholic family with lots of kids....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank consaac
Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Reading all the previous rewies we were amazed by the negative ones. Converning that we would like subscribe to the review of JMacChicago Chicago, Illinois "...I have to say that I am questioning whether the authors of any negative reviews stayed at the same place we did...." But see what we wrote John & Helen after being back in Germany:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jherrnbe
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 October 2008

I have to say that I am questioning whether the authors of any negative reviews stayed at the same place we did. Our time at the Blue Gum B & B was a fantastic highlight during our family's trip to Australia. The rooms were clean, spacious and inviting and perfect for the seven of us (my husband and myself, my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMacChicago

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
9.6 km away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
126 reviews
1.1 km away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
61 reviews
20.9 km away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Atherton Hinterland Motel
9.7 km away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
110 reviews
9.8 km away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Atherton Blue Gum B&B is a home-away-from home, a great place to base yourself. Wake to a chorus of native bird life and enjoy breakfast served on the upper deck. The views are magnificent, looking down on Atherton township which is nestled in an emerald valley. The mist enshrouded mountains, with tropical sunlight glistening on their exposed peaks in the morning, is a delight to behold. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Atherton Blue Gum B & B

Address: 36 Twelfth Ave, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Price Range: €75 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atherton Blue Gum B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Atherton Blue Gum B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Atherton Blue Gum B & B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They're all great, but the double Pademelon Room has slightly better views.”
 of 5 bubbles Q8282DItimw, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are equally comfortable and have the same amenities”
 of 5 bubbles 182kerrym, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Look before you book.”
 of 5 bubbles Chantil3, 27 Oct 2013 | Read review
“All the rooms are great, but if you want your own en-suite, ask for that room (in case someone else is in the room on the other side of the common bathroom)”
 of 5 bubbles andrewd767, 25 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Stay eleswhere”
 of 5 bubbles headgreenkeeper, 16 Oct 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay