We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cranston House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Cranston House
 Click to rate
West Sussex
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed once more at Cranston House and was given a warm welcome and shown to my cosy room at the top of the house. As always it was warm. clean and comfortable. Everything worked and the shower gave boiling hot water. My mobile charger was returned to me swiftly and without any problem! Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KillyWestSussex
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

pros good free wifi clean ish cons not a 4star more a poor 3 star very dated from the towels to the heavily scratched glasses etc breakfast poor,all cheap lidl stuff, the bread stuck my teeth together and as it 9 pounds,really poor. would I stop again no

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peteypie2014
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I recently had to stay in East Grinstead on business, I used to live locally so knew the location well. Brian & Aileen were perfect hosts, the room was clean, nicely decorated with all the needs for a short stay met. I had a good night's sleep feeling refreshed for the day. The optional breakfast was a delight - I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Dissapointing, aged B&B, basic accomodation. Shower did not work either too hot or too cold, host didnt seem overly concernedwhen complained Price would be reasonable if breakfast was included but you had to pay extra for this which again was over priced. In general not again, there are other better options out there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this review

Hello Mark, Thank you for your review. Following your complaint at check out about the malfunctioning shower, I apologised to you and your wife for the inconvenience and said I would check the problem at once which I did on your departure. You were quite right the shower was fluctuating through hot and cold cycles. This fault had not been...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here july 30th to attend a friends 40th birthday who lived nearby. The room was advertised as spacious and fully equipped. We had to go down to reception and ask for an iron and board. We stayed in room 4, right at the top of the building. Well the tag spacious would have been true if you were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Visited while on a cycle tour. Brian and his wife looked after us very well. From helping us with taxis to storing our bikes, they could not have been more helpful. The house is spacious and welcoming, situated in a quiet residential area, but within easy walking distance to the town centre. The bedrooms were well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DRML2013
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Really nice, clean, comfortable rooms and run by a lovely guy who really helped us out of a situation, nice quiet residential location, would happily stay there again, easy reach of the town centre, extremely helpful with local information and a really nice place to come back to after finishing work

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petermaz1967
Busselton, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I chose Cranston house as it was central to my family. What a lovely surprise ! Quiet rooms with invisible cleaning fairies that came every day. The hosts Brian and Aileen were unintrusive but always helpful with any requests. The bar fridge with soft drinks only was useful as was the kettle . The hosts were happy to have you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonie S
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

My partner and I went to Lingfield racing and looked for a good band b and we found Cranston House from the moment we arrived we were treated very well. The room was very clean and had everything we needed although the on suite was a bit small other than that excellent . Breakfast was full English and everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Coming to east grinstead once a month, this is the most beautiful and quiet hotel I found. Aileen and Brian are almost nowhere to be seen, but magically, as soon as you need something, they appear, always with a kind word, and a smile on their faces. This is what I call service! The rooms are incredibly clean, anytime a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebmania

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
2.3 km away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,194 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
349 reviews
4.9 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
4.6 km away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 km away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Cranston House

Address: Cranston House Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Price Range: €59 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cranston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cranston House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The twin rooms at the top of the house trap the heat and all the rooms I have stayed in are quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles KillyWestSussex, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upper stairs rooms have slightly smaller bathroom facilities - if you are a large person don't request room 4 .”
 of 5 bubbles leonies21, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was very quite facing east so lots of morning sunshine”
 of 5 bubbles ianw194, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“if possible ask for the back bedroom on floor top floor”
 of 5 bubbles betshean, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“cleanliness and Wifi”
 of 5 bubbles traveller1906, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5