We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pekes Manor Oast House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hailsham
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I cannot recommend that anyone books this accommodation. We were severely disappointed and completely let down. We booked the Oast House and Mounts View in December 2015 and spent 9 months looking forward to a large family gathering in early October. The money was all paid and there was an email trail to fully confirm the booking, yet due to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 101Kio
Eva M, Manager at Pekes Manor Oast House, responded to this review

This was a very unfortunate mix-up, which will not re-occur because we are shortly going to automated on-line booking which totally prevents double-booking. We have deeply apologised to this lady and have of course paid her the agreed compensation. She accepted both very graciously.

Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had booked Oast House for weekend 7-10 October and Mounts View 6 - 14 October as we were attending my sons wedding in Hailsham. Deposit paid January 16. Called and spoke with Eva in July 16 to confirm everything in order and balance paid for both houses 27 July 2016. I requested email confirmation of money being transferred and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank lanie148
Eva M, Manager at Pekes Manor Oast House, responded to this review

This was a very unfortunate mix-up, which will not re-occur because we are shortly going to automated on-line booking which totally prevents double-booking. We have deeply apologized to this lady and her friend who wrote the other review and have of course paid her the agreed compensation. She accepted both very graciously.

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We hired the manor house for a hen party. From the very start the owner Eva was helpful and friendly, replying quickly to my (many!) queries. The house itself is STUNNING, full of history, with gorgeous grounds and wonderful views. The pool, hot tub and sauna were wonderful, very clean and in perfect working order. We did have a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lizzie361
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We stayed in the Oast House as a group of 12 friends for the week of new year. There are some great advantages to the property: - it is beautiful and quirky from the outside, as is the Pekes estate as a whole - it is a really good base for shortish country rambling - e.g. there are very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Anushka C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014

A Group of 16 of us rented this house last minute for a company weekend away. We all had a great time and really our stay. The House has very good facilities with lots of space to cook and store food. With two large dining tables there was lots of space for all guests to eat together. In addition to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I booked Pekes Manor House for a special birthday event.16 members of my family came,including seven grandchildren aged 12-25.We all had a fabulous time.There was every possible facility to keep the active members happily occupied all weekend,such as the jacuzzi, enclosed warm pool,tennis court,table tennis,croquet on the extensive lawn where ball games were also enjoyed.Some of our group chose to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Margaret W
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A group of thirteen of us rented the main house and wing for a reunion weekend. The facilities in the house are a bit old fashioned but everything works and the overall effect is of immense period charm. We had a black tie dinner in the panelled dinning room with an excellent five course dinner catered by the Pekes Manor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have been visiting the pekes for the last 25 years...its magical and beautiful...eva keeps this place running like clock work...its hardly changed and is so so relaxed no one ever bothers you and its so peaceful...i see she still has her black and white cat who sits outside her summer house...we got our eggs from the chickens as usual..the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 409Michele
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I booked the Manor House as a surprise for my wife to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary. I wanted it to be special and the venue certainly lived up to my wildest expectations.A truly magnificent house! There were 12 adults and my grandson(aged 6). I was privileged to meet Eva(the owner) on a couple of occasions over the weekend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
London
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Two weeks ago we spent a glorious long weekend at Pekes. Our party was 7 families, 12 adults and 12 children aged between 7 & 11. We used the Oast House and Stables, a good combination as recommended by Eva. While the children ran wild, built dens and climbed trees the adults enjoyed the jaccusi, sauna and beautiful grounds. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WappingYummyMummy

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hailsham hotels
2.4 km away
Starnash Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
10.0 km away
The Horseshoe Inn
The Horseshoe Inn
#2 of 5 in Herstmonceux
262 reviews
5.2 km away
Corn Exchange
Corn Exchange
#12 of 12 in Hailsham
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Cleavers Lyng
Cleavers Lyng
#1 of 5 in Herstmonceux
133 reviews
11.6 km away
Scolfes
Scolfes
#2 of 3 in Hailsham
14 reviews
10.6 km away
Big Sky Tipi Holidays
Big Sky Tipi Holidays
#1 of 3 in Hailsham
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pekes Houses are a group of 5 self-catering houses and cottages set round Pekes Manor, a charming 550 year old Tudor House, all in a very large garden with its own park & with superb views across the East Sussex countryside in SE England, within 10 miles of the sea. Pekes Oast House is a charming 2-storey double tower oast, originally built over 150 years ago for drying hops, and converted in 1910 into a comfortable house that sleeps up to 12 people, with a large kitchen, dining room and sitting room, with a large garden and views west across to the South Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pekes Manor Oast House

Address: Pekes House Nash Street | Chiddingly, Hailsham BN27 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pekes Manor Oast House Hotel Hailsham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pekes Manor Oast House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“be very careful”
 of 5 bubbles lanie148, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“for families with pets tudor view or the new bungalow..for others who want history the main house...wing or oast house..”
 of 5 bubbles 409Michele, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Eva, the owner, was really helpful and suggested the best properties for our party.”
 of 5 bubbles WappingYummyMummy, 8 Jul 2014 | Read review
“the oast house is extra special”
 of 5 bubbles danny_1968, 29 Jan 2014 | Read review
4 of 4