We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Main Road, Higham DE55 6EH England
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (101)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.



Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Higham, Santo's Higham Farm Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants, Santo's Higham Farm Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Higham.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel offer a flat screen TV.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage. Guests of Santo's Higham Farm Hotel are also welcome to enjoy free breakfast, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

Travellers looking to enjoy some fish and chips can head to Greyhound. Otherwise, you may want to check out a pub such as Greyhound.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Santo's Higham Farm Hotel is sure to make your visit to Higham one worth remembering.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
314Reviews5Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 184
  • 71
  • 33
  • 11
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MaryO wrote a review Jun 2022
Midlands59 contributions37 helpful votes
Unfortunately the sandwiches and cakes were all dry, probably they had been standing in the kitchen with no clingfilm or covering. Also we were never asked if we would like white or brown bread, which no doubt was because all the food had already been prepared. The staff were lovely although when I food was brought to the table, no one explained what were on the sandwiches, which on another table the couple were told.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
GregorysgirlWA wrote a review May 2022
97 contributions122 helpful votes
Stopped off for a solo Sunday lunch. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating. I wanted to sit outside - no tables set and no one else dining al fresco. They made everything seem effortless. Three waiting staff attended to me. I'd had a hard 24 hours and they made me feel so welcome and important. Thank you. Delicious food too. The beef was soft and pink. And the view from the terrace is to die for. Thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
geoff hamson wrote a review Mar 2022
Chesterfield, United Kingdom70 contributions22 helpful votes
We called here on the 13-03-2022 for afternoon tea . The sandwiches and cakes were fantastic ,we spoke to one of the waitresses and she told us all the cakes were made in house and they were gorgeous . We would highly recommend a visit for afternoon tea . We have decided to try out the Sunday roast one Sunday as we have heard they are lovely .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
julie wrote a review Jan 2022
Peyia, Cyprus2 contributions
We as a family had a fabulous night celebrating my mums 80 th birthday .. we had a lovely large table set up in a private area of the the sports bar it was perfect for us … the food was delicious & in these testing strange covid times want to thank the staff for making our celebration a lovely night .. nothing was too much trouble and very friendly service from reception to bar to waiting on the table … can’t wait to come back to sample some more delicious food 😊
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Roma Noon, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Responded 5 Feb 2022
Hi Freedom28896992700, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your family celebration. I will certainly pass this on to all of the team. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Read more
Stephan J wrote a review Dec 2021
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Having spent Christmas (5 nights) at this excellent Hotel, one can only praise all aspects of our stay. The Sherwood suite, perfect for our needs; food, including Christmas & Boxing Day lunches both first class and plentiful, and lastly (but certainly not least) was the Staff. Given the challenging times that the hospitality industry currently faces, and without exception, all members of Staff were prompt in service, extremely courteous, and always ready to assist when asked.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Generally quiet and peaceful atmosphere with opportunity to work without distraction. Excellent...
See more room tips
Response from Roma Noon, General Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Responded 5 Feb 2022
Hi Stephan J. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay here at Santo's. I am extremely proud of my team and they will be thrilled with your lovely comments. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
pinkladybird12 wrote a review Dec 2021
Derby, United Kingdom31 contributions13 helpful votes
Beautiful Christmas meal served to 16 of us. The soup and mushroom starter were both lovely. The turkey and accompaniments were so tasty. Without being asked, staff came round to offer us extra gravy. I couldn’t fault a thing! Great venue, great food, great staff!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Phillip P wrote a review Nov 2021
Mold, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
After a look at the menu for this Hotel and Restaurant and seeing some tempting main courses listed, I looked at their booking system. I didn't find any details of simple B&B prices, but Dinner B&B was offered from £163 a night for a double room. The main courses on their menu were around £28 (with a shared side dish of vegetables included), the starters were around £6, desserts the same. A quick calculation suggested that we would probably order around £35 of food each if we had our usual two-course dinner, making £163 a night attractive. I booked two nights. On arrival, we checked into our twin-bedded room (14), which was comfortable, quiet and beds a little firm for my wife but fine for me. There was a decent television and the usual tea, coffee and biscuits. The bathroom was a little tired, but a good shower and bath with ample hot water. Rather oddly, the bedroom window opened into their conservatory which fortunately was not being used during our November stay. WiFi was available in our room, but temperamental. We went for a drink in the bar before dinner where we found they had excellent real ale, Peak Gold I think and we took a look at the menu. I explained that we were on their dinner B&B package and asked if there were any supplements or restrictions on our choice. I was told we could spend up to £20 each, not enough to have even one main course (apart from a vegetarian choice). There was a choice of "pub grub" Classics such as Soup, Pie & Chips, etc which could allow 2 courses for £20, but no restaurant-style main courses which I had looked forward to. Our dissatisfaction was made clear to the night manager. That night we had pie & chips which was good and portions generous. A decent bottle of Chilean merlot cost a reasonable £17. Breakfast offered a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, pastries etc. and a spectacular Full English plate with enough on it to satisfy the largest appetite, all freshly cooked and top quality. Kippers and Smoked Salmon were available at a supplement of £5.50 and £7.00 respectively if I recall accurately. On our second night, we paid an additional £16 and chose one main course each with a shared side of vegetables. The food was good. Overall we enjoyed our stay, the staff were friendly, the location gave us a chance to take a good 10-mile hike straight out of the hotel's car park (Cocking Tor, west of the hotel) and travel from North Wales was straightforward and much of the latter part, scenic. National Trust Hardwick Hall is nearby and remains open during the winter. The dispute over the menu choice did, however, leave a bad feeling and in my opinion, amounted to a misleading description of the service available. If such a draconian interpretation of "dinner" is to be applied it should at least be made very clear on their website.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room if that is important to you. Check you are going to get what you...
See more room tips
Caren C wrote a review Oct 2021
9 contributions4 helpful votes
We hired the Crystal room and bedrooms for our special occasion. The staff and Roma couldn’t do enough for us. We had afternoon tea and an evening meal. The service was excellent the rooms were great and the whole event was brilliant. Can’t thank the hotel and staff enough.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
DebF45 wrote a review Oct 2021
Ware, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Overall a nice well located hotel with friendly service and good food. We stayed in a classic room called Great Wall. The furniture was far too big for the space available leaving us to squeeze between the bed and the wardrobe, stubbing toes on the ornate bed legs due to lack of space. We had made a special request in the booking for a room with a view which was confirmed in an email from the hotel. They subsequently sent another email withdrawing the confirmation. So the outlook was to a row of garages with the car park to one side. As it was a ground floor room with no limiters on the window opening, we had to keep the windows closed too. Overall disappointing. We will go elsewhere next time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
coolcuz wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
An awful experience, The Churchill suite was shabby, bathroom is awful, spa bath doesn’t work, had to ask for towels, bottom sheet not tucked in and looked as if the bed had been slept in. The noise from the road outside was horrendous, no secondary glazing so for the 2 nights we stayed we literally got no sleep. Very over priced for the standard of rooms and no communication reply from management about our complaints. We had to book into a premier inn to enable us to be safe to drive home, this was far nicer than the overpriced suite and we wish we had stayed there for our trip rather than the Santos. The food at the hotel is excellent but the accommodation really lets the place down.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
US$151 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireHigham
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Teamworks Karting Mansfield (7.9 km), Heage Windmill (7.9 km), and Crich Tramway Village (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The George, Host Coffee, and The Three Horseshoes.
Is Santo's Higham Farm Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Higham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Santo's Higham Farm Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heage Windmill (7.9 km), Sherwood Foresters Regiment Memorial (5.6 km), and Hardstoft Oil Well (6.2 km).
Is Santo's Higham Farm Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.