We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

George Hotel Glossop

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
George Hotel Glossop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2015

This pub/hotel is crying out for a big investment. If you are going for a drink only then it's ok. But if staying the night the rooms are so in need of a refurbishment and the food very average. Lots of other places to stay in Glossop so explore those first !!

Helpful?
1 Thank tony q
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We absolutely love this hotel! A staff member carried our bags to the room and would not except a tip. I can't remember when we have been treated so well at a hotel. They went out of their way to please us. The food was gorgeous and delicious. We ate dinner in the dining room two nights in a row!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your lovely review at The George Hotel Glossop, currently The George Hotel is closed for a refurb and we believe you may have left a review on the wrong tripadvisor site. Kind Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2015

If you want to go back into time this is the place to stay. Decor made stomach turn and owners were like characters from Shameless. Bedding and towels had never seen a bottle of fabric conditioner. Bathroom obviously designed on 70's prison cells. Let me think, any positives??? Oh yes leaving was a great pleasure and the only positive. Overall... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor B
TripAdvocate1234, Operations at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review regarding The George, I can see from the information on TripAdvisor that you are a new user / registered on the 18th May. We are the new owners of The George we are extremely interested on how we can improve your experience. We are very aware that previously The George has had some bad... More 

Travellers are raving about these Glossop hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Stayed here with partner over the easter weekend. No hot water. Reported this twice to owners who fobbed us off saying we had turned the taps towards the wrong direction! When they came up to check they claimed it was boiling and couldn't keep hands under tap any longer. Yet it was barely luke warm! Worthy of a Hollywood Oscar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jrh1978
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, we are aware your issues you raised regarding the hot water. I am really sorry that unfortunately you had the shower controls turn to cold. When we explained that this was case and explained how to operate and demonstrated on how to use the shower, you were not... More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

Held a family funeral here and found it so easy to organise with Julie and staff. It was held in separate room which was good and the buffet was really nice and priced well . Thanks to all staff would highly recommend for a family occasion . We have always found the food to be very good and the new... More 

Helpful?
Thank jane499580
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2015

The hotel bedrooms are in need of an upgrade, spent two nights 2 adults 3 children and booked 3 rooms. Had to change my room on second night as no hot water!! The other 2 rooms were ok. The hotel has new owners who have only been there for 6 weeks and they have plans for a refurbishment of all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony742
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

stayed here for one night, that was enough. The rooms are really small, really cold and the bathroom has no hot water. Noise from the pub downstairs was terrrible. Breakfast was adequate. You get what you pay for i guess. If you are on a budget or like hostels then stay here.

Helpful?
3 Thank craigbKentUk
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The refurbishment is due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2014

We (my friend and I) had booked two single rooms for the weekend. The hotel is ideally located, close to Glossop Station, but is in need of a little love and care! First the positives: friendly staff, good breakfast, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, good showers. Now for the not so good: my friends room was fine, clean, relatively recently redecorated... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SusanneKu
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

mendoza
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2014

The carpet in the room was filthy. It looked like it was covered in bombay mix. Which was a nice blast from the past but crunchy carpets are not pleasant. The sheets had definitely not been changed from the previous guests. And the bathroom floor was also sticky and felt dirty. Pretty basic unfriendly welcome when we arrived. Poor included... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Astor_Elder
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2014

I have bought a pint in the pub three times and each time I have not been thanked and I have been handed an overflowing glass which I have had to carry dripping to a table. The staff need s training. Otherwise I found the ambience is the best in Glossop. If you stay there make sure you do not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin268
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
0.4 km away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
354 reviews
1.5 km away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Manchester (Hyde) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#4 of 12 in Glossop
66 reviews
3.8 km away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#2 of 12 in Glossop
91 reviews
2.4 km away
No photo provided
Hikers & Bikers B&B
#11 of 12 in Glossop
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Currently The George Hotel Glossop is currently Closed under the previous business operators. The George Hotel is currently owned and managed by Punch Taverns ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Hotel Glossop

Address: 34 Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Price Range: €40 - €67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Glossop 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your George Hotel Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel Glossop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not choose room 5!!”
 of 5 bubbles SusanneKu, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for room 1 (double bed) which is near back to avoid street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles TheDunsBuns, 2 Oct 2013 | Read review
“There may be other rooms away from the road and not over the bar area that might be quieter.Check when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanP360, 30 Nov 2012 | Read review
“room not big enough for 4 poster - don't bother!”
 of 5 bubbles NowCousins, 9 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Any room would do!”
 of 5 bubbles martinconroy, 16 Dec 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay