We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$134
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotelUS$134
Expedia.comUS$134
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (88)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

The Peak Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Castleton, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the inn.

The property also features breakfast to make your visit even more pleasant. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you like Italian restaurants, The Peaks Hotel is conveniently located near 1530.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out an ancient ruins, such as Peveril Castle.

Enjoy your stay in Castleton!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
367Reviews4Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 108
  • 25
  • 20
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jafar K wrote a review Mar 2021
Turkey4 contributions
Internet was weak. The room was very cold or too warm and air condition was broken. The roof was dripped! The room was noisy and the noise of next room was annoying. The breakfast was simple. The staff was not friendly. The tea was extra charged. The door glass of the hotel was dirty. And the hotel was very busy at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Earth to Jkolah...... Earth to Jkolah.......Come in Jkolah......... I don't think there's any use in bothering, do you? Nevertheless, seeing as the Irritating people at TripAdviser seem to struggle in removing bogus reviews, I'd better humour him. Hello. I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy your trip to Turkey, I hope that The Pesak Hotel didn't completely ruin your trip. Might I suggest that you visit The UK next time and save yourself the misfortune of staying in a dump. For instance, I can personally recommend THE PEAK HOTEL!!!!! Can you see your little mistake there? Reading your review of the wrong hotel (not even in the right hemisphere), I see that you were too hot and too cold. I wonder if you might have had a fever. I believe there has been a virus going round recently. Unfortunately, being in a heritage English pub, we don't have the luxury of air con. What a shame it was that the "internet was weak and the roof was dripped". Rather like the drip that wrote this stupid "weak" review I suppose. So the "noise was annoying" and "the breakfast was simple" eh? Clearly not the only annoying simple thing around here either. I'm going to stop there as your making it far too easy for me. I've got so much ammo it's just not fun anymore. In the unlikely event that you do realise your mistake (highly unlikely), please have this ridiculous review of some odd little hovel that you booked on the cheap removed. It's clearly nothing to do with me. Thank you for your review. It was most fun. Rick Landlord of The Peak, not The Pesak!
Read more
Emily T wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Had a lovely stay at the hotel, room was very clean and staff very helpful. Food on the evening was absolutely amazing with a wide choice even with a reduced menu due to Covid19! Breakfast was good as well with takeaway bags in line with covid regulations. We were however offered either a cooked breakfast or a bottle of wine on check in due to the room price being the price for a refurbished room and ours was not, we did find out there was no cooked breakfast available and the wine we received was cheap cooking wine which was a disappointment, other than that we had a very enjoyable stay and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2021
Hello. Thank you for your review. I'm not sure which rooms you are referring to. All of our rooms are of the same high standard and all but one are four poster suites. Our maintenance schedule is strict, and our property team keep up with all jobs required. You are correct in saying that we are unable to offer cooked breakfast during the week. You will notice that this is reflected in our low midweek rates. As for our wine selection, you wont find any 'Blossom Hill, or 'Echo Falls' here. All of our wines are specially selected for restaurants and bars alike. I'm afraid that in the current financial climate, I won't be involving in frivolity when it comes to making a 'beurre-blanc sauce'. Cooking wine in my mind has a maximum price of £6 or so, as apposed to our £14 table wine. sorry if that makes me tight fisted. Thank you once again for taking the time to send me your feedback. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Who knows, if your lucky, I might just treat you to another bottle of "cheap cooking wine". Rick
Read more
Babyeor wrote a review Oct 2020
Stowmarket, United Kingdom120 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
This has got to be the first place to make me feel so anxious. As the hotel closes at ten, if you want to go out to visit anybody, wee dog or anything, you have to wedge open the fire door and pray nobody closes it or your stuck out all night until 9.30. We booked breakfast nearby as hotel dont do breakfasts week days, again you have to go down the metal slippery fire escape. We had holes in our towels, broken shower and out of date hot choc in our room. The positive was it was clean and the cleaner was the most helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Hello. I'm so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay in our little hotel, and most upset that you have already made your mind up about not returning. Firstly, The Peak Hotel closes at 12:30 unless required to close at ten by the government. The fire exit is opened by the room key as well as the side door. This was pointed out to you on check in. Unfortunately, as we are only a four bedroom Inn, it is not viable to offer a breakfast during the weekdays, this is reiterated by the low room rates that we have. I don't know how you got that towel, especially as we had a delivery not too long ago. I will make sure that it is taken out of circulation immediately. We haven't found the broken shower, maybe it would have been beneficial if you had told us of these little things whilst you were here so that we could have made things better for you. That way we would have an idea where to look. I am absolutely amazed that we were able to hold onto hot chocolate sachets long enough for them to go out of date. They're usually nicked well before this happens. Then again, I suppose the same could be said for the towels. Anyhow, Thank you for your feedback. Rick
Read more
Martin and Roz wrote a review Oct 2020
Hayfield, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
Had a lovely pub meal in the Peak hotel with my husband on a Saturday evening. Lovely warm welcome. Very friendly staff, really helpful & great service. Food was good especially the desserts. Well worth a visit. Worth booking at busy times.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Hello. Thank you so much for such a positive review. I hope you can come and visit us again so that we can work on getting that extra point. Rick
Read more
jollyquest wrote a review Sep 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom60 contributions17 helpful votes
We would have liked to give 5 stars for our weekend stay at the Peak Hotel. The staff were friendly, great beer, and the cook was amazing. On a weekend when Castleton was packed the free parking was a welcome bonus. They have gone to a lot of trouble to make this a COVID-19 safe place. Sanitizer everywhere, tracking all who enter, one way system, spaced out tables. But unlike any other places we have visited indoors the staff DON’T wear any face masks.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Hello. Firstly, thank you for your positive feedback regarding our high covid compliance. Having visited other places in the area, I'm sure you will have noticed that our premises rules are one of the strictest in the area. I can safely say, that from the very start of all this, our manager has followed the covid compliance guide right to the letter. No matter how ridiculous some of the rules appear, we have stuck to them like glue. As you will also be aware, now that it is safe to do so (in the catering industry), the waring of face coverings are completely mandatory. Thank you for your feedback. I hope you can come and see us again soon. Rick
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the peaks hotel castleton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Peaks Inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkHope ValleyCastleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Peak Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Peak Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Peak Cavern (0.5 km), Peveril Castle (0.4 km), and Castleton Visitor Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Peak Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Peak Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Peak Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Peak Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tilly's Of Castleton, The George, and The Ramblers Rest Coffee shop.
Is The Peak Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Castleton.
Are pets allowed at The Peak Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Peak Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (9.3 km), Eyam Plague Village Museum (8.9 km), and Thornbridge Hall Gardens (12.8 km).