We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Innkeeper's Lodge

Save
Share
Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$126
eDreamsUS$126
TripadvisorUS$126
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (182)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (74)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dating back to the 1800s, The Castle has earned a place in local legend with four spirits said to haunt the grounds. Surrounded by the hills of the Hope Valley and the glorious landscape of the Peak District, this bed and breakfast hotel in Castleton is a great base if you’re looking to explore this stunning part of the world. Within easy reach of Sheffield and Manchester, if you’re looking for a comfortable nights sleep, great food, fine wines and real ales, this historic property should be your first port of call for great value accommodation.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
452Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 163
  • 89
  • 35
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sally M wrote a review 1 Jun
9 contributions3 helpful votes
Room was tired and in need of a refresh - looked like the end of the season not the beginning - smelt like a damp tent. Really noisy Restaurant tables were dirty showing food from previous sittings - need to vacuum in the cracks! ‘Manager’ kept interrupting and coming to the table with his face mask not pulled over his nose!!!!! Breakfast was really awful with undercooked sausages and greasy mushrooms, not presented as described in the menu. Big thing about being Covid safe which was reassuring until you realised the place wasn’t all that clean and the front of house person wasn’t following the rules and was very in your face. Won’t be returning
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Naturally, we are disappointed to read that you had such a disappointing stay with us. We will certainly look into all of the issues you have addressed. The duty manager kept checking on you as he could sense you were unhappy. Regarding his face mask, he suffers from asthma, and sometimes finds it difficult to breath, he is medically exempt from wearing a face mask, but chooses to wear one in order to make our guests feel comfortable. Regards The Castle Hotel Management Team
Read more
philipjay33 wrote a review May 2021
Framlingham, United Kingdom298 contributions90 helpful votes
We stayed at the inn Keeper’s on our way back to Suffolk awesome location as we love castleton. We had a meal in pub which was awesome. Had a lovely bath in the round bath, we had 2 rooms, lovely big bed 🛏. Only fault at 11.45 people came back to the room above and it sounded like a heard of elephants above us for half an hour, then at 7 in the morning they were up and limping about so late night early rise. Shame really probably would put me of booking again. Unless we had the pub room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Philip We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Just to reassure you we know that sound proofing is a top priority and it is being sorted once we have our hotel refurb later this year. Hopefully this means you might rebook with us next year. Regards Castle Hotel
Read more
Abi261094 wrote a review May 2021
Framlingham, United Kingdom395 contributions28 helpful votes
Stayed here for a 1 night stop before heading home & it was ideal. Good value for money, comfortable & great location right in the centre of castleton with lots of local walks near by! Only slight complaint was just not very sound proof, could hear people coming back late at night however didn't let this put us off!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Abi261094, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review. Your comments regarding sound proofing are being taken on board and will hopefully be resolved soon when we have our hotel refurb later this year. Best wishes Castle Hotel
Read more
alldritt6 wrote a review May 2021
Matlock, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and again we found it to be clean, comfortable, and value for money. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Great bar and delicious food in the restaurant. Will stay here again when we visit Castleton next year.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Alldritt6, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience at our pub and hotel. We love it when we see the teams efforts are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you next year Best wishes Team Castle
Read more
H.Fitz wrote a review Oct 2020
Loughborough38 contributions32 helpful votes
We’ve just returned from a one night stay in a family room and we found it average, ok if you’re happy with the basics. Our room was clean but a bit dated / unloved and quite gloomy. The shower was awful, freezing or scalding. The pub was nice but the staff were clearly rushed off their feet so the service was slow, decent Sunday roast though. Breakfast was a bit of a farce, no cooked breakfast, just cereal and toast (or soggy oats with lukewarm milk) and a ‘continental’ takeaway bag with extremely sugary muffins, sugary fruit cartons and over ripe bananas. Fine, but we probably won’t stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge
Responded 22 Oct 2020
We were disappointed that you found your stay with us to be average. We appreciate your praise for our Sunday roast. With Sunday being our busiest day, service can be slower than usual. Our hotel was due a refurbishment in March, unfortunately this was postponed due to COVID/the lockdown. Regarding breakfast, we advertise that we provide a takeaway breakfast bag, additional to this we provide tea/coffee, juices, cereal, yoghurt, porridge, toast with jam/butter/Nutella/marmite etc. Currently, we are not offering the option of a cooked breakfast. This is something we are looking at offering in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Kind regards The Castle Hotel Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle hotel castleton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkHope ValleyCastleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Innkeeper's Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Innkeeper's Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Peak Cavern (0.3 km), Peveril Castle (0.3 km), and Castleton Visitor Centre (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Innkeeper's Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Innkeeper's Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Innkeeper's Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Innkeeper's Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Innkeeper's Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tilly's Of Castleton, The George, and The Ramblers Rest Coffee shop.
Is Innkeeper's Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 km away from the centre of Castleton.
Are there any historical sites close to Innkeeper's Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (9.3 km), Eyam Plague Village Museum (9.0 km), and Eyam Hall & Craft Centre (9.0 km).
Is Innkeeper's Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.