We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Priest House by the River

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Priest House by the River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Priest House by the River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 666: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We booked a one night deal with travel zoo and stayed last Sunday. We expected to stay in the cottages as stated on the deal but we were delighted to be upgraded to a room in the main hotel .Fabulous king size bed, lovely bathroom with toiletries and nicely decorated spacious room .We were just settling in when there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann57_12
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such kind things about your recent visit to the hotel; it is much appreciated. I was delighted to share your review with my colleagues and Chef, in particular, was delighted you about your food comments. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Priest House in the very near...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We recently booked a two day break through Travelzoo and had a lovely stay. We were surprised and pleased to find that we had been upgraded and were given a large room with a king sized bed. The food was excellent and the staff were superb. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed;...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LCD80
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. I have shared your feedback with all of my colleagues. Our Executive Chef, Adam was really pleased to read your comments about the food as he has worked hard to influence the menu and its dishes. I do hope that it will not be too long before you...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We booked a Travelzoo deal here - £149 for dinner, bed and breakfast and a bottle of Spumante wine in the room - to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. It's a gorgeously pretty place, set on a river, at the end of a private close, so it feels very rural and tranquil We had a fantastic time! We were upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travellingnic0la
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely and detailed review of your recent stay; it is much appreciated. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Priest House and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Gwyn

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

The Priest House is in a lovely location by the River Trent. It has good access to the East Midlands Airport and to Donnington Park. We stayed in The Cottages, Room 18, for 2 nights breaking up a journey from Northumberland to the South Coast. We used it as a springboard to head up into the Peak District for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review. I would like to offer you my apologies for any shortfall or disappointment you experienced during your stay. I am thankful for your feedback and will be sure to use it to good effect and indeed the water pressure issue has now been resolved. We receive some wonderfully positive...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Absolutely amazing hotel. Very comfortable beds and rooms just right. Staff were amazing, especially Jack and Emma. They look after you very well, nothing is too much trouble. The grounds were beautiful and so lovely and tranquil. We dined there for two night and the food was awesome as well. Would definitely recommend xx

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie B
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Thank you for your ‘Wonderful’ review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you found the team and notably Jack and Emma to be excellent. On behalf of the team may I thank you for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Priest House in the near future. Regards, Gwyn Jones

Leicester
Reviewed 7 September 2015

After booking a room at the Priest house we were pleasantly surprised to of been upgraded to a suite which was absolutely pure luxury, the hotel is very tastefully decorated, and the staff very pleasant, we had evening meal which although at first I was a little disappointed at the lack of choice, however it was delicious and presentation was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan L
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Priest House and I am grateful that you chose to write a review on Trip Advisor for our future guests; it is very much appreciated. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back. Regards, Gwyn

Grimsby
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We stayed at the Priest House located next to the River Trent on a travelzoo voucher, on arrival we were given the keys to one of the cottage rooms, after checking the room, I noticed only a shower, I asked the receptionist if there was any chance of a change of room to include a bath, much to my surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BountyHunter2008
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Thank you for your ‘Wonderful’ review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you found your dinner to be excellent. On behalf of the team may I thank you for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Priest House in the near future. Regards, Gwyn Jones

BLACKPOOL
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We booked 1 night b&b on our way home from a South East trip to reduce the travel time on the bank holiday. Good location if traveling North West. Comfortable room although areas need upkeep/repair; marked walls, toilet seat, shower connections loose, hair dryer broken and 2 further ones delivered also broken. Wifi good. Bar prices very expensive and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DPG62
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your guest experience. I was delighted you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast so much. However I was disappointed to learn of the frustrations that you encountered. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with my colleagues and Chris our Operations Manager so that they are fully aware...

Camberley
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Book a Travelzoo deal. Fantastic value. Staff very friendly and helpful, our room was upgraded and very comfortable. The food was excellent, and well worth the AA 2 rosette rating. Highly recommended. Made a wonderful special break even better.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MeropsApiasters
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and all aspects of the hotel. On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at the Priest House, we look forward to welcoming you all back to us in the future. Best Wishes, Gwyn

TRING
Reviewed 1 September 2015

On arrival at the Hotel we were very impressed, The receptionist was friendly and very helpful , As we had arrived early we asked directions to a particular place my wife wanted t visit he checked it on google and gave us directions and they were spot on. The Hotel is right by the River Trent a lovely setting ,we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harry T
Gwyn J, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your kind comments. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel and I will be sure to pass your feedback the team who will be thrilled with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Thank you once again for your kind words. Regards, Gwyn

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
15.5 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.1 km away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
137 reviews
5.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
714 reviews
2.7 km away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#8 of 8 in Castle Donington
268 reviews
6.5 km away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a tranquil and stunning location on the banks of the River Trent, The Priest House's history is a rich one that can be traced back almost 1,000 years. Built around a mill tower with its very own water wheels, this 42 bedroom hotel is perfectly placed for a romantic break, an exclusive conference venue or a picture perfect wedding. We've hand-picked a fine selection of food and drink to compliment the charm and romance of our English Countryside setting. Fine dine in our beautiful dining room or relax in our newly renovated and re-named Millstream Bar & Terrace where you can enjoy al fresco dining overlooking the River Trent in the Summer months. We invite you to come and relax and really feel at home with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Priest House by the River

Address: Kings Mills, Castle Donington DE74 2RR, England (Formerly The Priest House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Price Range: €87 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priest House by the River 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Priest House by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priest House Hotel Castle Donington
Priest Hotel Castle Donington
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#3 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Priest House by the River staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Marks Tey, United Kingdom
Wales
over a year ago
Grimsby, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Priest House by the River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage rooms are nice but if we stay again I will be asking for main house rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisE847, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although we upgraded our room was small.”
 of 5 bubbles Diand11, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the Main house if you can”
 of 5 bubbles TomJ1956, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any of the rooms either in the main hotel or the cottages are as good as each other”
 of 5 bubbles AntoinettepCannock, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the cottages”
 of 5 bubbles ThecheckerNewcastle, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5