We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Reception extremely friendly. Room 22 reasonable size with twins beds, desk, very small television and good sized en suite. Dressing gowns, tea/coffee and bathroom stuff all supplied Meal in bar, very average. Had the meat and potato pie but obviously there was a shortage of meat!! Shortcrust pastry soft and doughy, carrots and peas ok, chips nice crunchy outside and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dave v
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Feels like a local pub downstairs in the bar. No bad thing. Rooms were a good size with en suite shower and small TV with easy access to Workington town centre. Free parking on the road outside the hotel at the weekend but I think there are restrictions during the week. The lady on reception was very nice and welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian85361
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and had a great stay. We look forward to any future visits you may have with us.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel room was worn and bathroom looked distinctly moldy. Wedding party when we arrived and we were put over the bar (which was at least the opposite side to the disco) but the double glazing was so poor we could hear all of the conversations between the many smokers outside. Very limited number of sockets in the room and unsupportive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hull_daniel
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we try to minimise any disturbance when events are being held and apologise we did not succeed on this occasion. We regret the standard room booked was not satisfactory we only have 2 of these still available as we are in the process of upgrading all our rooms to superior rooms.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for not a bad little town. Short drive away from Keswick which is really beautiful and some good activities on offer. There's a local tesco store along with a few shops around but not much to do in Workington to be honest. It is ok for a couple but for a family I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naji2016
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found Workington a good base to explore our wonderful Lake District.

Liverpool
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This hotel has a special place in my life as a very young child and the location was perfect for my business trip. However, I'm older, wiser and wealthier now and will stay in a B&B elsewhere next time. The hotel has "character", but this part of Workington has seen better times and the hotel reflects this. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wirralians
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms, one deluxe and one single for 2 nights. The hotel appears to be in a rough area of Workington, as it is run down and there was the constant loud noise of drunks on the road outside. There's only one hour disc parking outside the hotel during the day. It looks like the decor in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave N
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

I visited here last month, arrived very late in a strange land and in the dark. Night porter contacted, number on outside of main entrance. Responded immediately and booked in. Due to my lateness I can't really comment on the hotel itself as I only spent 5 hours here. Not sure on parking as I was dropped off. However my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank micwic
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Despite a very reasonable tariff this hotel provides the level of service, comforts and attention to detail usually only found in much more expensive hotels. The staff were beyond helpful, the room was spotless, had high quality linen, thick thirsty bath robes and all the mod cons in the en suite. An excellent range of food in the included breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claire403
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The hotel was really easy to find however there was no parking available other than restricted on street parking. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The service was excellent as was the cooked breakfast. Would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The Staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. Parking is on the street which has restrictions but the hotel has a disk which allows an extra hour. Main problem was that the lack of a lift so getting to our 2nd floor room meant climbing several flights of narrow stairs and fighting a lot of fire doors. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvertraveler55

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.6 km away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
230 reviews
4.2 km away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
130 reviews
0.9 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
106 reviews
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
4.2 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: €61 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 870anthonyl, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles davev218, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are not young or super fit and active ask for a 1st floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Silvertraveler55, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Phone them direct”
 of 5 bubbles 720edr, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Nice room at the top”
 of 5 bubbles carolineahs, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay