We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Washington Central Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Washington Central Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Washington Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

i stayed here on the 29th September for a Business trip , I had read up on the Hotel and although I was aware of the Central Location and the possibility of noise I was disappointed that there was no air conditioning as you have to have all windows closed and even then this only partially blocks the noise ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 393sianc
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

we stayed here for 3 nights using groupon. Despite the website stating that there were robes in the rooms and a complimentary glass of port these were not provided because we were groupon guests. slightly mean considering we still spent money in the hotel bar. this had also got to be one of the hottest hotels I have stayed in....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie I
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Julie, Thank you very much for your valued feedback and booking one of our offers on the Groupon website. Your confirmation email for this reservation, quite clearly states what is included in a standard room for this offer. clarifying that this may differ to other offers and standard rooms advertised on other websites. However, you could have upgraded...

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Went here for a wedding lovely hotel very reasonably priced. The food was beautiful however staff were abit abrupt when asked questions and not very helpful when asked where to go. Clean and well maintained

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevehertz
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Steve, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay At The Washington Central hotel. Your observations on cleanlines and maintenance are very much appreciated. Your comments on the staffs abruptness does indeed surprise me as we consistently get the most positive feedback fro customers about high levels of staff friendliness and hospitality....

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This is now the second time i have stayed at the Washington. Again i was very happy with the friendly and helpful staff who improved our stay. We had booked 2 adjoining rooms for our stay for a family event. we found both rooms very small but functional. the main issues found was firstly, that the heating pipes must run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Andrew, Since we recently installed the new double glazed windows, we have realised that the 'old' curtains are not suitable for the new units. We have already got this in hand and new poles and curtains will be installed very soon. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hospitality from all the staff, the function room facilities and...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Booked through groupon for a weekend away to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. Had a great stay, staff are really friendly and very helpful; especially Anne. Breakfast was lovely, and the rooms are nice. Bar prices are little bit expensive but no more than most hotel bars these days. Had a great weekend and will definitely be back!!!! Thanks for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Chris, We are all really happy that we contributed to your anniversary and a 'special' weekend. Your enjoyment of the facilities, breakfast, staff friendliness and Annes hospitality are very pleaseing to hear. We all hope to see you both again in the near future. Kindest regards, Keith.

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Cant fault the food and and young girls service but quite pricey and duty manageress needs her customer service skills brushed up even a smile would have been nice,and having never been didnt realise you have to get your own cutlery and had to ask for serviettes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Sarah, Thank you for your positive comments about the food quality and service, generated after your visit to the Central Coffee shop. As the coffee shop is essentially a self service facility the cutlery and serviettes are collected by the guest once food has been ordered. We will however bring cutlery to your table with your food when...

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

What a great hotel, we really could not fault a thing about this place, very friendly welcoming staff that can not do enough for you, lovely clean/well equipped/spacious rooms,really nice restaurant, lovely pool/spa.and the breakfast wow!! Pretty much anything you could want cooked to order to your liking :-) I really cant wait to visit this place again as soon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kentmartin123
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon satisfied reviewer, What can I say really...except a very big thank you for your custom, wonderful review and recommendation for the Washington Central hotel. We all look forward to your next visit to Workington. Once again , thank you on behalf of all the staff. Keith

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Got a Groupon deal and was visiting family it was a lovely hotel, very clean no dust and fresh sheets and towels every day. The spa facilities were great would have been better if they were open earlier than 10am on Sundays and bank holidays as only got to use it once on out 3 day stay. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Katy, Thank you for choosing the Washington Central for your recent stay with the Groupon offer. The houskeeping team do have genuinely high standards and it is very pleasing for them when guests notice the cleanliness, especially in their bedrooms. Andrew, our restaurant manager will not mind me saying this ' but he does have a quite loud...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Went in the cafe totally disgusted in how the prices have gone up!!! Normally eat here at least 3 times each week but won't be going back. Why do this?I'm sure you will loose a lot of your loyal customers through pure greed. Why on earth do this!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123,445,566
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User 123445566, Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding our new menu in the coffee shop. As you are aware on Monday we launched a new menu with some new products and a little change to the lay out with existing products. The only products that have been subject to a price increase are our...

Reviewed 20 August 2016

I had booked a single room for my stay and i was given room 8 at the front of the building on the second floor. The room was clean and tidy, however there were a few niggling problems. Wardrobe door handle fell off Light fitting above mirror not secured to wall. Room very hot no air conditioning, had to open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norrie9032
Keith W, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Norrie, Thank you for taking the time to express your observations on your recent stay at our hotel. We do try to respond to all valued observations, wether they be of a positive or negative nature. Since your report we have tightened up the picture light, wardrobe appeared to be ok. The bed does surprise us as they...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
3.1 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
3.7 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
3.7 km away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
457 reviews
0.3 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
117 reviews
0.1 km away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Central Bistro & Bar
Central Bistro & Bar
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This excellently maintained and well appointed modern 4 star hotel, boasts 57 en-suite rooms and enjoys a town centre location. The hotels convenience to the West Cumbrian energy coast, and close proximity to The Lake District make it an ideal location, for both business clients and holiday guests. This luxurious hotel offers genuine hospitality and excellent facilities, which include suites for banqueting, weddings and conferences for up to 300 guests. Locally sourced food is presented with flair and imagination in the contemporary Central bistro & Bar. The Coffee shop and Caesars Pool & Leisure club are all open to residents and locals alike. The comfortable Lounge Bar offers a varied selection of fine wine, beers and spirits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Washington Central Hotel

Address: Washington Street, Workington CA14 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: €140 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#4 Business Hotel in Workington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Washington Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Washington Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not use room 8 very noisy and located at front of building”
 of 5 bubbles Norrie9032, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a window room rather than a skylight if you are claustrophic (like me)”
 of 5 bubbles 580christineg, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had room 12”
 of 5 bubbles leeD346, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great food great service”
 of 5 bubbles TRACE_JANE_BATES, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs - the walls are like papet”
 of 5 bubbles Rachel89123, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay