We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Wasdale Head Inn

    Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasdale HeadSee available hotels in Wasdale Head
    Traveller (222)
    Dining (32)
    Room & Suite (27)
    The Keswick Country House Hotel
    1,604 reviews
    #6 of 17 hotels in Keswick
     
    Skelwith Bridge Hotel
    390 reviews
    #8 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
     
    The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
    188 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Nether Wasdale
     
    Waterhead Hotel
    677 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Coniston
     
    Overview
    • Excellent53%
    • Very good29%
    • Average7%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “scafell pike” (48 reviews)
    “the pub” (65 reviews)
    “self catering” (32 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Breakfast included
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    The Keswick Country House Hotel
    1,604 reviews
    #6 of 17 hotels in Keswick
     
    Skelwith Bridge Hotel
    390 reviews
    #8 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
     
    The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
    188 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Nether Wasdale
     
    Waterhead Hotel
    677 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Coniston
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (534)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 532 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We went here after walking Scafell. The bar oozes character. The staff were friendly and helped us choose from their good range of local real ales (we were invited to try several samples before choosing). No tankards although I will not hold this against them...More

    Thank Andrew T
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Stopped at the Inn and ordered food at the adjacent bar. I ordered a Chicken club and my friends ordered BLT’s and a chicken burger. The burger was good, the chicken club came as a panini, not the traditional three slice (toasted) club sandwich and...More

    1  Thank C4gsy
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    Where do I start??? We had just finished our mountain climb and thought we would pop in for food. The entrance to the pub has mould spores all over it. In the local information stand there was one leaflet. This might not seem important but...More

    1  Thank Darri S
    Response from Will_Ritson, Owner at Wasdale Head InnResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your review. We have checked today and there is no evidence for your claim that there are mould spores at the entrance to the bar. Information stand - this is maintained by a third party, they provide the leaflets and put them...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    Chicken Cesar salad ....my got what a plate of mush ..the chicken was under cooked and tasteless and the salad was like leftovers mushed up ....I simply couldn't eat it .....the waitress was good she offered me a pudding but to tell the truth I...More

    1  Thank Gillnewsome
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Honeymooned here and have been back numerous times. Staff are great, the food is great and the hotel is a perfect traditional lakeland inn. The views are also to die for. Just fantastic on every level.

    Thank justin b
    The Keswick Country House Hotel
    1,604 reviews
    #6 of 17 hotels in Keswick
     
    Skelwith Bridge Hotel
    390 reviews
    #8 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
     
    The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
    188 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Nether Wasdale
     
    Waterhead Hotel
    677 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Coniston
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Internet
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Wasdale Head
    • Also Known As
    • Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (222)
    Dining (32)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (161)
    Bathroom (4)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Waterhead Hotel
    677 reviews
    16.67 km away
     
    The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
    188 reviews
    7.77 km away
     
    Skelwith Bridge Hotel
    390 reviews
    16.56 km away
     
    The Keswick Country House Hotel
    1,604 reviews
    17.19 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn
    269 reviews
    .01 km away
    The Strands Inn
    298 reviews
    7.82 km away
    Brook House Inn and Restaurant
    317 reviews
    7.96 km away
    The Boot Inn Restaurant
    179 reviews
    7.73 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Scafell Pike Mountain
    333 reviews
    2.71 km away
    Wastwater Lake
    321 reviews
    5.07 km away
    carolclimb
    19 reviews
    5.27 km away
    Hardknott Roman Fort
    147 reviews
    7.91 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Lucy C
    21 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
    Please call us on 019467 26229 to cancel or rearrange. Our deposits are non-refundable, however if we are able to move your booking and re-let your room we should be able to transfer your deposit to the revised booking
    0
    Votes
    foxale
    18 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
    We always have a range of real ales, with typically 6-8 different draught ales depending on the time of year. The actual ones vary from week to week depending on availability but we usually have beers from Carlisle Brewing... More
    0
    Votes
    Joseph_Mantle
    16 April 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
    Our rates start from £59 per person per night with full English breakfast, with a 10% reduction for stays of 3 or more nights. This is for a standard room. The superior rooms and self catering apartments are slightly more... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "best views are the rooms on the front of the hotel"
    Read review
    "We had room 3 which had a lovely view, but i think other rooms will give you a better one, it was quiet."
    Read review
    "As with all residential pubs/bars there may be slight noise in a room over the public areas, but I found..."
    Read review
    "Best avoid the hotel and camp on their camp site"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing