We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 2 hotels in Milnthorpe

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

186 reviews
Save
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good36%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (186)Write a Review
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
58
64
33
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
58
64
33
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy stepsolde worldethe sticky toffee puddingchristmas lunchhundred yardshamwell worth a visithome madeat lunchtimehistoric churchenglish villagevaried menuexcellent food and servicecheesecakepleasant surroundingslocal beertiny village
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for a 2 night break over the New Year period. Negatives:Decor tired and in need of an upgrade. Lighting in room was poor,and TV failed to work. Leaking cistern in en suite bathroom. Positives: Food at dinner was very...More

Thank d.currie
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once upon a time this was a great place to dine out. Sadly, of late, it's so hit and miss I'll give it a miss! Perhaps this review could have been avoided had the landlord not charged us for two of our disastrous mains, which...More

Thank Suzanne M
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Dined this evening at the Wheatsheaf and the food was excellent and plentiful. Well presented and the service was brill . This is a quintessential old English hotel set in a small village, we took Lexi our well behaved labrador and the owners made her...More

Thank bigbadjab
Reviewed 19 October 2017

we were staying nearby and went in for an evening meal. As a real ale fan the choice of beer was very good and most enjoyable. The menu was full of choices and the food was delicious. A very good choice

Thank thornbury
Response from RichardSk49, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at BeethamResponded 20 October 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your positive comments, they are most appreciated by us and all our staff.

Reviewed 26 September 2017

While visiting Beetham called into The Wheatsheaf for a sandwich, met by a very friendly gentleman,he advised us to have the lunch time special at £7.95 which we did. A very generous portion of homemade chicken pie, chips and vegetables arrived followed by apple crumble...More

Thank Sheila U
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345638
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wheatsheaf at Beetham staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"a veiw of the church"
Read review
"A room with a church view!"
Read review
"In a very quiet village location"
Read review
"There is a variety of rooms, but we did not see the inside of the other rooms."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite