We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Uplands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Uplands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 366: English reviews
Start your review of Uplands Hotel
 Click to rate
LEEDS
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just had a 2 night stay. The hotel is spotless and very comfortable, staff friendly and pleasant and the food was excellent, ate in both nights and breakfast was exceptional. Would definitely recommend it and go back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA B
Wellesbourne
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely position with beautiful views from the terrace, and our room (Derwent). Terrace perfect for prosecco. Lovely sandwiches supplied at short notice. Large Hot breakfast with good service. New management attentive to detail and customers. 20 min walk to Cartmel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KRGMERR
Cheshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights in the Derwent room. The room was very clean, the bed lovely and comfortable and the bathroom had both a bath and a shower. The view from the room is quite special as it takes in the fields and the estuary. I had no problem with wifi in the room. Sophie on reception was helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 00Ness
StephUplandsCartmel, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments. As you are aware we recently took over the hotel and our main focus is our customer experience, service and the quality of our food. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I will pass on...

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

2nights stay at the uplands hotel can only give an honest view that our stay was most enjoyable.Room more than ecceptable,staff very helpful and friendly food delicious and well presented.will return.M Buzza

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marybuzza
StephUplandsCartmel, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. James & Steph

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely helpful staff, good position to explore Cumbria and the Lakes. Breakfast very good. Will definitely go back again. Rooms comfortable with lovely views. Never tried the restaurant but will do next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happy13524
StephUplandsCartmel, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, we are launching a new menu on 5th May, so hopefully you will get a chance to eat with us next time. Hope you had a nice break in the Lakes and we will see you again soon. James & Steph

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was spacious and clean with a large ensuite bathroom. The wifi worked perfectly. The meals were good pub meal standard with a reasonable choice of options. There were a few minor teething problems that the new owners were already addressing so I would feel confident that customer experience will improve as they and their team settle in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
StephUplandsCartmel, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Pam, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you last week, we are pleased that our efforts are already being noticed so quickly. We are making good progress with the new menu which will be launching on 5th May. We look forward to your return and feedback on it! Thanks again for your kind review and hope...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was excellent! The food was lovely and the staff so helpful which is great particularly when you are a single woman dining on her own! It was lovely to meet James' Mum and Dad who were very kind too! I have lots of visitors over the Summer months and woul not hesitate in bringing them to Uplands and will...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GillyB35
StephUplandsCartmel, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Gilly, Thank you for the lovely review, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are launching a new menu on 5th May, so we hope to see you again soon and look forward to your feedback! James & Steph

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for two nights at short notice but stayed only one. We were given single beds which were seriously uncomfortable and there was no bath. They said they were fully booked and couldn't change us. Maybe bad luck because we'd booked late They advertise free Wi-Fi throughout but despite logging in with the correct password we couldn't connect anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil265
Stephanie S, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We notice that both you and your partner have reviewed under "really awful" and "not again thank you" for the same stay, our response is as follows: The hotel is now under new management from Monday 3rd April so unfortunately cannot comment on your experience before this date. However we do note that you did book a twin room...

uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This Hotel is a disgrace! Unhelpful staff! Uncomfortable beds! No Bath! The wifi is useless! Just don't stay here! Were booked for two nights but left after a awful nights sleep and will not return! The staff have a couldn't care less attitude!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackson35
Stephanie S, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We notice that both you and your partner have reviewed under "really awful" and "not again thank you" for the same stay, our response is as follows: The hotel is now under new management from Monday 3rd April so unfortunately cannot comment on your experience before this date. However we do note that you did book a twin room...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So I booked a romantic evening through Groupon for my sister and her husband for a Christmas present . They booked the room and enquired about booking a meal for this evening. They were advised that they didn't have to book they could book on the evening. They arrived at the hotel and there was a large christening party being...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Elaine C
Stephanie S, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Elaine, James and I acquired The Uplands Hotel on Monday 3rd April 2017 and cannot comment as we were not here. Kind regards Steph

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.9 km away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
242 reviews
2.8 km away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
922 reviews
2.2 km away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
239 reviews
2.5 km away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
481 reviews
1.6 km away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated just above the village of Cartmel, the Uplands Hotel & Restaurant offers stunning views of the local countryside and the Furness Peninsula. Originally a large residential house, the Hotel benefits from two acres of peaceful gardens which are perfect for walking your dogs, al fresco dining, summer sunbathing or just taking in the views. A large car park covered by CCTV security is also onsite. The hotel is in the ideal location for visiting South Lakeland and the stunning Cumbrian coast. It is also a top choice for those visiting local events such as the Cartmel Races, the Steam Gathering Festival and the many events held by Holker Hall to name but a few. Furthermore, as the hotel is only a short drive from the M6 Motorway guests travel comfortably from a range of locations between Scotland and London. For guests, there is a choice of five comfortable double bedrooms, two of which benefit from the stunning countryside views. All rooms feature a modern en-suite bathroom and Freeview Television as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Free WiFi is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Uplands Hotel

Address: Haggs Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Price Range: €86 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uplands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uplands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Uplands Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Uplands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the Kent room, beautiful views”
SANDRAB940, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Derwent. Lovely views. Big bathroom. Bath & shower”
KRGMERR, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Derwent room has lovely views and is a quiet room not in the main building.”
00Ness, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in lune room good views”
marybuzza, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We did access the internet in the room but I don't think all the rooms can”
happy13524, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5