We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TG England
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (110)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#1 of 3 in Boot
Travellers' Choice
The Boot Inn nestles in the tiny hamlet of Boot, deep in the heart of the Eskdale Valley. Within easy walking distance of The English Lake Districts largest and most majestic fells, yet only 7 miles from the sea. We provide first class food, drink and accommodation with nine letting bedrooms, bar, conservatory and snug areas, we also have ample car parking and a large beer garden. The inn itself has been catering for the hungry and thirsty travellers since the 17th century, offering a selection of traditionally kept cask ales, fine wines, sprits, continental beers, soft drinks and excellent food. At the Boot Inn we endeavour to source as many of our ingredients and most of our produce locally including the almost legendary cumberland sausages. Everybody is welcome included our four legged friends. With real log fires for those chilly autumn, winter or even summer days, a warm welcome is always guaranteed. The valley provides a wealth of opportunity for outdoor activity with Scafell, Great Gable, Harter Fell, Bowfelll, Crinkle Crags and many others all within walking distance without having to cross a single road! Cyclists can pitt themselves against the Hardknott and Wrynose passes, the steepest section of road in England leading to the Duddon Valley and Langdale. For those of a more spiritual and historical interest there is to be found the remains of a Roman Fort in the upper reaches of the valley and the beautiful 14th century church of St Catherines only a short stroll away. Slightly further afield attractions such as Muncaster Castle and Eskdale Golf Course are close by.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
540Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 361
  • 116
  • 32
  • 19
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mariaxbx wrote a review 9 May
Liverpool, United Kingdom12 contributions7 helpful votes
Loved it here! Made to feel very welcome with our little dog in tow. Staff very welcoming! Only stayed one night & hope to be back very soon! Room was lovely, fresh & clean, breakfast, tea & desserts absolutely gorgeous, tasty & well needed after a big walK! Great job Boot Inn! xx
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Suzie wrote a review 2 May
Preston, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited as a family for Sunday lunch on bank holiday weekend, we had a fabulous lunch, the staff were friendly, the pub was cosy & clean. Would definitely return. Thankyou for squeezing us in on a busy Sunday. The Roast beef was delicious & a beautiful setting.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
morris1586 wrote a review Apr 2022
Caerphilly, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our visit to the Boot Inn whilst on our honeymoon. This pub has a great and friendly atmosphere and served absolutely delicious food with large portions. If you want a quiet drink or a traditional meal then this place is perfect. We’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Graham G wrote a review Apr 2022
12 contributions6 helpful votes
Meals were nice but the evening was ruined by the fact that £30 of someone else’s drinks were added to our bill by mistake which I didn’t pick up on until the next morning. Called the pub to give them the opportunity to do the right thing which they choose not to - didn’t even entertain looking into it which is disappointing as I’m sure it could have been unpicked. Yes I should have checked the receipt but equally the mistake shouldn’t have been made in the first place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Stuart Morris, Owner at The Boot Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
HI Graham, I did explain at the time of your call that somebody calling up the day after they had visited saying they had been overcharged was virtually impossible to prove either way. If you just wanted me to issue a £30 refund on the word of an unknown voice on the end of the phone then it's not going to happen as it could very well be a scam and you could have rung every restaurant and pub in the Lake District ( or the UK for that matter ) with the same story ?? You are absolutely correct in your statement that you should check your bill, it is also your fault that you didn't ..... not mine. We issue itemised bills because the odd mistake does happen, how I am supposed to "unpick" such a situation I am not sure as nobody else confessed to not having enough drinks on their bill then it becomes your word against mine. Unfortunately I am in a position that when we both make mistakes ( if indeed the drinks did go on the wrong bill ) that I can do nothing about it and you can merrily type away on this website and others that you have been wronged. To finish I would urge everybody no matter where they have eaten to check their bills when they are still in the establishment and then incidents such as this wouldn't happen. Regards Stuart. The Boot Inn
Read more
Mimi wrote a review Apr 2022
Sea Palling, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed a single night in the Boot Inn and loved it. We had a house nearby for the following week and ate there 3 times in all. The cooking is great, varied, and the service is terrific. We had one party of 16 people and they made it look easy. One of my new favourite spots on the planet. Oh, and they were welcoming to our dogs too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Claire S wrote a review Apr 2022
90 contributions17 helpful votes
Just got back from a meal here this evening. Staff very welcoming and gave good service. The food is excellent. I had the fish and chips and shared with my daughter as the portions are generous. My husband who is vegetarian ordered the five bean chilli. He said its one of the nicest vegetarian dishes he's had, so much so he asked the chef how to make! And for the puddings....👌would definitely come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
Iain M wrote a review Mar 2022
Preston, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
We came down off the fell to have lunch at the Boot Inn. After a friendly hello we ordered drinks and asked if we could put the on the table which appeared to be no problem we sat out in the sun and ordered food. 15-minutes later the waiter came out side and awkwardly said it is pay as you go and can we pay for our food. No problem we said, and all paid after a bit of trouble with the card machine meaning two of us had to go into the bar and pay. Our food was then immediately delivered and it was obvious they didn't want to deliver the food until we paid. The food was lovely and we complemented them on it. Unfortunately when we went to leave we saw a gentleman in the window alert the bar manager who came rushing out accusing us of not all paying. She even pointed at one of our group and said it is you. You haven't paid! When we stated we had she said wait there, came back out and said yes you have paid, you can go. Have a nice day. Not even an apology. Fair enough, there has been an increase in people running out on restaurants, but we hardly met the profile, a group of middle age walkers. They simply needed to ask us to pay when we ordered and certainly not loudly accuse us Infront of the other patrons.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Neil T wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We stayed local to Boot and tried this pub for food. Absolutely fantastic, everyone cleared their plates and when you have 2 fussy eaters, for me that says a lot. Great service, such friendly staff and great value for money. We had mains and deserts and can’t fault the food in any way. Can highly recommend this place!!! Would recommend booking to avoid any disappointment of missing out
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Do book ahead, the road up to the pub is narrow but a good sized car park at the back
See more room tips
mdc214 wrote a review Nov 2021
Colwall, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
A great little pub.We were staying at the NT cottage on the campsite and popped in here every night for a beer.Very friendly and a great open fire.Good beer and the lamb bhuna was very good.It’s probably best to book at weekends but was generally quiet when we went.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
24francis wrote a review Nov 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom60 contributions48 helpful votes
We arrived mid afternoon after a long walk and they were brilliant. Welcoming staff and spotlessly clean inn with a great food offering for hungry walkers. Worth heading up the lane as this pub sits about 150 metres off the main road. Despite our lateness there was no problem to get cooked food and they were so flexible as we wanted to share. Extra plates and cutlery were immediately offered and the toasted ciabatta with salad we had was generous and tasty. The loos were exceptionally clean which isn’t always the case in establishments that we’ve come across when out in the countryside (or even in more populated areas for that matter). Good choice of beers and friendly service make this a real find. Thoroughly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
US$129 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the boot hotel boot
the Burnmoor Inn
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictEskdaleBoot
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Boot Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Boot Inn?
Nearby attractions include Wast Water (4.9 km), Scafell Pike Mountain (7.2 km), and Stanley Ghyll Force Waterfall (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Boot Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Boot Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Boot Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Boot Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Woodland's Licensed Bistro & Tea Room, The Boot Inn Restaurant, and Brook House Inn and Restaurant.
Is The Boot Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Boot.
Are pets allowed at The Boot Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Boot Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eskdale Mill (0.1 km) and Church of St Olaf (7.7 km).
Does The Boot Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.