We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thanet Well Lodge Retreat

Save
Share
Greystoke CA11 0XX England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (1385)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (38)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Thanetwell Lodge is a beautiful self catering Scandinavian style wooden lodge situated in the heart of the Northern Lakes surrounded by unspoiled countryside and fantastic views. it is the ideal base for countryside pursuits or just somewhere to “get away from it all”...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Washing machine
Internet
Show more
Room features
Sofa
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
835Reviews92Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 559
  • 148
  • 67
  • 30
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Joshgarland wrote a review Jan 2023
17 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Thanet well lodges in December and over new year. We stayed in lodge 2 which was absolutely fantastic! The view was amazing! Cleanliness of the lodge was 10/10. Safe to say it was immaculate. The whole park is very well maintained and super clean/ tidy. Great location for exploring the lakes. Don’t want to spoil the surprise for anyone planning on staying here but there was a lovely little gift upon arrival for us and our dog! Lovely little touch! Overall I would highly recommend this place. We stayed with our 2 young kids and dog and it was ideal. Super chilled place! We will 100% be returning to Thanet well lodge in the future! Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The heating is very good so go careful not to put it up full as it soon gets really warm!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Thanet, General Manager at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. We all look forward to welcoming yourselves (and your dog) back to Thanet Well in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kylie B wrote a review Jan 2023
York, United Kingdom28 contributions7 helpful votes
Booked here for the New Year weekend, having stayed here before we liked that it is remote but not too far in the car to get to places. We booked a Greystoke Premier lodge and upon arrival we weren’t happy with the cleanliness of the lodge, it appeared grubby and tired. Loads of cobwebs in the light fittings, on curtain tracks etc, the oven door wasn’t clean and neither was the freezer. There was dead flies on the curtains and all in all, the lodge needs an update. I reported this to reception and was advised the lodge we stayed in previously was a ‘different type of lodge’. Obviously I knew that but I pointed out regardless of what lodge you book the cleanliness should be on the same level, to which the woman agreed. The decor of the lodge doesn’t look anything like the pictures which she blamed Hoseasons for, which I do appreciate pictures are for illustration purposes however if you look on their direct website, they make the lodge look even better! The lodge is described as a luxury stay, which it really isn’t. The Friday evening, the occupants (mixture of couples) in the lodge next door were quite loud however they did leave the hot tub at 11PM as per the park rules. However, on New Years Eve another couple arrived and we were woken up at 2:30AM by them shouting whilst they were in the hot tub. This went on for about an hour. The park is out of the way with nothing on site other than the reception and a small shop, no bar/restaurant which shows that the park is geared up for a quiet getaway. Unfortunately for us and other people visiting the park this weekend didn’t get that peaceful setting and I do think the staff need to be more on it with group bookings and other guests arriving mid stay. We visit the Lake District twice a year and sadly, we won’t return to this park again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Services Manager Thanet, General Manager at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for your review. Here at Thanet Well we pride ourselves on providing our guests' with a relaxing retreat within the picturesque landscape of the Lake District and I am sorry we did not achieve this, on this occasion. All lodges on site are individual with published photos showing only a selection. Your cleanliness comments have been passed on to our housekeeping team and we have taken onboard your suggestions regarding group bookings, and how we manage these. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Misslouc wrote a review Dec 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom27 contributions11 helpful votes
I wish you could give half stars, as 3 seems too low but 4 seems a bit too high! The site is well signposted on a quiet site. If you want to explore the lakes it's a great base, but other than a small shop there's nothing else do do (suits us perfectly). We stayed in a Blencartha Premier 2 lodge which was pet friendly. I always worry about staying in pet friendly accomodation, because despite having a dog ourselves they never feel clean. However, the carpet and sofas felt clean which was a bonus as I was worried about our little one crawling around! I do think wooden floor would be better suited though. The lodge was much bigger than I expected. The living area was big and well equipped with a dishwasher and washing machine. The boiler/airing cupboard was large and warm so perfect for drying off towels and swimwear from the hot tub etc. The bedrooms were decent with lots of storage and a big walk in wardrobe. An ensuite to the main bedroom and the main bathroom has a bath which was ideal as we had our baby with us. The shower was powerful and the central heating was great and warmed up quickly. The lodge was slightly tatty and could do with a bit of a freshen up. The wallpaper was peeling, and the light fittings had a few cobwebs on them. There were splatters of purple shampoo on the shower tiles from a previous occupant and the bathroom just felt a bit yellow and dated and the ceilings were slightly mouldy. The robes were a nice touch, but the sleeve of one of them had food stuck to them but it didn't look like stains as such, but more crusted on like it hadn't been washed. The sunken hot tub looked great and we had a lovely view, but the hot tub itself just never felt warm enough. I've been to lodges in the winter previously so I know they can still maintain the heat, so I didn't really end up using it. The check in/out times did feel a bit too early/late. 9am check out and 4pm check in meaning you do lose out on 2 days. We did arrive slightly earlier and was told the lodge wasn't ready. We did manage to check in though slightly earlier at 3.15. I loved the little touches on arrival - a treat and a toy for the dog and a lovely little tin that we could keep which has the keys and a site map in it. My little one loved the rubber duck in the bath. There's a small quantity of toiletries left in the bathroom - shower gel, soap, shampoo/conditioner and the kitchen was ready with a dish sponge, cloth, bin bag, washing up liquid and 2 dishwasher tablets. The WiFi didn't work, but you are warned about this beforehand. We both managed to get food phone signal and internet though (EE and iD mobile). Overall I did enjoy our stay, I do think there's room for improvement to make the lodges a bit more modern/presentable. We did pay a premium due to the time of year we stayed, so it did feel expensive for what it was but looking at the prices for off peak times, this does seem reasonable for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Services Manager Thanet, General Manager at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
I am glad that, all in all, you had an enjoyable stay here at Thanet Well and thank you for your comments regarding how we can improve on the general standard of this particular lodge. All comments are taken seriously and passed on to the relevant teams to enable us to improve standards and, in such, enhance the satisfaction of our guests. Please also be aware that check out is 10am and check in is 4pm, however, we strive to be flexible with these times dependant upon lodge availability. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a future visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davidwQ3559HR wrote a review Dec 2022
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom38 contributions43 helpful votes
This is one of my favourite sites for visiting the Lakes. (hesitant to share this location, but its for everyone not just me) As a couple and a family we have taken numerous visits here over the last 5 yrs. The site has nothing to offer, other than a very small shop 9am -5pm ish, but is in a very peaceful location. with beautiful idyllic views to one side of the park. Staff are friendly, polite and always willing to help. The site has around 80 lodges 2-6 berth so choose what suits you needs you will not be disappointed. Thanet Well site is a perfect location for visiting all the lakes in Cumbria, take the country roads over the hills and far away or if you don't like a leisurely drive take the motorway. Supermarkets/petrol station and shops are about 20 minutes drive into Penrith. and this site is a perfect location for visiting all the lakes in Cumbria, on country roads or motorway. Carlisle is about 30 minutes away. To be honest just get in the car, drive, turn and find a new place to enjoy. Why did you give it 4 stars i hear you say? normally it would be 5 stars, but I think since my last visit the management team have changed. :0( On this visit i wasn't that impressed with the cleaning of the lodge, i know its winter, but the windows were dirty in and outside, the lodge was a little smelly and the freezer was iced up with crumbs/bits of frozen food , not what i have ever experienced before. I wouldn't let this put you off, if you go and you have a complaint go talk to them (i didn't do that) im more than sure they would help out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Just go and visit.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Services Manager Thanet, General Manager at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for your wonderful review on Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, your numerous stays obviously reflect the pleasure you experience whilst staying with us in this tranquil location, which gives us, as a team, a great deal of satisfaction that we are meeting our guests' expectations. Your housekeeping comments will be passed on to the relevant department for them to address. The Management Team has recently changed but we are always here to listen to customer comments, or even for a friendly chat. We look forward to your next visit, when, I hope you will pop into reception to introduce yourself.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emmsy_xoxo wrote a review Dec 2022
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom50 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
We have literally just returned from our 3 night stay at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat and I felt i desperately needed to add my review into the mix. Now I won’t lie having booked this as a shared present with family in July and then reading the majority of the last few months reviews I was genuinely nervous to say the least…. We arrived for check-in at 4PM to a lovely warm friendly reception by the team. The lady we dealt with with short brown hair and (I think) glasses was great! We were shown where our lodge was on the map and given the cutest little metal tin which is shaped like a suitcase with our keys in it. We were told we could also take the tin home which was a nice touch! We headed up to Lodge 39 an Ellonby Premier 2 lodge and parked one car on the driveway and unloaded the other car before moving it up to the additional parking, as there is only parking for one car per lodge - the other has to go near reception which has ample parking and the car was always very safe. The lodge was clean, smart and ready for us. The bedding was so fresh and some items seemed almost new! We sat down for a well deserved drink and then enjoyed tea in the lodge, just pizza & sweet potato fries but the oven was easy to use and there were enough trays which is always a bonus! On the Saturday we headed out to Carlisle for the day to the Christmas Market and then did a big shop in Tesco Carlisle for the rest of the weekends food & drink. On our return to the lodge and it was lovely, warm and homely when we entered for our Saturday evening of Chilli Con Carne and the England v France football match, sadly we weren’t celebrating the match afterwards. We spent the evening enjoying hot chocolate around the dining table which comfortably seated all 4 of us and played card games for the rest of the evening before retiring to our beds at 11PM for some much needed rest!! Sunday was our chill day with nothing but relaxing and hot tubs ahead of us. We went for a walk around the whole park to see all the other lodges- in our pyjamas with big Woolly hats and winter coats haha! It was lovely to get a feel for the whole park and we could see all the lodges are spaced out well so you don’t really feel that you’re on top of each other at all. We found the Thanet Well Weather Station and Sun Dial as well which were cool features. We popped in to reception on our way back from our walk as we had run out of loo rolls in the lodge with just having 1 per bathroom, and they happily gave us more loo rolls without question and with a smile as well. We headed back to the lodge to use the hot tub for the first time, we didn’t bother the first night as we were all too tired after driving over from North Yorkshire then spending the day in Keswick before checking in and after watching the football on the second night time got away from us so we were really looking forward to using it. There was a slight issue with the water level but wow did reception sort that fast for us AND on a Sunday afternoon. Within minutes the lovely chap who does the hot tubs (I didn’t get his name unfortunately) was round and had us sorted within a few more minutes. And the lady on reception Maya who we dealt with was lovely!! So bubbly and happy you could really see she took pride in her job and was so helpful. Now the ONLY REASON I mention the slight hot tub issue we had is so I could HIGHLIGHT the immediate response from Maya and the gentleman who works on hot tubs at the park. NOT to knock them or Thanet Well Lodge Retreat but to actually highlight how BRILLIANT they were and how valued they made us feel as guests of Thanet Well Lodge Retreat!!!!! In closing ALL the staff we met at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat were lovely !!!! All friendly, smiling, happy and kind. Our lodge was exactly as described and as expected and definitely clean. It may well be true that they’ve lost a lot of experienced staff/managers recently (from other people’s posts on here) but in our experience you cannot fault the people who are there now at all. We will certainly return and thank you to all the team at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat for a lovely Winter Break x
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
anncogdon wrote a review Dec 2022
England, United Kingdom72 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at Greystoke Premiere 2 in November , the condition was untenable, the extractor in bathroom did not work, there was damp and mold all over both bathrooms, flooring was all warped , all walls skirting door were either damaged or needs attention as wrong paint has been used, curtains where ripped and unironed so looks unkept. On booking by phone I was told it had Wi-Fi on collecting keys I was told there was no Wi-Fi. Kitchen counters where all warped and damaged. Flooring in kitchen has gaps which is dangerous, hasn’t been fitted correctly. My sister stayed at another lodge which was spotless . I did contact Hoseasons with my problems and I have received no reply so that is why I am leaving a review to other visitors are aware of the state of this lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Thenerv wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
Great location for walking the Northern fells and the lodges are in an area with good views. Not ideal if you don’t like driving everywhere, as there are no nearby facilities; most of the time we drove into Keswick in the evenings. The lodges themselves are spacious but in need of some renovation. Lots of visible damage and wear and tear; the extraction hood was not properly secured, for example. Similarly, I did not think that the cleanliness of the property was acceptable on arrival and lots of kitchen items missing, which was annoying in a self catering establishment. Overall, I would revisit and I enjoyed the time there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Resplendor wrote a review Oct 2022
Durham, United Kingdom43 contributions20 helpful votes
     We have stayed at this park many times in the past and on the whole have had great holidays in excellent lodges. Not all stays have been without issue but that’s life and in the past we felt that the staff at the park dealt with the problems in a fair and reasonable manner so were happy to return. Oh how things have changed! Apparently the long standing managers of the park have left and they are short staffed and in chaos. That information came from two different members of the Darwin team as they were trying to resolve issues that we encountered during our recent visit. Issues that we had to report twice before we got anyone to attend. The lodge we were allocated for the latest stay was not the luxurious accommodation they described. The fixtures and fittings were long past their best and fell way short of the luxurious tag given in the description by hoseasons and Darwin Escapes. Scruffy would have been a more accurate description. The park’s response to this particular issue was astounding. Apparently it is an impossible task to keep all of the lodges up to a high standard as they are refurbished on a rolling program a bit like painting the fourth bridge! Plus there are some privately owned lodges over which the park has no control and theses ones are more likely to be ‘tired’. In other words the standard of lodge you get is down to luck!! To openly admit that they knowingly let substandard accommodation is shocking. People work hard to pay for their holiday and deserve to get exactly what they are promised. Neither the park management or Darwin Escapes offered a satisfactory resolution to the issues we raised and directed us to Hoseasons. At the time of writing this review I haven’t even had an acknowledgement from them so am not too hopeful of getting a satisfaction resolution. Just be aware when booking that not all of the lodges are of an acceptable standard. Sent from my iPhone
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Thanet, General Manager at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Responded 19 Nov 2022
I am sorry that on this occasion you were unhappy with your stay. As you rightly say the long standing managers have now left and the remaining team are working hard to maintain and indeed improve standards in the lodges. I do hope you will visit us again sometime in the future. Best Wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dean Steel wrote a review Oct 2022
Walkden, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Thanet well was the most beautiful lodge I've ever stayed in. This felt so luxurious and I couldn't believe the size of the lodge. Beautiful kitchen and dining area looking out at stunning views of the mountains. Where do I even begin with the bathroom? Firstly, a stand in shower as you walk by a walk in wardrobe then a stand alone bath with colour changing lights. This felt like such a spa and made for a wonderful relaxing break. The park itself is way out of reach of shops so if you do need bits be prepared to drive or bring them along. The beds were comfortable. If I did have one negative it was the drains were being worked on at check in time so the smell was rather horrific! But it did not ruin our stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chris L wrote a review Oct 2022
Uddingston, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Had a 4 night stay here from 17-21 Oct in Lodge 2 and was very disappointed in the lodge, we have been to Thanet Well before back in 2017 (think it was lodge 9) and loved it but after this trip I don't think that I would come back. The lodge we had this time wasn't very clean, it was very run down and in need of a good refurb. On arrival in the 2nd bedroom there was a loft hatch hanging down, we tried to close it however it just kept falling down, it was only two of us so didn't report it but if there was more than two staying then it would have been an issue. There was also a smell of sick which wasn’t good, it felt like we had been given the ‘party’ lodge. There was also a remote for a sound bar however this seemed to be missing as there was a big gap under the TV. The blinds at the dining table/living room had food splashes over them, this was not appealing to look at when eating your dinner at night. Also on the last day (Thursday) my partner cut their foot on a piece of glass, now we didn't smash anything whilst staying in the lodge so it just shows that this was missed when cleaning which could have been dangerous if our wee dog found this, luckily he didn't. In addition, we paid £50 for our dog to come to the lodge, which was fine however, there was nothing left for him, when we came here last time a dog welcome pack was left which had some doggy bits and bobs in it. The best part about this lodge was definitely the hot tub, which was checked by the staff every day. I am not normally one to complain but felt like this had to be addressed. We did manage to make ourselves as comfortable as we could and did have a great relaxing week but the accommodation definitely needs a bit of updating to fit in to the luxury lodge style which was advertised, being honest I don’t think it was worth £400 which we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
thanetwell hotel greystoke
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictEden DistrictGreystoke
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THANET WELL LODGE RETREAT - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Thanet Well Lodge Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Hutton in the Forest (6.3 km) and Upfront Puppet Theatre (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a hot tub, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thanet Well Lodge Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Clickham Inn, The Dog & Gun Inn, and The Boot And Shoe Inn.
Are pets allowed at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Thanet Well Lodge Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hutton in the Forest (6.3 km).
Does Thanet Well Lodge Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.