We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 370: English reviews
Start your review of The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
 Click to rate
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Family party, brilliant, food was nice. My son hurt himself (boys will be boys) a member of staff was quick to helping us, my son was back to playing within 20 mins of this guys help. He really was a diamond, could of been worse if he wasn't so fast to help. All the staff I saw that day were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceystacey90
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to give such positive feedback. Pleased you enjoyed the occasion and that despite your sons minor mishap he returned to playing with the other children as soon as possible. Thanks again hope you return again soon and thank you for your recommendation. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

widnes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you value your health stay away from this place, its dirty and a hazard you your health. Staff are rude and have a can't be bothered attitude, the food is not the best (thank god their a local chippy up the road). Room was cold and no hot water. Wife seen a rat outside by the entrance.. won't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laugar
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest We have had no problems regarding hot water if we had it would not be one bedroom it would be a wing or all bedrooms. Its possible you may have been at the end of a wing ,at worse you needed to leave the tap on for a minute for it to come through and the heating all...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The single rooms smell of smelly workmen, its probably the reason it so cheap. The food needs some imagination, but its cheap and reflects in the price, I stay regularly for convenience, I just cannot fathom how any body wants to have their wedding reception here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgw825
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest One has to wonder if its so bad why you stay here regularly?.That's if you have stayed here at all. Looking at your three other " reviews" you rate them all as terrible. Would seem its difficult to attain your requirements anywhere you stay based on that. The bar food and the restaurant food are value against other...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice and comfortable suite. A few minor things needing attention. Food from restaurant - terrible. Basic dishes were very poor and inedible. A chicken breast and mash or chips are not gourmet food and should be in the repertoire of any basic chef hired for a kitchen! Got an upset stomach in the middle of the night, almost missing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H878
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sorry you were unhappy with your restaurant meal we would have been happy to have changed your meal if you required, presumably you never mentioned anything at the time. If you had we would have rectified any genuine issue. As there is nothing here name room number etc., i cant really investigate if this is genuine or not....

Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us stayed overnight and found the bedrooms very comfortable. Plenty of hot water according to my wife! Six of us had an evening meal and it was ok, but could have been better. Steak, half a tomato, one mushroom and chips! No peas, onion rings etc that you get in places like Wetherspoons. Onion rings extra! Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geraint H
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Sorry if your dinner was not to your expectations my apologies there. Pleased breakfast was fine for you and that you will return again when you are in the area. Thanks again. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Tintwistle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 39, an excellent four poster room with lounge space and a good work area. Wifi excellent as well as the staff. Room & Bathroom spotless, with plenty of hot water. The public area are very tired and need some TLC. 70's deco heavy on brass. All areas clean. Breakfast good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChefJDD
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your overall positive comments. I was pleased you found the Suite you were in comfortable and clean. We have ten Suites all different decor if you decide on a change on your next visit. I suppose the public areas are whatever your taste is really you either like it or you don't. The foyer has...

Reviewed 21 March 2017

Coming into the hotel was nice, such a nice atmosphere. The staff was so friendly and they looked very well after us the whole time, anything we needed, they took care off. The breakfast buffet was stunning, and a full english made by order wich was very nice and the waitresses were super friendly. The cleaning staff was super friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berglind B
gmhillcrest, Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words and it was so good that you enjoyed your time with us. I remember meeting in the bar and originally showing you some bedrooms. Hope to see you return in the near future. Thank you for your custom and thank you for mentioning the team. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We have visited a few times for a drink and had a meal.. A nice atmosphere and the staff are friendly. The food was nice. A friend was staying at the hotel and his room was very comfortable and he was very well looked after. He said the buffet Breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for him.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabriella422
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments pleased you enjoyed the food and you found the team hospitable. I was equally pleased your friend who stayed was also happy with the facilities and the team. Thank you for your custom ,i hope you return in the near future. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Uttoxeter, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I stay here regularly, it's basically clean, warm and comfortable with pleasant staff. The plumbing can be iffy with cheaper taps and some parts are alittle tired but they work hard to try and maintain it. So I choose here why, it's nicer than the "western travel lodge best inns" chains that proliferate and as it's my pocket, it's cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atardvark
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your overall positive views. Pleased you enjoy your time with us. Why not look at an upgrade on your accommodation on your next visit? Currently i am in the process of a refurbishment of the Executive bedrooms they wont have all their bits and bobs in for another couple of weeks however the key areas...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel ticks all the boxes. I stayed in a Suite for 5 nights and it felt like a home from home with a nice space to relax in the evenings. Finally, the back bone of this hotel is the great staff who are obliging around every corner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tommy F
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your complimentary feedback. It was good to read you enjoyed your five night visit to the Hotel and thank you for your custom. I hope you will select us for your accommodation requirements when you are next in the area. Thanks again Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
207 reviews
12.0 km away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
9.8 km away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes is a modern hotel ideally located for overnight stops for those en route to the Lake District or the South of England. Situated in a rural setting the hotel offers access to all motorway networks, bringing Chester, Manchester and Liverpool within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Address: The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Price Range: €45 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Forfar, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“main rd rooms are very noisy”
sgw825, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Four poster bed in many rooms and comfortable! Spacious bathroom!”
597gerainth, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites are very nice and have a ensuite balcony”
berglindb2017, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms used by family seemed quiet”
Camperjacky, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are some rooms only accessible by stairs so be careful to ask if you have any mobility problems.”
nicolaphillips70, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5