We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Taplow House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Taplow House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taplow House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 596: English reviews
England
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Friends gave us a gift of champagne afternoon tea at Taplow House and it was our first visit. We really enjoyed it, looking out over the park, there was a deer under the trees. There's a large terrace which would be lovely on a sunny day. The afternoon tea was delicious, excellent scones. It's an unusual looking building, internally a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne55England
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne55England Thank you for this lovely review on you visit to Taplow It’s hard to believe that you were at the same table as the above reviewer. I have passed your kind comments onto the Chef and the restaurant staff. We are on the road to refurbishing Taplow to its former glory, a long journey indeed!! We have a...

Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Dined with 3 friends on Friday...we try to meet up about once a month for a catch up and chose Berry's restaurant as our venue this time. Loved the easy parking and the stroll past the gardens to a very grand entrance with a gorgeous flower arrangement. The dining room is very splendid and we were greeted very quickly. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard B
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard B A fantastic review on you recent visit to Taplow House. I am delighted that you enjoyed you meal and that you found it to be simply delicious but even more pleased that you would return and encourage other to as well. So thank you again from all of the team Dave Seward General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

When you pay £180 for a room you do expect something for your money. What we got was a tiny room (I've stayed in larger in Central London and Paris for the same money or less) with a small double bed, dated, damaged furnishings and walls splattered with goodness knows what. When we approached the staff about changing our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karl G
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karl G, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your room with us was not up to your standard and that you found it too small. As a country house all rooms are of different size - a unique venue. I have noted your points about the furnishings and will make the housekeeping team aware....

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015

We had the whole wedding package for our daughter and son-in-law's wedding on 10th July 2015. Everything was wonderful from start to finish. Charlotte the wedding planner was extremely professional and very helpful. All the staff throughout were very polite and helpful. The wedding breakfast and evening BBQ were both delicious, we cannot thank the staff at Taplow House enough...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LJSL1
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review following your daughter’s wedding here at the hotel. I believe the staff do an incredible job and it is so rewarding for both myself and the team to receive such heartfelt comments. I shall certainly ensure your feedback is passed on to them. It is fantastic to hear that everyone had...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Taplow House Hotel is the epitome of a slightly faded country house hotel. The grounds could be lovely but are only looked after to the point of necessity and the hotel itself is a few years past its best. Creaking floors and doors are not necessarily a bad thing if they ooze charm but Taplow House is rather caught between...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morphaniel
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at Taplow. I am sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed with your stay. I have raised your comments regarding the service to our Food & Beverage Manager, who will be carrying out refresher service training with our team, as this is certainly not the norm here at the...

Burnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I booked Berry's restaurant for a Sunday lunch for 35 people and can definitely recommend it. Anna, who dealt with my booking from the start, was efficient and helpful and the hotel was happy to accommodate all my guests' different dietary requirements. The food was lovely and well presented and the wines (which Michael patiently helped me to select a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lizmb2015
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lizmb2015, What a lovely review, thank you very much for leaving this for us. I am so pleased to see that your birthday lunch was such as success and the team were on hand to guide you through the whole process with ease. I have passed on your lovely comments to both Anna and Michael, who were delighted. May...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Firstly, I enjoyed my time at this hotel. Nothing was done badly and the food was to a good standard. Evening drinks seemed to be expensive at £5 for a single whisky but maybe I just live in a cheaper part of the country? The grounds were neatly kept and on the sunny day I was there relaxing. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glug43
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glug43 Thank you for the lovely review in the main, and the 4 out of 5 score. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, your meal and the lovely improved gardens but disappointed and surprised that you say you would not return!? We have just last week had a new, faster, up-to-date wifi system installed into the hotel,...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We booked this for our honeymoon as it was in a fantastic location and the building looked stunning on Trip Advisor. We had initially booked into a double room but we're upgraded to the Hampton Room which over looked the grounds. We were not expecting that and it was a lovely surprise. The room was spacious with air con and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca H
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca Congratulations on your wedding and I am so pleased you chose Taplow House for your honeymoon. Thank you for the lovely feedback. I do apologise you felt your room was a little tired, we are beginning a refurbishment project on our carpets shortly. Thank you again for your review and for mentioning our lovely team. Please come back...

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

As guests at a family wedding we really enjoyed the whole 24 hour experience staying over on Saturday night and being the only guests in the hotel. The wedding meal was excellent and unusual diets all catered for. The late bar was thoroughly enjoyed and the rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are spectacular. Service was friendly throughout and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Benet2014
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience at Taplow House Hotel and particularly as guests of the wedding party who enjoyed exclusive use of the hotel. Hiring the hotel for exclusive use is certainly proving a very popular choice and is superb value! Thank you also for your wonderful comments regarding the...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Taplow House Hotel as a base for the Royal Ascot. Hotel nice enough although a bit dated. Room was very small but adequate. We were a fairly large group of 10 and the kitchen staff seemed to struggle to accommodate dinner on the two nights we stayed with the main course coming out after about an hour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoeRowton
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe Rowton, We are glad that you decided to use our hotel for your trip to Ascot, we are the perfect base to retire after a day at the races. Taplow House as it currently stands was built in 1751, it was designed to be a large country house so has you can appreciate all of our 32 rooms...

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
2.0 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
548 reviews
3.4 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
871 reviews
3.4 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.9 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#6 of 11 in Maidenhead
635 reviews
4.4 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: €134 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taplow House Hotel Buckinghamshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taplow House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Free parking. Not far from Maidenhead town centre.”
 of 5 bubbles BRENDASHEE, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front afford guests a lovely view of the gardens and the most beautifully knarled old tree I have ever seen.”
 of 5 bubbles johnsD8229BK, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the lovely garden”
 of 5 bubbles johne762, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Taplow Room - lovely terrace and overlooking the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles aburdettward, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles SimoneN307, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay