We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cliveden House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliveden House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliveden House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Once again we had the most wonderful evening meal in the Andre Garratt restaurant. We chose to have the tasting menu which was first class, well presented and of good quality with the accompanying wines for each course which complimented the meal perfectly. When we arrived we were greeted at the reception and taken through to have pre dinner drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank LesleyCHighWycombe
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

We are so pleased it was a much an enjoyed visit. Thank you for all you kind observations of the team and the general standards at the House. We will keep up the drive towards excellence until you are able to return, soon we hope. Kind regards Sue W More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

My husband booked my birthday lunch here in April 2014 and we began with champagne and nibbles in the lounge, however a few minutes later we were shown to our table and the nibbles didn't come through with our drinks. Lunch was a set menu choice of exceptional quality and couldn't be faulted. The chef piped happy birthday on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

So delighted that we are still in the forefront of your mind after all this time. We have debated whether to have music in the dining room but as the restaurant is so much busier these days we decided against it. I hope you will be tempted to return before too long and see all the completed refurbishment we have... More 

Uckfield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

Just returned (by helicopter!) from the most amazing weekend at Cliveden all organised by my wonderful husband as a birthday surprise! We arrived by helicopter and I was stunned by the beauty of the building and gardens from the air . Even more stunning at ground level. We were shown round the property and then ultimately to our amazing suite... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richy22
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

My goodness what a tremendous amount of thought your Husband put into the planning of your Birthday. Stylish and romantic what girl could ask for more. I am so pleased all the little details came together and that your had a Birthday to remember and we are delighted to have played our part in that. Kind regards Sue W More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

We returned to Cliveden following a disappointing stay last September. We had a fabulous time, this was a totally different hotel to the one we visited before. We spent a relaxing afternoon by the outside pool, the weather was superb but it was far from crowded. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms, which was excellent. Original features... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a second opportunity to show you the progress we are making at Cliveden House. We have been busy these past 12 months refurbishing and restoring all areas of the House and I am glad you have been able to see this refresh and to see have the service has moved in line. It is great... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We weren't staying at the hotel but rather went for an evening champagne cruise. The staff could not have been more helpful from the moment we arrived. We were transported from the hotel to the river & back as my mother cannot walk far. Rory & Ken were fantastic at helping everyone safely on & off the boat, telling us... More 

Helpful?
Thank VS69_11
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Our stretch of the river is called Cliveden Reach and is considered one of the prettiest spots on the Thames. I am glad Rory & Ken looked after you and it all made for a great trip. Thank you for your review. Kind regards Sue W More 

chicago
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We were traveling to Russia from the States and had a day layover layover in London. Rather than drive an hour into the city, we instead chose to stay at this lovely Relais and Chateau run peaceful oasis in the countryside. The estate is on hundreds of acres and is part of the national trust so there are many locals... More 

Helpful?
Thank cbreezedad
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for making us your Airport hotel of choice. Well perhaps more than that, but I am glad you could spend a relaxing couple of days with us and turn it into a Gourmet break. Since you have left us the Parterre Garden is looking even more colourful and your "Top tip" to book a Parterre Suite is a... More 

Level Contributor
418 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,090 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2015

My family have recently enjoyed a lovely weekend at Cliveden. It was a get-together for a birthday. We booked the Prince of Wales, Blackeney, Warrender, Sutherland and Buckingham suites..... all absolutely first rate.....tastefully decorated and furnished and without any nasty mini-bars to ruin what was the real feel of being a guest in one of the most famous, Grade 1... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BarryAscot
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

It was a great pleasure to meet you and your family during your recent stay. Thank you for noticing all the little details and for reflecting them in your review. It is always very much appreciated too when a member of the team, such as Ryan gets a special mention. He does a tremendous job of looking after our guests.... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Sat in the library and drank Champagne, looked out over the garden down to the Valley? All leafy etc, etc. Canapés arrive and there all ok. Not Waterside Inn standards, but ok. Service is good and attentive. Cliveden is amazing. The meal that followed in the busy dining room was ok. Not wow. Shame as that's what I had read... More 

Helpful?
Thank tesspaul6
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

So sorry to learn that you left us feeling less than delighted. We admire tremendously our industry colleges at the 3 Michelin starred Waterside Inn and we are very flattered to be compared with them.The Waterside is the very best industry bench mark having held their stars for 25 years, we can but aspire to be as good as them... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I was treated for lunch at Cliveden today. The hotel was fabulous and staff helpful. The food was just fantastic and I was even presented with a cup cake complete with candle. The only slight irritation was that my friend had asked for a window table on booking. That didn't materialise... We were told we could be moved when a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne M
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Wishing you a belated happy Birthday from all of us at Cliveden. I am so pleased you had a great lunch with us. Apologies for the lack of window table. We find ourselves in the impossible situation that with just 5 window tables we are unable to meet all the requests, but I do understand it is a disappointment when... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2015

This is an exceptional hotel. The history, the building and the staff are all fabulous. There were no faults here. A beautiful location for a special occasion . Dinner was excellent and the choice of wines and food was amazing. The gardens are magical, the decor historical. Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Nikijames
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Gosh, thank you for such a positive review, it makes all the hard work very worthwhile. The team have seen you comments and I know it makes them feel pride in a job well done. We will keep it up. We hope to have a second chance to look after you before too long. Kind regards Sue W More 

465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (427)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (164)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
6.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
9.4 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
29.6 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
527 reviews
3.4 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
715 reviews
3.4 km away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: €328 - €1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow
Cliveden House Taplow, Buckinghamshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliveden House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Barcelona
3 months ago
Worcester
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cliveden House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Floreat Cliveden, may all who sail within her be utterly, definativly decadent”
 of 5 bubbles ChDYquem, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only stayed here once so far, our room was front facing, very comfortable and had all the room you could wise for. I think any room would be of a good standard based on our experience. ”
 of 5 bubbles Happyquests, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room is brilliant...”
 of 5 bubbles chrisbridgwater42, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Suggest asking about which aspect you want (in other words, West facing or East facing for afternoon / morning sun)....”
 of 5 bubbles monaco_trotter, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Canning room was gorgeous!”
 of 5 bubbles PaulBendat, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay