We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Champneys Henlow

Expedia.comUS$161*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$166*
US$161*
US$166*
US$166*
US$161*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Champneys Henlow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Start your review of Champneys Henlow
 Click to rate
Coventry
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came to champneys henlow as a treat for my 40th birthday!! And what a treat it was! Everything about our trip was fabulous, the treatments, the pool area, the food, our room and all the staff we encountered!!! There's nothing else to say really! I could not recommend this champneys enough!! I can't wait to plan my next trip!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie B
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback and Happy Birthday! We are delighted that we were able to provide you with a pleasant experience and that you found the food, treatments and overall experience to to be excellent. Please do return very soon when we will do it all over again. Kind regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed there for one night which I think was more than enough. The building itself is beautiful and the gardens are gorgeous and very well taken care of. Inside however is another story. The place is very run down and tired. It is evident from the photos people took and posted here. It's very grubby and you can tell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie C
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that you did not have a satisfying experience with us. I am also alarmed about the description of our food simply because with our new Chef we have been having excellent reviews. None the less we take your comments on bard as our ultimate aim is to have all our customers satisfied....

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Treatments are really good and the staff are excellent and professional when it comes to respecting your modesty. Disappointed with breakfast as you need to pay extra for eggs, how ridiculous!!! Very little choice on the standard breakfast menu. Lunch was good and evening meal was excellent! Rooms are tired and dated and could do with a lick of paint,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that overall you stay with us was enjoyed. As we are already in the initial stages of our refurbishment very soon you will see major changes. Thank you once again and I go hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards,

Norwich
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited with two friends as day guests. We got a deal for £100 all day on a Saturday, including breakfast on arrival, lunch, thalassotherapy pool (usually £20) and a 25 minute treatment (up to £45) with full access to pool, classes etc. We used most of the facilities (pool, laconium, sauna, jacuzzi) and all were very clean. Thalassotherapy was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HayleyMace
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a lovely time with us and that you were able to have full use of the facilities. I do hope you will be vising us again very soon. Kind regards,

Northaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been here over half a dozen times for a Spa Day and will be back again. The treatments are very good and the place is warm and friendly with good classes available, I really enjoy the aqua aerobics, and have also enjoyed yoga and zumba when I have taken those classes The lunch is also pretty good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppet2011
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy that we were able to provide you with the regular Champneys' experience. It is always our priority to have all our guests leaving satisfied and as relaxed as possible hence I have taken your comments on bard and we will reexamine the the points you have highlighted. Thank you once again and...

S.E. UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

My 4th or 5th visit to Henlow but my daughter's first. There have been some changes since I last visited. Firstly you check in at the main Reception desk but although "breakfast" is still provided, you are no longer taken through your itinerary and paperwork by one of the staff members over coffee. Fortunately I knew where to go to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shadytree14
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed feedback. I am pleased that many aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and I do apologize for the areas where we fell short. I assure you that I have made note of the points you have mentioned and rest assured that we have already started to address some...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed on business and it was all outstanding especially the staff who were professional polite and friendly, I would happily stay again and no doubt will do before long, good location comfortable rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarin22
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that we were able to provide you with a very good experience. Please visit us again very soon when we will do just that again and much more! Kinds regards,

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been to Tring for a spa day so thought I try Henlow. The house is beautiful and the grounds, but some areas are a 'little worn' and could do with a lick of paint, new carpets and general upgrade. I was dissapionted in my massage as no music in the room as not working, relaxation room was too noisy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy that many aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction, and for the other areas I do apologize. I can confirm that we are in the initial phase of our refurbishment and hence very soon you will see great changes. I hope you will choose to visit us again in the future....

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a night with my wife. It was a great relaxing stay we were both looking for. The food and service in the restaurant was exceptional, although busy the team really coped well and delivered at every meal time. The facilities were clean and well maintained. the bedroom was to a high standard. Would not hesitate in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walterpand
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your brilliant review. I am delighted that we were able to provide you and your wife with a relaxing experience. We look forward to seeing you again very soon when we deliver another excellent experience!

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have wanted to stay at Henlow Grange for absolutely years and found the perfect opportunity when I needed to stay over night in the area for work. The check-in was smooth and I found my room easily. I was so dissapointed when I walked into my room and so relieved that I had made my booking through a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
Darren S, General Manager at Champneys Henlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the areas where we fell short but I happy that your overall stay was a pleasant one. I do hope you will decide to visit us again in the future. Kind regards,

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henlow
18.8 km away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,398 reviews
21.4 km away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
33.2 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,204 reviews
17.3 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,548 reviews
27.8 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Champneys Henlow

Address: Coach Road, Henlow SG16 6DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Henlow
Price Range: €138 - €576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Champneys Henlow 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champneys Henlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champneys Henlow Hotel Henlow
Champneys Hotel Henlow
Champneys Spa Henlow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Champneys Henlow staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Ann P Bedfordshire, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

Go for what you can afford: standard rooms are well-appointed. Spend extra on treatments. Head for the treatment area after booking in to see if there are any 'bargain reductions' and book them with your spare cash!

over a year ago
Harrow, United Kingdom
Bluemoon687 Cambridge, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

I have stayed in the main house rooms and the modern wing.

 

I would always recommend the superior weir/river view rooms. They're in the modern wing, very quiet, spacious and have lovely outlooks with sitting areas outside.

The main house rooms are grand and romantic, if that is what you want - but they are also further away from most of the facilities (and the most expensive).

3 months ago
over a year ago
Sahara_E2006 Berkhamsted, United Kingdom Property representative
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

Hello, here is the information on alcohol from Champneys FAQs page on the website:

Based on a review of current research, Champneys position on alcohol is that moderate alcohol consumption may well help many people live longer, healthier lives, but that excessive drinking can lead to health problems. At Champneys, our goal is to bring our lifestyle, our programmes, and our philosophy into everyday living; alcohol in moderation will be part of that for many residents and day guests.

Alcohol is served at the following times:

Room service – wine and champagne from 12pm-10.30pm. Lunch – only a glass of celebratory champagne at the table (no wine).

Dinner - No wine pre-dinner. Wine and champagne at the table. Glasses can be taken from the table after dinner. No bottles.

Private receptions – wine and champagne and other drinks can be served. Subject to the General Managers/Operations, rule of thumb 8pm until 10.30pm.

Please note our Champneys health spas are designed to be environments in which guests can begin to change their habits in just a few days. Designed to place people in a new context, they are encouraged and motivated to reflect on their existing lifestyle, and translate healthy thoughts into action by dropping, adjusting and adding new patterns and choices to their lives. We want to present all our resort guests with the healthiest possible choices, so that they can experience how good healthy living makes them feel.

over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
kathee156 Nantwich, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

My apologies. I've only just seen your comment. I'm sorry you were so ill too. I too was told my experience was a one off and that they adhere to the highest standards!!! I've also noticed other reviews more recently where people state the quality of food to be poor, fruit juice fermenting and food poisoning. I will never go back. I was so very ill. Richard (the manager) didn't even acknowledge my response his email asking me for more details.I just hope a health inspector pays them a visit soon. If it was a high street cafe it would have been closed down by now. It's as if the name Champneys makes everything OK - but it's most definitely anything but.

over a year ago
DJudith Cambridge, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Don't worry about that. He won't be the only man, there are couples at the place. My partner was worried too, but he felt great and had an amazing time in the end. :)

Have fun and enjoy it!

over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Champneys Henlow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have not stayed here, have only gone as a day guest to the Spa”
Poppet2011, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay”
U661RHannec, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Your choice”
G8773ALJanet, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pick a weir or garden view if you don't want to be overlooked by the courtyard.”
  • Upstairs bedroom with garden view
PatsyT618, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the old house lovely really luxurious”
jennyrobinson8, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$161* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$166
Hotels.comUS$161
TripAdvisorUS$161
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates