We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Watling Street Hockliffe, Dunstable LU7 9LZ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
US$46
View deal
Expedia.comUS$55
Booking.comUS$55
TravelocityUS$55
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 09/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Updated 09/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 8 in Dunstable
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A fresh approach to value hotels As a small chain of privately owned hotels, we understand what’s important when looking for overnight accommodation. First and foremost a good night’s sleep followed by a hot shower and a light complimentary breakfast, setting you up for the day ahead. This combined with well-appointed rooms, good facilities and a friendly service makes Redwings Lodges the traveller’s choice. We cater for the business traveller, families and visitors to the area. So wake up feeling refreshed at Redwings Lodge; we’ve got a comfy bed to rest your head. If you’re looking for somewhere quiet, convenient and comfortable to stay in Dunstable then you’re in the right place. Redwings Lodge Dunstable is ideal for visitors to Leighton Buzzard, Woburn Abbey and Whipsnade Zoo, The Grove Theatre in Dunstable, We’re located on the A5 Watling Street at Hockcliffe between Milton Keynes and Dunstable – just five minutes from M1 Toddington Services. Get in touch today to book your stay!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Sofa
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
335Reviews0Q+A82Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 113
  • 65
  • 31
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John l wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
Stayed at Redwings lodge as we were attending a wedding, the staff were amazing and could not do enough we had two rooms and had a slight issue with one of the tvs, which once pointed out to thre receptionist was rectified imediately. The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean with comfy bed and tea and coffee making facilities. The view from the room window was amazing as we could see accross the country side. We arrived back late from the wedding reception and was greeted by a very friendly hotel staff member who stopped for a chat asking had we enjoyed our evening. The breakfast in the morning was a help your selfe to cereals, toast , orange juice and yogurts which was just what we needed. There is a restaurant which offers full english but we were quite happy with the hotels Freebie. Will definately stay again when we are back in the area and we may bring our pet dog Charlie with us as we found out it is a pet friendly hotel. Basic simple budget hotel with amazing staff and clean comfortable rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel quiet away from the road
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Thank you John for leaving such a wonderful review, it is always wonderful to get positive feedback from our guests when they have enjoyed their recent stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the staff. We look forward to your next stay with us and your pet will be most welcome. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Lau8919 wrote a review Mar 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom47 contributions17 helpful votes
Where do I start……. Yellow/brown mattresses that were no thicker than a fence panel, rooms smell like egg/vomit/damp, lights were flickering, horrendous stench of weed, barking dogs (this is a dog friendly hotel though), dirty microwave, heating didn’t work. We informed the lady on reception and she said there was nothing she could do until the morning but went to our room and sprayed nearly a whole can of air freshener.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Go to a different hotel, premier inn 9 minute drive away.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 8 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback we value both good and bad feedback as both enable us to see the areas we excel in and the areas we can improve upon. We are aware you had 4 rooms for workmen staying with us and that one of the gentleman was not happy with his room as he thought it smelt slightly strange. He notified the hotel reception who unfortunately could not move him, that night but assured him he could change rooms the following day as we were full but did offer to go to the room to spray with air freshener, which she did although she could not smell anything wrong with the room. We are a pet friendly hotel and had two pets staying with us at the time of your stay. I apologise if the microwave was dirty but this is inspected by the reception staff after a guest has used it to make sure it is clean i will look into why this did not happen on this occasion. We are in the process of renewing some of our older mattresses , the receptionist would have willing moved you to a more suitable room the following day but you decided to leave and take your trainee workers with you. We are disappointed that you did not give the hotel a chance to rectify the situation for you, it is always a disappointment when guests leave not having enjoyed their stay with us as the hotel staff work extremely hard to try to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay, which we are happy to say 99% of our guests love staying with us and return time and time again, but unfortunately we were unable to accomplish this out come on this occasion. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Daniel O wrote a review Feb 2022
Lincoln, United Kingdom31 contributions8 helpful votes
Avoid unless you are happy with bare bones (and broken) facilities, ageing decor and poor service. Check-in was awful. Booked 2 rooms in a single transaction via booking.com, paid in full up front. Reception argued 2nd room wasn’t paid. I showed her my email confirmation, app screen and even downloaded an invoice proving both rooms paid. She spent a long time staring at her computer and repeatedly telling me only 1 room was paid. After 15 minutes my toddler was getting fed up and I asked for the 1st room key so we could sit down and I could call booking.com. Booking.com told me they could see on there system what the receptionist was doing wrong and they would call her to clear it up. Few minutes later the 2nd room key was brought to us with an explanation that it was a glitch with booking.com. So much time was spent telling me I hadn’t paid that the breakfast offer wasn’t explained. The next morning I couldn’t find any breakfast other than mugs and tea/coffee in the communal area alongside the microwaves. We decided to check out early and go for breakfast down the road at Harvester. Facilities were bare bones, the room was clean and had a kettle and tea/coffee supplies. There were plenty of towels but we had to ask for more pillows as only 1 per guest was provided. The rooms were visibly clean but the facilities are well aged. Towel rails for example warn you they will be hot, but in 1 of our rooms it was a normal rail about to fall off the room and in the other room it had a warning tag that it was disconnected “for our safety”. The floor in one of the bathrooms was spongy and felt like it was ready to give way. Good enough for a one night economy stay at £50 a night. Could have gained a star with better customer service and not arguing with a guest when there is clear evidence they were wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: If you do stay here, make a visit to Binn Hockliffe Smokehouse next door.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Thank you Daniel for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am aware there was a problem with one of your bookings which the receptionist tried to resolve for you and this was rectified immediately the problem was found. We wish that all our guests leave having had a pleasant stay with us an apologise if we were unable to achieve this on this occasion due to a booking error. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Neil L wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Firstly pulled on to car park to be greeted by a smelly old mattress dumped on the grass verge,we proceeded into the reception area which looked like it should be used for the local drug rehabilitation centre. All staff were nice but this is not enough to make amends,the room stank and was cold so I asked for another room which was warm and smelly.My TV remote didn’t work so 3 telly’s later we got a result, the place is a dump so avoid at all costs and if they dropped the bomb tomorrow living in a bunker would be a step up in my opinion.Breakfast bags what a joke if you gave them a child you’d be done for cruelty,the place needs flattening asap.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kelly P wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
IWe we’re absolutely disgusted to be told that this hotel would not accept a £10 Scottish note!!!!! The girl on reception said she would but her boss told her they are not accepted!!! Makes you feel completely stupid! Not a chance we will return here
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Thank you Kelly for taking the time to leave us your feedback, unfortunately at the time of your stay we were not accepting Scottish notes as there had been a lot of counterfeit notes circulating in the area so we chose not to accept them at that time. I am sorry this was not pointed out to you at the time of your stay. please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$48 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireDunstable
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Which popular attractions are close to Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Nearby attractions include Fly A Flight (4.2 km), Locked Escape Rooms (5.3 km), and Mead Open Farm (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rustico Italian Bistro, Amore Pizzeria, and Paris House.
Are pets allowed at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of St Mary the Virgin (5.1 km).
Is Redwings Lodge Dunstable accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.