We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#7 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,746 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,276: English reviews
ontario
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Colonial for two weeks ending in early February.Overall we had a good time but there were a few areas where this hotel came up short Two hours and 40 minutes after our plane touched down we were at the check in counter.So far so good!Unfortunately our room request was exactly the opposite of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank quique17
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear quique17, I would like to offer you my apologies for the incidents that you have had during your vacation with us. All request are subject to the availability of the resort and always we are trying to find the best option depending of the possibilities. Regarding the food, I will see this with our Executive chefs and Food &...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Just had a week in Paradise aka Kantenah in a Junior Suite!! Hotel was full, with 4000 guests, but it's so spacious you wouldn't have thought so. Hotel, grounds, pool, restaurants all immaculate. Staff friendly & helpful. Food: more than enough choices in the numerous buffets, snack bars & restaurants. This is a BIG resort ie more to it than...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rubieslippers123
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear rubieslippers123, It's a pleasure for me and for the rest of the team to know that you have had a great time with us. Thank you. With best regards, Banesa Burque Resident Manager

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My husband and I booked a one week stay at the Colonial for February 5-12 with our two children, ages 9 and 11. We had visited the Riviera side five years ago and stayed in block 68 (the southernmost block to be had on the resort and ages away from everything). This trip, we decided we wanted to be centrally...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank jamaicajen
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jamaicajen, I would like to give you thank you for share with us your complete review. I appreciate this information because it's help for improve our service every day. I will take note about all of your observations and I will analize this with the rest of the team. It will be a pleasure to have you with us...

london
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We just got back from two weeks all inclusive staying at the Kantenah (one of four hotels on this complex) We were upgraded to a junior suite on the top floor of three which wasn't a problem for us. The room was great and cleaned every day and mini bar restocked.... thanks to Silverio!! The resort is HUGE!! a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank zuccy123
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear zuccy123, I appreciate you time and your comments. The opinion of our guest it's very important for us. Please, don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything. Best regards, Banesa Burque Resident Manager

England
Reviewed 14 February 2013

There is not enough space to write all of the fabulous things about this complex. After a 4 hour delay, we arrived in the evening at the Grand Palladium Colonial and we were impressed from the minute we arrived. The hotel lobby was immaculate and check-in was fast. We were upgraded to a junior suite and we were given fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank NewlyweddEngland
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear NewlyweddEngland, In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for your good comments. Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything in the future. With best regards, Banesa Burque Resident Manager

Gouda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Because I was attending a seminar I stayed 4 nights in this all inclusive resort. I am not used to this kind of places and I was quite surprised of the quantity of everything. The pools, the restaurants, personell everything was there in huge quantities. Service is great, the rooms very large and very well equiped (jacuzzi). The surroundings very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kokkeeri
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kokkeeri, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to know that you didn't like the food. We always have chefs in the restaurants for help our guest with anything. Please, if we can help with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us. Sincerely, Banesa Burque Resident Manager

Michigan
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Third trip to this area, first time staying at the Grand Palladium...VERY disappointing...Rooms weren't ready for approx 2 hrs from the promised time...Upgraded to rooms with small double beds, room not cleaned (called and was told it would be done, but no one ever showed), food at the buffets was average (after a couple of days it was boring as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LakesiderMichigan
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LakesiderMichigan, I am sorry to know that you have left the resort with a bad impression. I would like to offer you our apologies and please, if we can help you with anything don't hesitate to contact with us. Cordially, Banesa Burque Resident Manager

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Overall the resort looms nice and is very clean. Disappointing are the Rooms and service. We travelled for a wedding in february. We specifically requesting a king bed, but were provided with two doubles. When we asked for another room..they stated they were full, but try again tomorrow as apparently people were checking out. When I asked the next day..again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drock99
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Drock99, I would like to offer you our apologies for the incidents that you have had during your vacation with us. All request are subject to the availability of the resort and I would like to comment that the Pillow Menu is a extra with specials pillows (cervical, etc..). If you change your opinion and you decide to visit...

Yorkshire, UK
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed January 15th - January 29th 2013. Jason First Choice Rep very helpful and informative and not at all pushy, always available for queries. Our room in the Colonial, third floor, block 5, view above the treetops. Good viewing of all the cheeky birds, lower floor may have been more restrictive as very jungle like environment. Room clean and totally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JalexYorkshire_UK
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you JalexYorkshire_UK for taking time to share with us and other readers your comments about your vacation. It's a pleasure to know that you have had a great time here with us. Best regards, Banesa Burque Resident Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed at this resort for a wedding in February 2013. After a private transport from Cancun International, we arrived to the resort after about 1 hour transfer time. Helpful bellboys who tag your cases and organise your golf buggy transport to your room once you check in. Check in was nice and easy, usual forms to fill, passports, having your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tim g
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you tim g for taking time to share with us your opinion. Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything. Best regards, Banesa Burque Resident Manager

7,216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6045)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1463)
Viewed
Room/Suite (471)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1315)
Viewed
Dining (414)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
View from Room (79)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Other (2079)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (1145)
Viewed
Ambassador Suite (118)
Viewed
Amenities (342)
Viewed
Beach (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite Double (76)
Viewed
Los Rocas Saltwater Pool (31)
Viewed
Main Pool (40)
Viewed
Mayan Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (284)
Viewed
Secret Pool (Adults Only) (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Waterpark Kids Pool (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.5 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
10.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
9.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
9.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#9 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Price Range: €218 - €515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
583 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (583)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“email them a few days before got what we wanted”
 of 5 bubbles 214travellers, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for White Sands”
 of 5 bubbles miss_steph86, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mayan Suites and Junior suites are in a good location”
 of 5 bubbles CCK42, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a Junior Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles mike1526, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“look at hotel map to find a building closer to your preferred activities, otherwise you'd be short on time hopping between them.”
 of 5 bubbles lexa, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay