We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal

Save
Share
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250 Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$183
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/10/21
ZenHotels.com
US$167
View deal
BahiaPrincipeUS$183
Priceline
getaroom.comUS$190
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (15620)
360
Panoramas (15)
Pool & Beach (3856)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Bay View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
12758Reviews4389Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7,782
  • 3,055
  • 1,039
  • 478
  • 406
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sidney H wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Although the majority of the staff was kind, my wife and I were not happy with our stay. The front desk staff was not accommodating at all and that was very unfortunate. I planned a trip for my wife's 40th bday, I wanted everything to go perfectly. I originally book at the other property but that ended up closing. I booked a king room at the original stay, because of this change I was promised a king suite with ocean front view. When we arrived we were told all of those rooms were book and we were given other options but nothing was done (not even an apology for this mistake given). I asked the front desk manager, Brain, what he would do if what he booked and expect was given to him, he said "I would take whatever I was given" I found that to be so disrespectful. I come from a service background myself, my father in law was a GM for Hilton properties for years and I know from both accounts how hard service can be dealing with people. My wife and I kept our cool and expected some measure of accountability and recourse to be taken to make up for not getting what we were suppose to have for our stay. After all was said and done we had to explain to Brian that if he started with an apology that would have gone a long way. He basically told us that he had to check the facts first with the person who booked us. That level of service is unacceptable. We showed him email exchanges of what we were promised and he actually said that room type isn't guaranteed! I have never heard of anything more ridiculous! This is suppose to be a luxury property - we had a runny toilet that we had to fix each day ourselves, stains on our sheets, a fridge that didn't work, etc. We even booked and were quoted price for a lobster dinner and two days later were called and told that the price went up bc the lobster that came in was larger than expected. When mistakes like this happen - you start with an apology. "Mr. & Mrs. Haugabrook - I'm sorry there was some confusion and a mistake with your booking. Although we can't give you the room you should have gotten, would you allow up us to make it up to you?" They could have given us a free couples massage at the spa, a nice bottle of champagne, and a discount on our overall stay! That is the level of service that was needed. It wasn't until I went back to the front desk the day before we left that we were given a discount, but it wasn't given - we had to fight for it! At that point- you lost of business and our respect to patron Bahia Principe. I have emailed their customer service, resort and management with no reply. When I call customer service I was told there was no manager to speak to and she could not give out names over the phone. This has been a terrible customer service experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Gwendolyn L wrote a review Yesterday
New York City, New York7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
What a horrible place I would never go back there again the place was not only filthy but a lot of the things in the room didn't work I had to change rooms not once but twice and both rooms were disgusting
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
313Rina wrote a review 20 Sep
Mississauga, Canada13 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed there Sept. 11-18 and had a really nice vacation. I am rating it as Very good and not Excellent because of the rocky beach ( nobody's fault, just nature), the empty 24 hour bar, and the "luxury" that is in the name, but does not exist in reality. The property is beautiful, the grounds well kept, area around the pools clean and maintained relatively well. The hurricane that hit them recently ruined the beach, and combined with the Covid crisis made things not that good - some bars are still closed and there are areas that need improvements. We have been at the Bahia resort before( 2015), we stayed at Sian Ka'an, but spent the evenings at Akumal and it was amazingly good. We didn't have problems with the rooms, they had comfortable beds, were cleaned regularly, fresh towels distributed every day, fridge stocked with beer, water, chips and cola every morning, everything functioned well and the only thing I would recommend is screen doors for the balconies. Food at the buffet was plenty, we liked most of it and always found something different to try. Most of the servers tried their best to follow our drink requirements. It was difficult to reserve a-la-carte restaurants, I would recommend to do it on your first day there. We visited only two of them - Don Pablo and Tequila, both at the Tulum hotel. We were very satisfied with both of them. Don Pablo offers food presented in contemporary ways, and we loved all of it. Tequila is more of a buffet style, more Mexican style food with the best Margaritas we ever had! I want to thank you our pool server, Kenia, for patiently delivering our drinks day after day and always doing it with pleasure. Coffee shop - truly enjoyed every morning and afternoon - the sweets there are so delicious and we didn't miss any day not having them. Little things like the fresh mexican food by the pool/beach at lunch, the cart going around with ice cream, vegies, other treats, even the special drinks for which you had to pay, were nice addition and brought excitement. Entertainment team - hard working, always talking to people, following the advertised schedule. Maya, Andrea, Alejandro and Mr. Lopes (yoga) keep up the good work! The shows were good also, but we liked the mariachi, and other bands they had outside, under the clear sky, by the pool, the best. PCR test - for 125 US we did it in the medical office at the Hacienda. Everything was fine, got the results in 24 h, as they told us. There was also a place at the hotel's lobby where they did it, but there always seem to be a lot of people and we did not want to wait. Beach is ok, but if you want to go in the sea, you need water shoes, as it is very rocky and uncomfortable to walk. We saw every day people working there to improve it, cleaning the sea weed, and even removing some rocks from the bottom. We went to Tulum to see the situation there and it was much more intense - they take your temperature everywhere, also we did not like their pool area since there were no palm trees, no shade and with the strong sun and white floor our eyes hurt even with sunglasses on. We loved Akumal's main pool way better. We also went to see other pools - the infinity pool and the other pool, but stayed mainly where the action was. Overall we had a relaxing and enjoyable vacation there, and although not everything was perfect, we were happy with our choice. But if you are used to luxury and don't want to compromise it, Akumal might not be the place for you at the moment. I want also to mention that we were impressed how diligent the staff was about wearing their masks, and disinfecting and cleaning the common areas, and this made us feel safe in this crazy Covid situation. I would highly recommend the hotel, and would go again if I have this opportunity in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay in our hotel. It is great to read this amazing review regarding the service received during your previous stay at our hotel. Our mission is to exceed our guest´s expectations and we are glad to know that again we accomplish this goal with you. Your comments help us to take the necessary measures to improve the services in the areas mentioned; we will share this review with our entire team in order to let them know where we need to work harder. In other hand we are thrilled to read you love the personal attention of our staff and the variety of food and drinks our hotel offers. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.akumal@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, it will be wonderful to say hello to you again! Our best regards from Mexico, Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
José Z wrote a review 15 Sep
Las Condes, Chile2 contributions1 helpful vote
The food and room service really good quality. The bad and worst thing is that 3 days before we arrived I recieved a mail where I could do my express check in. I tried to do it but the web page did not work, I tried it for about 5 times different days and it didn't load. The check in mail was optional (not mandatory), it was for reserving restaurants and other activities the hotel offers. As I couldn´t make my web check in, I just arrived to the lobby the first day and surprisingly my reservation was canceled! I had paid before the 10% of the hotel. They gave me another room for the week that was not the Front Ocean view Deluxe I had booked before. So please be careful, they cancel your reservation without any notice and give you room to any other guest. The app they have for booking restaurant or activities does not work! Restaurants are always full in the app and you cannot make reservationes, when you get to the restaurants they always have space for more people. The best of the hotel is the PGA Riviera Maya Golf course, impressive! We used to go to the adults swiming pool, but there was always a disrespectful guy that put a speaker on the corner of the pool listening reggeton as laud as it was possible. I think next time I will book the hotel in the golf area that now was closed due Covid. Definetly I will not come back to Luxury Akumal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: 66XX Villa is the one with best view
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention. Allow us to inform you that we manage around ten different seating times for dinner which allow our guest to enjoy the restaurants according to their preferences in times, unfortunately every seating has a limited amount of guests as the restaurants cannot be filled completely in order to provide a very unique experience with personal attention. Some of the restaurants as well may look empty as not all of our guests attend their dinners due to unexpected activities during their holidays; sadly this is something we cannot prevent since we are not informed in most of the cases about their attendance. We once again apologize for the impression you have about this service. We will very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future to restore the confidence in our chain by writing us a mail of your requests and wishes a few weeks before arrival and it will be our pleasure to help you in the best possible way. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.akumal@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay Best Regards, Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Cristina K wrote a review 11 Sep
Madrid, Spain8 contributions4 helpful votes
Worst hotel ever, and I travel a lot. Came here with friends. Workers not helpful at all, all-inclusive but can’t reserve at any restaurant at night because they say it’s all full and when you go to the restaurant they are empty (it’s a trick to send you only to the buffet), buffet and room service is just pizza burger and fries, pool bars closed or out of service, rocky beach, saw two cockroaches at the room, any request you ask to employees the answer usually is “no” “it’s impossible” “we can’t do it” etc etc. It’s a 3 star hotel. Food quality is just horrible. Employees rude and powerless. Dated rooms. No amenities at all inside the room… I mean, just like a hostel… and the trick is the “all inclusive” thing but they only offer to you burgers pizza and bad quality food. Avoid it. Any other hotel at the Riviera Maya is way better than this Bahia Príncipe…
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid coming to this hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, It was a great honor to host you during your visit in Mexico and thank you so much for taking the time to share your personal perceptions! We are very concerned about the situations you are reporting us, the management and staff at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal is committed in providing an ambiance which satisfies our guests requirements, furthermore we take great attention in ensuring that our guests feel secure and welcome throughout their vacation experience. We really regret we could not create this impression during your visit to our hotel. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced in the a la carte restaurants, buffet and room service. Your concerns will be clearly discussed with the responsible of the Food & Beverages department, so they can take the necessary measures to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. Allow us to inform you that we manage around ten different seating times for dinner which allow our guest to enjoy the restaurants according to their preferences in times, unfortunately every seating has a limited amount of guests as the restaurants cannot be filled completely in order to provide a very unique experience with personal attention. Some of the restaurants as well may look empty as not all of our guests attend their dinners due to unexpected activities during their holidays; sadly this is something we cannot prevent since we are not informed in most of the cases about their attendance. We once again apologize for the impression you have about this service. In Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts we believe that it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction, and the quality of service that we strive for. Be assured that our hotel will never cease in its efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided. Thank you again for offering us the opportunity to learn from this experience through your comments shared. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.akumal@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Our warmest regards!! Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$125 - US$669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe akumal, bahia principle, bahia principe mexico, gran bahia principe hotel akumal, mexico bahia principe, bahia principe tulum, grand bahia principe akumal, bahia principe riviera maya, bahia mexico principe, akumal gran bahia principe, gran bahia akumal, hotel bahia principe, bahia principe akumal mexico, akumal bahia principe, bahia akumal
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaAkumal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
758
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Nearby attractions include Akumal Beach (4.3 km), Akumal Natura Rescue (6.9 km), and Cenotes Sac Actun (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taverna Akumal, Turtle Bay Cafe & Bakery, and Loncheria Akumalito.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.