We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Special Price
Stay longer. Save more.
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Fromagerie Montebello
    1.2 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed 8 February 2016
Lovely historical Resort Property
My wife & I stayed for a night in January 2016 as we... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,724 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,313: English reviews
Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife & I stayed for a night in January 2016 as we experienced the true French Canadian resort and small town of Montebello. The hotel was kept well for such and old place - a large French Canadian Log Structure. It was delightful to reflect back on times of great grandeur in early 30's and 40's as many of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 255parkerk
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to shear your feedback 255parkerk. It is always a pleasure to read! Geneviève

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My partner and I spent two days here in January, mid-week. Whilst the location is, of itself, quite impressive, there were various issues which rather took the gloss off. Firstly - the room. The best way to describe it is 'tired'. There were odd bits of dust around, on horizontal surfaces like skirting boards (some but not all, so cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel T
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you Noel T for your honest feedback. I am sorry that your experience was not to your liking, and your feedback is valid and will be shared with the team. Obviously our team is not pressured to upsell, but rather be proactive to our guests needs and ensuring we are attentive to their comfort. It is part of our...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 7 February 2016

It took me a while to "get" Fairmont hotels in general but I am starting to develop quite an appreciation for the brand and its unique loyalty program (unfortunately, probably at the worst possible time given the potential acquisition by Accor). I stayed 18 months ago at Le Chateau Montebello and found it ok, but not necessarily worth it. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ottwatrvllr
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing ottwatrvllr! It is a pleasure to read and I am delighted that you have enjoyed it. You do have valid feedback and we always read all guests and share with our team so we are taking every comment in consideration. The gym for example has been remodeled, but we are now looking for new...

Markham
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Grounds, hotel and other buildings are great. If the weather cooperates it's a great place summer or winter. Unfortunately it was unseasonably warm and dog sledding, horse sleigh rides, ice fishing all cancelled!!! Which is why we went. Some of the decor is a bit "tired" looking but the ambience is great, loved sitting in the lobby by the fireplace....

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 264charlie12
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

264charlie12, thank you for your valid comments, and you are right, we do have a disappointing winter... It has been a challenge every week! I am glad to say that we are working on a renovation plan for the future Château Montebello to address the ''tired'' look. Our pet fee is indeed for the additional cleaning, as it is absolutely...

Reviewed 5 February 2016

Amazing! The archetecture is just beautiful inside. I love the location on the river and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The spa was amazing and my husband and I were surprised by the Spa manager, by giving us the couples retreat room for a couples massage. Very Surprised. Its very delightful and we will return in the Summer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

I am glad to read your feedback Kimberly W! I will pass-on your comments to our team with pleasure! Geneviève

Hawkesbury, Canada
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Our stay at the Hotel and the service from Banquet Services was excellent. We always have gourmet Gala diners for our AGM. Chateaux Montebello was an excellant choice and we recomend you make it your first choice for an individual or a group. The Chateau Montebello provides a complete pleasurable experience. We will be back for our AGM in 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rene B
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Merci Rene B for your feedback! It was indeed a great AGM... Geneviève

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Wow, everything we expected and more. Lots of seating throughout the hotel to enjoy the wonderful fireplace. Front desk staff were awesome. Spacious room (401 on Champlain Wing) small window with view of lake but lots of lighting. Room was clean, comfortable and cozy, with the rustic feel we were expecting!! Bar fridge, Kurig and a kettle. We enjoyed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeMichele85
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you so much Mike C for sharing! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. Geneviève and the Montebello team

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We spent three days over Christmas at this wonderful hotel/resort. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The activities numerous, skating, xcountry skiing, snow shoeing, curling, squash, a gym, swimming pool and many hiking trails. Along with all the activities, there are many areas with comfortable seating around the big central fireplace where one can read, have a drink or just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnOttawa_Canada
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to read your comments lynnOttawa_Canada! Christmas is really a special time of the year at Montebello and we are sure glad that you have enjoyed the experience! I must say that there are many wonderful times of year here, and summer is also a must see and stay. Hope to see you soon! Geneviève

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Activities we were looking forward to were canceled due to RAIN IN FEBRUARY!...go figure. Snowmobile, dog sledding were a no go. However a gorgeous hike through the adjoining golf course made up for it. Be careful not to damage the groomed ski tracks. Had to move to another room, TV didn't work. Staff assistance was excellent. Tried to arrange couples...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnp4419
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you johnp4419 for your kind review! It is a shame to see our non winter this year... Hopefully this will change. Your valid comments will be shared, and I am sorry that we did not had enough newspapers. This will be addressed. We tried to order the minimum amount not to waste paper, but it seems that it might...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 30 January 2016

This property is a former cp hotel and definately a destination resort. It's style - a vastly oversized Canadian ski chalet - is stunning. The winter activities are great - skating tubing, cross country skiing, and dog sledding and sleigh rides (if arranged). The food is good. On the other hand it was staggeringly expensive - over $400 for one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fatima1958
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you Fatima1958 for sharing. We are in the process of preparing our next phase of renovation to address those specific comments. It will be a nice improvement. I will be sharing your feedback with our team. Thank you and hope to see you again soon! Geneviève

979 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (729)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (201)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (281)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (89)
Viewed
Fairmont King Room (29)
Viewed
Fairmont Two Double Room (27)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Signature Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
27.4 km away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
18 reviews
39.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
1.2 km away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
79 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Petit Chateau
Le Petit Chateau
#3 of 5 in Montebello
7 reviews
1.7 km away
Au Parfum des Saisons
Au Parfum des Saisons
#2 of 5 in Montebello
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Price Range: €163 - €320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a quiet area as walls are paper thin.”
 of 5 bubbles familyof3diningspree, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter and end of the halls will have no foot traffic”
 of 5 bubbles johnmZ7968IT, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book early and ask for a view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles Dsharpe6Degrees, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the basement level don't offer a lot of natural light, but they may be the only rooms with the jacuzzi tubs.”
 of 5 bubbles debrandi, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Prepare yourself if no heating in your room”
 of 5 bubbles mtlcouple2, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5