We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,361: English reviews
Start your review of Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
 Click to rate
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved the lobby and the overall feel of the property. Having the resort fee which covers so many activities and equipment rentals is great. Some improvement is warranted where it comes to availability of food during the day. You have a choice of a few platters in the lobby or sit in a giant restaurant which is empty. Also, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marientoronto
Belleville, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We just returned from a couple of wonderful days filled with ambiance, warm fires, amazing food and great service. From our arrival until departure it was a great holiday that exceeded our expectations in every way. There are a multitude of activities for all ages. We did not realize it was school break, and many families were with their children...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian S
About Hotel's Favourite Review
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing Brian S! We do have a wonderful place, and glad you have enjoyed it! Geneviève

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I (mid 20s) stayed at Chateau Montebello for 2 nights on our way to Mont Tremblant. We enjoyed our stay even though the weather hadn't been great so the snow was very hard and icy. Still took advantage of the cross country skiing, skating and the great pool. Mostly used our time there to relax, play backgammon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PetryZ
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were only there for 2.5 days but we really enjoyed it. Went with our 2 kids at the end of March (age 2 and 5). We got a free upgrade so our room was very spacious (pull out sofa plus 2 beds so it was a big sitting area beyond the beds). Bathroom was kinda small...very clean but smelled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irenechef
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing irenechef! I am glad you have enjoyed it. Geneviève

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a place we as a family have returned to for decades. It has old world charm and warmth. The food is very good, if not overly imaginative, and there are plenty of things to do -- from cross country skiing to swimming, horseback riding, and racquetball. They allow dogs too, which is a huge bonus for us as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to read such reviews! Thank you Suzanne E! Geneviève

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stay at the Chateau Montebello a couple of times a year, at least. It is close to both Ottawa and Montreal, offers a unique indoor and outdoor experience and thus is very attractive as both a convenient family getaway and for business conferences and retreats. However, the Chateau has suffered from various forms of overcharging, cheapness...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robpink
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

I appreciate your honest feedback robpink. I simply want to drop a line or 2 about our resort fee. We started with this 3 years ago after hearing from all guests that we have plenty of activities on site however no-one liked to dig in their pockets for such, same for parking and Internet. We then bundled ALL non-motorized activities,...

Lindsay, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Were just staying one night as we were passing through the area. Driving up to the Chateau Montebello was impressive but walking in was even more so. The main lobby area was warm and inviting and our room matched. Used the pool area, skated under the moonlight and had a drink around the magnificent fireplace. We both felt we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you so much Ted D for sharing! We too hope to see you again. Geneviève

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Some reviews state that this hotel has not been upgraded I personally would not want any upgrades done. When I chose this destination, I was looking for rustic chic and this is what this hotel has to offer. I booked a brunch for 70 people to celebrate my Mother's 80th birthday and I stayed overnight too. The food was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily_Cattelan
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing Emily_Cattelan! I am so happy to read your message! I am glad that you have all enjoyed your stay and Brunch with us. I will send our maintenane team to paint #423! Geneviève

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hubby and I booked two nights at Chateau Montebello about a month and a half ago for a stay the end of March. Figured it would give us something to look forward to during the cold months of February and March. Unfortunately the weather was really nasty while we were there, but if we could choose anywhere to hunker inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet1016
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

I love reading your review Janet1016! This is exactly what Montebello is all about. Glad you have enjoyed! Geneviève

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort is beautiful, staff is very knowledgeable, and the food is amazing! I had a lovely romantic weekend with my husband. There are many activities to take part in during the winter and summer. We really enjoyed sitting by the fire with drinks and an appetizer. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbogdan33
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you mbogdan33! I am glad you have enjoyed it! Geneviève

1,079 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (783)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (209)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (296)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (89)
Viewed
Fairmont King Room (29)
Viewed
Fairmont Two Double Room (27)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Signature Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
27.6 km away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
18 reviews
39.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
1.3 km away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
81 reviews
1.8 km away
Au Parfum des Saisons
Au Parfum des Saisons
#1 of 5 in Montebello
36 reviews
34.5 km away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Price Range: €194 - €340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Join the Fairmont President's Club to get free wifi. The best rooms are in the wing which leads to the pool, spa and fitness facilities.”
robpink, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are beautiful.”
Janet1016, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms at the far end of the wings are larger and quieter.”
Chovinsky, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wifi only if you have the President's club.”
Mariean, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the river are nice. Join the President's club and get reasonable room upgrade prices.”
BrianS951, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5