We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Birchville Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nipigon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Birchville Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Birchville Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Fowler, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed here on our way around Lake Superior on the motorcycle and were not disappointed. The rooms were spotless and the proprietor gave us some great suggestions for places to eat. We didn't get to the office for food and coffee in the morning because we left early, so I can't comment on that (although there is coffee in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Had booked after reading Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Always a little hesitant when booking without seeing but turned out to be a nice, clean and cozy place to stay. Very personal small eight room motel with a friendly owner. Good place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RVL4
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 11 August 2016

this was our second stay at Birchville Motel, our last being several years ago and what a delightful experience. The place has certainly being upgraded since our last visit the rooms were nicely painted, the bathroom had been upgraded. We had a room with a kitchen and as we spent a few weeks there this was a nice facility to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tkaschk
Bettendorf, Iowa
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We had six bikes in our group riding around Lake Superior. We all had clean comfortable rooms. We were able to park our bikes just outside of our room. The owner helped us with what ever we needed. I would recommend this motel to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
Onamia, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We were doing the Superior Circle tour on motorcycles. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. The owner was extremely nice and helpfully. She gives you a map of the area and tells you were its good to eat. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank topager49
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We will definitely stay if in the area again. Owner so friendly and accomodating. Room spacious and clean....everything you need for a home away from home, including a well stocked kitchenette. A++++++

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlene M
Thornhill, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Motel management made an effort to create attractive green oasis around hotel so you feel cozy regardless of highway noise. Each room has kitchenette will stove, all utensils, fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle. Beds are good. Bright light in the bathroom; no hair drier though.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ValeriaP335
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are so glad you were comfortable. Just a note to let you know that not all our rooms have a kitchenette - we are working on upgrading our existing kitchenettes and also trying to figure out how we can give our other rooms some space for a kitchenette as well. We do have...

Ste. Anne, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Room was clean however there was a lot of humidity in our room. Carpets felt damp. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was clean as well. Owner was nice to leave the door unlocked for us cause we got in after office closed. Key and receipt were waiting in the room :) Would stay here again for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalamela1982
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you would consider staying with us again. My apologies for the humidity in the room but unfortunately that is an issue beyond our control. Our air conditioners help with the humidity but unfortunately using them is not an option when temps are low.

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Modest roadside motel. Super clean with extremely helpful staff. Basic accommodations but in great condition and priced right. Refrigerators in room. Perfect for a quick stop on a loop around Lake Superior.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris P
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for such a positive review!

Montpelier, Vermont
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Lodging choices in Nipigon are limited, and we were disappointed that nearly all of them were strung along a busy highway instead of nestled in the quiet downtown. But when ya gotta stop, ya gotta stop. We were glad to get the last room here and not have to press on in bad weather after a long and tiring drive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolDM1900
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you felt welcome and comfortable and hope your trip is/was memorable.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipigon
0.0 km away
Northland Motel
Northland Motel
#5 of 8 in Nipigon
34 reviews
0.0 km away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#6 of 12 in Wawa
198 reviews
0.0 km away
Country Cozy Bed & Breakfast
Country Cozy Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 14 in Thunder Bay
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Birchville Motel

Address: Hwy 17, Nipigon, Ontario P0T 2J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Nipigon
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Birchville Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Birchville Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in unit 7 saw 8 was the same”
 of 5 bubbles versatile1, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book in advance! Small hotels on the TCH fill quickly.”
 of 5 bubbles RevRaz, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I believe that they are in the process of upgrading further rooms, but those I saw were all in ahold condition.”
 of 5 bubbles tkaschk, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This motel is right on a highway but still the noise was not at problem.”
 of 5 bubbles DebDooley, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If travelling with children I think room 6 would be best.”
 of 5 bubbles darlenem323, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5