We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Sir Sam\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 292: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Visited the inn over Thanksgiving weekend to celebrate my birthday and will certainly not be returning. Very overpriced for the quality provided. Good points: Our room in the Northwoods section was very nice with a good view and the spa / pool area was bright and very relaxing. We enjoyed a lovely dinner the first evening. Timed the visit perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AJCanada96
Jedirider, Owner at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this review

Hello AJ, Thank you for visiting Sir Sam’s Inn and WaterSpa, over the Thanksgiving weekend and a very happy birthday to you. I am very happy to hear your family truly enjoyed our recreational facilities and found your Northwoods accommodations cozy and well maintained. The view, especially during the height of the fall colors, and being steps to the lakefront...

Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We booked this place last minute after reading some favourable reviews and for the most part we were not disappointed. Rooms were a little dated but very cozy, wood fireplace, loved it! View of the lake from our room was amazing. We took advantage of the pool as soon as we arrived, enjoying the spa like atmosphere. The food the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrazyLee42
Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We arrived on Friday Nov 11 and were greeted by the hostess and of course her name eludes me. She gave us a tour and advised our room was ready. We reviewed the room and were happy with the view and the accommodations. We toured and got ready for a dip in the pool. The water was warm (not hot)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevheath
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Gracious hostess Deb and amazing Chef Dave make having a meal at Sir Sams Inn an incredible event! We have never been disappointed. A trip down the spiral stairs to the wine cellar is a must, but we have never been steered wrong with Debs outstanding suggestions for wine pairing. Unique and tasty dishes that reflect the season are always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRAZYWILSONS
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent the day at Sir Sam's Inn while celebrating our anniversary. We each had a massage, enjoyed the water therapies and stayed for dinner. They only have one RMT so we had to have back to back massages. We were only given one robe at first, and told that we could come back for another one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SheilaLastname
Fernando M, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this review

Good day SheilaLastname, First off allow me to thank you for coming in to use our day spa, and stay for dinner. I was sad to read your spa treatment was disappointing. We actually receive quite a few compliments about this particular therapist. So unfortunately all I can do is say I am sorry we did not meet your expectations....

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Hubby & I stayed here over Thanksgiving for the first time and we were disappointed. The area is beautiful, especially with the fall colours on display but that was the best part of the trip. Our room in one of the out buildings was an odd mix of '80s prefab furniture and a couple of antique type pieces, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 91msp
Fernando M, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this review

Good day 91msp, Thank you for staying at Sir Sam's Inn & Spa. I was disappointment to here that dinner was not to your liking. I can assure you that the turkey nor the stuffing came out of a can. Due to the large amount of guests we had over the weekend. Our Chef actually de-boned whole turkeys and compressed...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016

There are elements of any weekend getaway that contribute to the quality of the experience. At Sir Sam's Inn, I would say that they have managed to put them all together. Location: The inn is located about 2-3 hours drive from Toronto (depending on the traffic as you escape the city's nightmarish freeway system), on a quiet, sparsely populated lake,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steveston78
Fernando M, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this review

Thank you steveston78, It was a pleasure to host both of you at Sir Sam's Inn & Spa. We concur that the beauty of the location with the lake and hills is simply second to none. I am glad the team took care of the two of you throughout your stay as we work on a daily basis to make...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Great meals, lovely view overlooking lake and Autumn fall colours. Kayaking at dawn. Hiking around the area and return to relaxing indoor pool and wonderful meals. There are also some indoor activities such as ping pong and games if rainy day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kflan1963
Fernando M, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this review

Good day kflan1963, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Sir Sam's Inn & Spa. We are truly blessed to be in such a beautiful part of the province. At the base of Eagle Lake surrounded by hills and trees and with the added component of the sun setting daily directly in front of the Inn...

Hanover, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Rooms were awesome. I say rooms as we stayed for a couple of nights last weekend and were so impressed we returned 4 days later for an additional single night stay. Eagle Lake is gorgeous. We loved kayaking around the islands and through the narrow passage to Moose Lake. The rooms and staff were awesome. Kyla, John & Renee rock....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterDarian
Fernando M, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this review

Thank you peterDarian, We appreciate the feedback about your stay. Thank you for your patronage of Sir Sam's Inn and Spa. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves so much the first time you choose to return. I will pass on you kind words to Kyla, Renee and John. Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend. Regards, Fernando M f.morales@sirsamsinn.com

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2016

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Sir Sam's Inn and Water Spa (Sept 26-28). What a great place. From the moment we walked in to the (wonderfully late) checkout we were welcomed by the staff and made to feel at home. The water spa was amazing! What a treat after a morning of hiking or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mitch B
Fernando M, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this review

Thank you MitchB, It was our pleasure to host the two of you at the end of September at Sir Sam's Inn and Spa. I am so glad you got to enjoy some of our waterfront activities. As for the team they make me proud daily going above and beyond to try and make each and every one of our...

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Lake
14.5 km away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
16.1 km away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
202 reviews
22.4 km away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
48 reviews
29.6 km away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
105 reviews
25.4 km away
Sunny Rock Bed and Breakfast Minden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location. Sir Sam's Inn & Spa is an adults-oriented resort nestled in the Haliburton Highlands right in the heart of cottage country at the base of Eagle Lake, Ontario, Canada. This historical boutique Inn was establish in 1919 and is surrounded by quaint villages, majestic hills and more than 6,000 lakes. The Haliburton Wildlife Center and several golf courses are near the hotel. Hotel Features. Sir Sam's Inn & Spa was once the estate of Sir Samuel Hughes, the government minister who led Canada's military during WWI. This stone-and-timber historical mansion is constructed along Eagle Lake's scenic shoreline. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa

Address: 1491 Sir Sam's Road, Eagle Lake, Ontario K0M 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Eagle Lake
Price Range: €120 - €254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Sam`s Inn & Water Hotel Eagle Lake
Sir Sam`s Inn And Waterspa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms are attached to the main inn while others are scattered around the resort. Check the website for locations!”
 of 5 bubbles loveluxury2345, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are in multiple buildings. If you'd prefer a room in the main hotel, make sure you know which ones are there.”
 of 5 bubbles danlN4930JW, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the Main Inn during the colder seasons”
 of 5 bubbles trevheath, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If choosing Northwoods room, choose upper level. We had lower level and could hear lots of stomping from couple above us.”
 of 5 bubbles kflan1963, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Main building close to the water spa will make it easy to get back and forth.”
 of 5 bubbles MitchB73, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5