We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel

Save
Traveller (21)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
50
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
50
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvolunteer staffother guestscommon areas arehome away from homeone nighta wonderful staystay there againmarthatrailnewfoundlandcanadacereal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

I am surprised that I never wrote a review of this place before, so I feel I am due to throw in my two cents. My wife, Krissy, and I spent two months volunteering at this hostel in 2014 and, I can tell you from...More

Thank Chris A
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is a lovely hostel, very relaxed and easy going. It offers all the basic amenities and is very clean. The owners have a great ethos about providing a good hostel at reasonable cost, and they are super friendly and helpful. And so are the...More

Thank Linda R
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Really liked this hostel - I hate the word but it had a nice "vibe", from the little messages about drinking water to the artwork on the walls. Comfy beds, towels, earplugs provided, and a well organised kitchen with nice stuff - you know, the...More

Thank ClaireL81
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in two of the private rooms but otherwise all hostel rules applied. No double bed room available so had to pay extra for a "family room". Shared bathrooms and kitchen with other guests and campers. Breakfast (cereal, toast and oranges) included. Do your...More

Thank RAND23456
Response from SkerwinkHostel, Owner at HI Trinity Skerwink HostelResponded 27 August 2017

Hi Rand23456, We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us at the Skerwink Hostel, we recall that your group seemed surprised when you arrived, and that you had simply booked the cheapest accommodation in the area without seeing that we...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

I was here just one night. But I liked that relaxed atmosphere. Owners and volunteer staff were very friendly and helpful. For dinner I had mussels for the first time in my life. Delicious! Thanks für a wonderful stay.

Thank Sony_Alpha7_84
Response from SkerwinkHostel, Owner at HI Trinity Skerwink HostelResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your review! We're happy you enjoyed the mussels! Definitely the best mussels we've ever had. Kind regards, Gavin and Martha

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
US$61 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$61 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (21)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Cyn2371
24 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Martha N |
Hi there, Yes there are shuttle services from St Johns that come right to the hostel for $40-$45 pp. They leave every day between 12-2pm. Have a look at the hostel website for more info on how to get to us underneath... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"There are family rooms, dorms, and it looked like a dorm with en suite bathroom. Ask when you book."
Read review
"Stayed in a private room for three"
Read review
"No real difference"
Read review
"This was a house rental. The above ratings do not apply. The house was like a home and very comfortable with..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing