We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Lavinia Hotel

CancelonUS$123*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$137*
US$123*
Great Deal
US$137*
US$137*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,083: English reviews
Start your review of Mount Lavinia Hotel
 Click to rate
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have grown up in Sri Lanka with many visits to Mount Lavinia hotel. It's colonial style and charm is something so special that many Of my friends choose it as a perfect place to get married. Mount Lavinia Hotel boasts its own private beach which ensures that if you stay here and want to ask in the sun, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iresha U
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, We are very delighted to receive your detailed feedback and to learn that you had a pleasant experience at The Mount Lavinia Hotel during your recent visit. It is very encouraging to note that you have remembered and noted every detail of our facilities. We were impressed to learn, that you enjoyed the Colonial Charm of the...

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed. Beautiful location, stunning view from the room.. the waves of the Indian Ocean hitting the wall of the hotel.. its just majestically awesome place to stay The hotel has an antique feel... The dinner buffet was sumptuous with a huge variety of desserts, and non vegetarian dishes.. it just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srinjaya l
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your remarkable review! We are pleased to learn about your wonderful and memorable stay with us. It is always a joy to hear our guests being bowled over with our facilities which we absolutely love too! Thank you for your comments on our staff and service - it means a lot to know that...

North Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great room, ocean views, delicious food, beach front, deck chairs to enjoy a quiet drink or two, ( but be mindful of those mozzies) air conditioner and de-humidifier made the stay very enjoyable. The staff were incredibly helpful at all times and the local shopping was a treat to explore.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinne T
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for choosing The Mount Lavinia Hotel for your stay and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us through such an encouraging review. Your comment regarding our team will be shared with them. We are very proud of the standard of service our team provide, ensuring every guest who visit, has the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having been to Sri Lanka many times and always stayed at the mount Lavinia unfortunately after this last trip recently will not be going again. My feet swelled due to cabin pressure and heat and i needed a diuretic there is no doctor attached to the hotel as there used to be my husband had to call one from outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda E
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you sparing some quality time to share the feedback about the recent stay and we are disappointed that we have failed to provide you, with a flawless experience. At the outset, please accept our sincere apologies for all the trouble and the inconvenience caused to you. All of us endeavor to do, all we can...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here first time in 2005 and then came back with family after a decade. There were changes - some that requires immediate attention from the management. Rooms require better upkeep and the furniture, wood-work require a dressing up. The bath and the faucets need a facelift too. However, the charm that this hotel is - is something that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya V
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Very glad indeed to see yourself for having taken the time in posting such a fabulous and encouraging comment. It's a pleasure to know that you had an Awe-inspiring experience after a decade. I must say, reading your "Poetic Review" did take me back to the bygone era......... :):) Thank you for pointing out the areas which...

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

I first stayed at this hotel many years ago, but when I returned for a visit this year, I was shocked to discover how much the hotel has gone down. The staff are even frightened of the surveillance cameras, which are not really used for security, but to see what guests are eating and if the staff are talking too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christie889
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, We deeply regret that you did not have a pleasant stay with us during your recent visit. Please be assured, that we take every comment good or bad seriously, inroder to provide our guests' with the highest standard of service. Hence constructive observations are welcomed positively. With regards to the observation made on the surveillance cameras, as...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This colonial hotel has so much history, the perfect place for an English tour group to stay. Unfortunately we were not staying for more than one night, other wise we would have attended the tour of the hotel museum, that starts at around 11am. The grounds were amazing, very regal and traditional. The rooms were still in the traditional style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennybaker42
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your astounding feedback on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your kind note and we are ecstatic that you had an unforgettable experience even though it was a very short stay. Our team would be more than happy to shift the timings and give a tour of the hotel museum when you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like this hotel and I gave it an excellent review on my last visit. However, I must mention the deteriorating standard of the evening buffet at the Governor's Restaurant. Simply, the food is not hot. When I say "hot", I mean temperature, not the amount of spices used. Some vegetable dishes are actually left completely uncovered and last night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Mt. Lavinia Hotel is excellent. and the buffet is out of this world. Excellent staff and food was great too. My family and I had a relaxing day at the Hotel accompanied by the buffet. Friendly Staff and very nice rooms as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ranmik
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, It is a pleasure to read that you found our hotel excellent and the positive comments mentioned about the Buffet and the Service Staff. Also it makes us very proud to learn, that we have been successful in giving you an enjoyable, unique and a memorable experience at Mount Lavinia Hotel. Nothing is more important to us,...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The abundant sunshine & sea, the colonial architecture along with the friendly staff makes this hotel a great place to be; away from Colombo's chaos. On Poya days they serve full vegan buffet. A lovely mix of Indian, Chinese, European & Sri Lankan cuisines.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dhanuj
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Reading your review makes us happy :) -. Thank you for taking the time out to give us a wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our historical building and the comment made on our popular "Vegan Buffet". It's most definitely one of a kind and "a not to be missed". Thank you for...

2,335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1831)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (423)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (228)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Dining (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (191)
Viewed
View from Room (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
9:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (638)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (467)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Colonial Suite (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Direct Ocean View Rooms (67)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (34)
Viewed
King Bed Ocean View Room (45)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
9.8 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.7 km away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
508 reviews
10.8 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,692 reviews
5.5 km away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
1,258 reviews
0.9 km away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: €98 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Lavinia Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Lavinia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms had ocean beach front views, some over the pool area and some looking towards Colombo city. Just ask for your preference”
corinnet861, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Great Views, Comfy Bed, AC, Strong WiFI”
KatFranlon, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“beach view on the 210-225 rooms”
, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a sea view.”
RONBONW, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check with the hotel on your needs regarding room type prior to confirming.”
  • View towards city of Colombo from a 'Direct Sea View' suite lounge area, 5th floor.
GamW2015, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$123* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$137
Agoda.comUS$137
Hotwire.comUS$133
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates