We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Forks Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 641: English reviews
Chaska
Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to love this place. Not long ago it was fist class. Now, bar and restaurant are closed. Continental breakfast in lobby, of a holiday inn, which it is no more. Hot tub drained for the weekend, even though no one was staying. Humid dirty etc. what a shame it could be this bad . Hopefully someone puts some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisG00
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Ok so I've debated about posting this for awhile now but a friend showed me a post of her friend that showed me it wasn't a one time occurrence and I would hate for someone else to have the same fate.....my friend hosted my baby shower at the grand forks inn and suites (the old Howard Johnson) we made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine G
Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

I booked through Hotwire as a 3 star option. Hotel on Hotwire is listed as a Howard Johnson but was changed in December 2015. Hotel is very much in need of repair. Pool area and lounge bar are closed. We contacted Hotwire from the lobby and went elsewhere. We only used the lobby restrooms and they were in awful repair....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rgbb
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Over the course of a decade our family has stayed here numerous times. Each time returned it was worse than before. Has become filthy. The staff is inept and the overall condition is awful. We now spend a little more and stay at a quality hotel in the area. It's too bad, as it was once a great hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tannis R
Minot, Nd
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Filthy, smelly. I wish I would've listened to the reviews. We stayed on the first floor, and the room had visible mold, we only stayed for one night and I was afraid to breath in the air..it was that bad!! (it doesnt even look like the pictures they posted either. false advertisement!) The pool in kid area was ice cold....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A B
Anoka, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We showed up and a water pipe had broke. The staff was very apologetic and we understood. No water for a couple hours not a big deal, we didn't even notice. The pool was closed but the water park and hot tub were open. They advertised the pool to stay open until 11:30 for adults but was being closed around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Julie, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your understanding when we had a water pipe malfunction - we were able to get it fixed soon after the issue was realized. Your detail regarding the breakfast area has been shared with our staff in an effort to better serve our guests in the future....

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I have to start out by saying that my bed was super comfortable as were my pillows!! The room was a little run down and not super clean. All I really needed was a place to stay and get a good nights sleep, which I did. The pool area was closed due to some partying the night before and booze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candylee29
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Candy Lee, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our beds! Our maintenance department is working diligently to ensure all guest rooms are in good working order. If you have any specifics that would be helpful, we would appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, the pool was out of order due to the previous guests. I apologize for the...

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

My family had 6 poolside rooms reserved, but we only received 2. The room I had was ok. Except for the fact that the toilet seat was broken, the shower had some mold in it, a lamp didn't work, and the shower head was not attached to the wall so I had to hold it/have my husband hold it so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jkh2992
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I apologize for the less than acceptable stay you experienced with us. As we transition to new management, we are making changes in all areas you explained. We are working with our housekeeping staff on reporting room conditions issues to maintenance to ensure they are addressed as soon as possible. I appreciate your specific detail you explained regarding your room...

north dakota
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

My family stayed here one weekend for a children's birthday party. Honestly, it's not clean, the bathroom floors were sticky and there was just a general news for a deep cleaning throughout the entire place. Carpet is worn and dirty in most of the main facility. There was over a 20 minute wait to check in when we arrived. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank savetheearth09
Missy J, Management Company at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

savetheearth09, Thank you for providing such a detailed review. I apologize that we fell short on many levels during your stay. We are currently working with all staff on training checklists to ensure the areas you mentioned are addressed immediately. Your response will also be used as a training tool for our staff to explain the importance of these items...

Warroad, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

This motel did not have enough HOT WATER to accommodate the rooms that were booked, several people checked out and went to other motels! Now know why they have low rates!! Manager was very rude!! Staff knew nothing when it came to dealing with motel issues!! Never again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Missy J, Management Company Rep at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Sue, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize for a less than acceptable stay you experienced and the lack of professionalism when expressing problems regarding the motel issues. We take your feedback seriously and have taken steps to not only fix the problems you explained, but to also work with the staff on communication to...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.6 km away
Knights Inn and Suites Grand Forks
0.2 km away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#11 of 29 in Grand Forks
142 reviews
0.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
2.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#23 of 29 in Grand Forks
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Forks Howard Johnson is your destination! Whether it's a weekend or a weekday we are a great getaway! Located just off I-29 and Hwy 2, the Howard Johnson features an indoor water park with a kiddie pool area as well as a 110' slide, complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, a fitness center, game room, complimentary toiletries, complimentary single cup coffee makers in each room, and a bar/lounge area. We also have meeting rooms and ballrooms for all your special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Address: 1210 N 43rd St, Grand Forks, ND 58203-1932
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Price Range: €64 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Forks Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Forks Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Grand Forks
Clarion Grand Forks
Clarion Hotel Grand Forks
Holiday Inn Grand Forks
Grand Forks Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Forks Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Forks Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One not in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisG00, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You can request to have a room in the pool area”
 of 5 bubbles Perrfect, 30 May 2015 | Read review
“King Suite for families is great. Bring an air mattress for sofa bed though ;)”
 of 5 bubbles daraf79, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“rooms are large and clean but a little worn in places”
 of 5 bubbles phantom_player, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
“If you stay book here, ask to see the room first!!”
 of 5 bubbles tmorley94, 11 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay