We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

915 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shell Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 913: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Each unit in this "resort" or individually owned and so you never know what you are going to get. For the hefty price tag attached to all "premium" suites, this is not a risk I recommend you take. You can end up in a room that is still very outdated and downright repulsive in it's cleanliness. Although, housekeeping returned to... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank Amy K
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Amy K, On behalf of the entire staff at Shell Island I want to apologize for your experience during your recent stay. We will continue our efforts in having complete consistency in providing quality rooms, and we hope to maybe see you again. Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015

This is a great place away from the crowds, choice of ocean, outdoor pool or indoor pool for swimming. Ideal place for families or couples. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The rooms (condos) are decorated tastefully and clean .. There is a microwave and stove top for cooking but no oven. (I brought 2 cans of cinnamon rolls... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann D
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ann D, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit with us. We're glad that you found everything to your liking, however we're sorry that you weren't able to cook your cinnamon rolls in your room. We would have been happy to pop them in our oven in the kitchen, but I'm pretty sure your... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2015

This gem of a resort where every room has an ocean view and balcony, is magically located at the end of Wrightsville Beach with views of the marshes and ocean...It's a perfect size to get to know the wonderful service staff and management....to enjoy dinner outside and feel next to the ocean.....to enjoy the personalized attention at the pool, at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna K
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Deanna K, Thank you for your kind worded review. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest's, and we look forward to your next visit. Erin and the rest of our staff will be ready for you. Warm regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Each and every employee (with exception of housekeeping) from the front desk, waitresses, beach employees, etc. were absolutely wonderful. The management staff was exceptional as well, but my husband and I were here to celebrate our 30th anniversary and we are checking out two days early to celebrate in another hotel. While we know that rooms at the beach are... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Judy S
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Judy S, To confirm: I have replied by email to both you and your husband, and I am awaiting a returned phone call so we can discuss your experience. I await your reply. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2015

This is a great place for a conference. I attended a conference the first week of August and the accommodations and staff were outstanding. The resort is at the north end of the beach so there isn't much traffic and the beaches aren't as crowded. I look forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank CarolinaSportsman
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Carolina Sportsman, Thanks for you kind review. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we all look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Hotel is at last resort at the the end of the road. One side is the beach and the other side is the marsh. It is a beautiful seen. My husband and I were very please with our how helpful the staff were. The beach and small town is very clean compare to other beaches.

Helpful?
Thank allabob2
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

allabob2, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. Please be sure to come visit our "Beautiful Beach" again. Our "Helpful Staff" will be ready for you! Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I attended a conference the first week in August. This place is awesome! The staff was professional, friendly and courteous and the accommodations were great. The food provided by the hotel was great as well. I want to send out a special thank you to George and his staff for all their hard work a dedication to customer service, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian1402014
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Brian1402014, Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We're glad your conference was a success and that you enjoyed the accommodations. Please be sure to visit again when time permits. Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The entrance is lovely but don't be fooled. This place gives "resort" a bad name. From the crowded small lobby to being given the possibly worst room in the complex we were gravely disappointed. This was to be a three-day stay to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and we expressed this to the folks at the front desk. They were... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank Dinah M
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dinah M, We're glad you were able to find accommodations that were more to your liking. We wish you and your husband many more years of marital bliss. Warm Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2015

I recently attended a conference at Wrightsville Beach. George took care of us and made sure we had everything we needed. Shell Island Resort is a great place for holding a conference, reunion, wedding, etc. The rooms were clean, the food was outstanding, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Every room is ocean front, so you can't beat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sebas1413
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sebas1314, We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us. George and his staff enjoyed every last minute of your visit, and we all look forward to your return. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2015

This is a great place for a conference. Although it rained 3 of the 5 days I was there it was a great place to be. The area has lots of restaurants, shopping and beaches. Very relaxing area. No worries.

Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel S
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Miguel S, Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We're sorry it rained while you were here, so you'll just have to come back again! George and his staff will be ready for you. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager More 

955 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
5.4 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
115 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
25.1 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 19 in Carolina Beach
386 reviews
4.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
5.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: €125 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
New York, NY
over a year ago
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
over a year ago
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 month ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MammaTraveler, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We requested floor on higher level for the view. Staff accommodated our last minute request.”
  • Watched sunrise each morning from room
 of 5 bubbles GrandmaJudy1, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor gives good eye level view of the beach; middle of the road room # gave us good access to parking and elevator”
 of 5 bubbles JaniceD9, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get on higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles vandenbergh2016, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Currently the parking garage is under construction so ask for a room near 801, 701 etc...”
 of 5 bubbles 576nathanp, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay