We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

923 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shell Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 921: English reviews
Manchester
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We were on a family holiday and stayed here for three nights. The positives first - the location so near the beach is fantastic - to wake up to the sunrise and sound of the sea and to watch shooting stars from the balcony at night was amazing. My kids loved the beach, which is great - clean, soft sand...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Dodgychris
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dodgychris, Thank you for your review. Your honest observation is greatly appreciated. Never should a guest have to ask for their housekeeping service, nor should they have to call back because we forgot something. You have our promise that we will continue our efforts in improving our guest satisfaction and we do hope you will find it possible to...

Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

The rooms that myself and my family members stayed in were filthy. The floors looked like they hadn't been swept in months there were scuffs all over the walls the bathrooms I ended up wiping down myself the shower curtain was moldy and the bed sheets were ruff and stained and felt like they still had sand on them. The...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Erin Hunter W
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Erin Hunter W, On behalf of the entire staff, I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We put forth great effort in providing clean, comfortable accommodations and it would appear that we fell quite short in doing so for you. For that, we are truly sorry. If you would like to call me directly for any reason,...

Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

For the amount we paid to spend 5 days at this outdated "resort" we could've rented a condo or small beach house! The beach itself is perfect, warm water, clean sand. The hotel has seen better days and most of the staff seem apathetic and almost rude to requests. My fiancé and I actually tried to spend as much time...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Bailenkip
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bailenkip, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you feel as though we weren't worth the price you paid. I am curious about your comments toward the staff however. We truly do pride ourselves in providing excellent guest service and if time permits, please feel free to contact me directly to further discuss your experience. I do...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I was very pleased with how clean our room was thanks to Nita. The room was very nice an the view to the beach was awesome food was great and so was staff. The water was a little on the stink side but that was fine. My friend from high school was there on a family trip...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave B
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dave B, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. Your kind words toward Nita are greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2015

I just got back from a 3 day stay at Shell Island. I had not been in years and although I had read some bad reviews on line, I felt like I should give it a try. I have to say this property is in a great location with terrific views for all of the units. Unfortunately the facility does...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Michele H
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Michele H, On behalf of the entire staff here at Shell Island I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We understand that your review is your honest observation of your stay, and we do take it to heart. Please feel free to contact me directly if time permits; I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you....

Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Beach: Beach is awesome! large, clean, sandy not rocky. Umbrella and chair rental reasonable and attendant very friendly. Bring your own boogie boards Good waves, very clean and warm water. Undertow light at this time. Food: Resort restaurant Dinner was fantastic! but pricey! Rooms: We asked for early checkin and got it, but we had the wrong room. Registered for...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Kevin R
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kevin R, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit. We're sorry that we weren't able to meet higher expectations, and will continue to make improvements in our facility as well as our service. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

New Jersey
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This is not a good place to stay. We have two rooms. Both have a small bedroom with two full size beds with a dresser and a nightstand. There are 1 1/2 have baths, a kitchenette/living room and a small balcony. Water Quality is horrid. The water in the shower stinks like sulpher. It is a hard water and impossible...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Paul N
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Paul N, Thank you for your review. We're sorry we weren't able to meet your expectations, and we wish you well in your future travels. Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

charlotte,nc
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We stayed here 8/11/15 to 8/14/15. I am giving this property a 3 only because of the friendly staff and the beautiful beach. Other than that, it is not really a resort, or hotel. All rooms are accessed from a walkway outside ( think motel) and while the view from the walkway might be good, you can't see it from...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank telecomnc
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear telecomnc, Your review of your recent visit is truly appreciated. Thank you for your kind words toward the friendliness of our staff and our lovely beach. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in other areas and we will continue our efforts in improving the way we do things. Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Each unit in this "resort" or individually owned and so you never know what you are going to get. For the hefty price tag attached to all "premium" suites, this is not a risk I recommend you take. You can end up in a room that is still very outdated and downright repulsive in it's cleanliness. Although, housekeeping returned to...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Amy K
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Amy K, On behalf of the entire staff at Shell Island I want to apologize for your experience during your recent stay. We will continue our efforts in having complete consistency in providing quality rooms, and we hope to maybe see you again. Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 August 2015

This is a great place away from the crowds, choice of ocean, outdoor pool or indoor pool for swimming. Ideal place for families or couples. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The rooms (condos) are decorated tastefully and clean .. There is a microwave and stove top for cooking but no oven. (I brought 2 cans of cinnamon rolls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ann D, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit with us. We're glad that you found everything to your liking, however we're sorry that you weren't able to cook your cinnamon rolls in your room. We would have been happy to pop them in our oven in the kitchen, but I'm pretty sure your...

958 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (333)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
5.4 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
117 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
5.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
25.1 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
26.4 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: €125 - €325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all of the rooms have an ocean view and well appointed kitchens !”
 of 5 bubbles kingtutNorthCarolina, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe higher than 2nd floor for better views”
 of 5 bubbles WI_Muskego, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles CJS1958, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MammaTraveler, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We requested floor on higher level for the view. Staff accommodated our last minute request.”
  • Watched sunrise each morning from room
 of 5 bubbles GrandmaJudy1, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay