We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brookstown Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Brookstown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Brookstown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 542: English reviews
Lockport, Illinois
Reviewed 13 July 2015

This is a nice, historic hotel. It has a nice lounge area and they do offer a free glass of wine or beer with cheese and crackers in a happy hour. Room was not very cozy and breakfast was adequate, nothing special. Easy to get to Old Salem from here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DillonsAngel
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

DillonsAngel, We hope you had a nice stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn recently. If you find yourself in Winston Salem again we hope you would stay with us again. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Fantastic place and great staff! We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and everyone was very friendly. The only negative was the A/C struggled a little to cool our room. I can't attest to all the rooms, so it may just be a localized issue. The lobby and breakfast room were fine. I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was above...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike P
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Mike P, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope to welcome you back again soon. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Excellent and charming place to stay in convenient location. Great coffee shop and Italian restaurant across the street. Warm welcome, good beds, impeccably clean rooms and nice patio. Would recommend over chain hotels!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 707soh
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

707soh, Thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us in Winston Salem at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Christiansburg, Virginia
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

The Inn is elegant and full of history. It is tucked away in the old industrial section of Winston Salem adjacent to Old Salem. It is in walking distance to downtown and great restraints. The rooms are spacious and Moravian themed. You will not go wrong staying at Brookstown. The staff is gracious and ready to help. Five Stars!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hal a
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Hal a, Thank you for always taking time to share about your continued stays with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We appreciate the time you take to share about not just one stay but when you continue to return as well. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us again and we hope you had a wonderful...

Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

I was skeptical when I pulled into the lot, but the inside is beautiful. Very old world with a few great modern upgrades. My room had a wall of exposed brick, which I thought was very neat. The bathroom was large with an oversize tub/shower and the room was clean. the air conditioning did not work well, but the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sobxdiver
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Sobxdiver, We are pleased even though you were skeptical about the outside of our building you gave it a chance and we gather were pleasantly surprised! We thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We hope if you find yourself in Winston Salem again you would choose to stay with us again....

Ohio
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

We were traveling from Ohio to South Carolina with 2 kids (one is a toddler) and we knew we would need to stop in between for the night. Booked our room in advance with ease. When we arrived, the Inn was lovely. Our room was very clean and quaint. When we first sat on the beds, they promised to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HeatherH73
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

HeatherH73, Thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Aside from the opinions on the beds in one room we are glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us. It is not a usually comment that guests do not...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Every member on the team receive all with a warm and welcoming smile, always trying to bend over backwards to help every guest. No question or request is taken care of without enthusiasm and prompt attention. There is a cat, Sally who adopted the hotel as her home. She too greets everyone in the lobby or just outside one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaMom1951
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

GeorgiaMom1951, Thank you for the kind words you shared on TripAdvisor about your stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We love to hear that you feel at home here with us, that is definitely one of our goals in our everyday operations. If you find yourself in Winston Salem again we certainly hope to welcome you again! Until...

twokidsmom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We stayed at Brookstown Inn during our college visit to Wake Forest. The hotel room was very large, we had plenty of room to spread out. It came equipped with a full size ironing board, coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Aside from the worn carpet in the hallway the hotel was beautiful. There is a lovely area to sit outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twokidsmoms
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Twokidsmoms, Thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for the college visit! We are even more pleased that you found your stay with us accommodating enough to return for your next trip to Winston Salem! We cannot wait to...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I stayed here several years ago and decided to return again. This time I stayed in a king suite. It was like having my own apartment in a fabulous industrial setting. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are great restaurants just steps away from the hotel. A bakery with yummy goods is just down the street. Do not go...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penelope B
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Penelope B, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are excited to hear that you decided to stay with us again after your visit a few years ago and enjoyed your stay this go around as well! We hope you enjoyed your time in Winston Salem along...

Leland, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a short getaway and loved the exposed brick and wooden ceiling! The queen suite was huge (so was the bathroom). The continental breakfast was very nice in a nice cozy breakfast room and they serve complementary cocktails and cookies and milk in the evening. The outdoor patio is gorgeous at night with twinkle lights, and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Biz H
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review

Biz H, Thank you so much for sharing about your recent stay with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We appreciate the feedback on your stay and thank you for your kind words about the property. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.9 km away
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#5 of 37 in Winston Salem
127 reviews
4.5 km away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
321 reviews
10.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
1.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Address: 200 Brookstown Avenue, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range: €115 - €155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brookstown Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Brookstown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles 934stevem, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Extra large handicap accessible rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles rd586, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They can accommodate families of 6!”
 of 5 bubbles follycondo3c, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the 1st floor and our room was carpeted so it was nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles MarieM382, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with the tall ceilings.”
 of 5 bubbles travelagentbrian, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay