We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Front Street Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Front Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Front Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

In historic downtown Wilmington and within walking distance to River Walk on the Cape Fear River waterfront. Great restaurants, bars and shopping also. The room we had was very nice. The staff was friendly and accommondating. We really liked the breakfast buffet instead of a set time for breakfast. The breakfasts were very good. We will definitely be back when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Olichops
Hookerton, Nc
Reviewed 10 June 2013

After reading other reviews and seeing how the owner attacks guest who give poor reviews with personal information about their stay I am little hesitant to write this review, but here goes. As we were signing in we noticed a cat laying on a table in the breakfast area. When the owner noticed our concern he quickly assured us the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Htrc
Richard S, Owner at Front Street Inn, responded to this review

Savvy travelers that research their travel plans online deserve to know that the reviews they're reading HONESTLY reflect the reviewer's experience. They also know that there are two sides to ever story (and, from the feedback I've received, they enjoy hearing both sides). That said, this review has nothing to do with our rescued cat or its fur (the title...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Located in the heart of historic Wilmington and just a block from the active Cape Fear River waterfront, the Front Street Inn is a favorite spot for a getaway to a very enjoyable small city. The rooms are really nicely appointed and comfortable, the breakfast varied and good, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. One oddity that didn't bother...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CateNC
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Have stayed at the Inn several times over the years and it is a lovely experience every time. Their updated website really shows the rooms better and each room has a fun theme. My personal favorites are the Pearl Buck (inside hallway) and the Cabana Suite (upstairs). Polly and Richard, the owners, introduce themselves to you and make you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HattieMags
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

My husband suprised me by booking the Georgia okeeffe room for a weekend in Wilmington. The room was very nice and loved the big bed and the tub that was in the room!!! The room also has a kitchen and living area with a nice outaide deck. It was pretty expensive but Other than that I have no complaints. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlyciaRivera
Richard S, Owner at Front Street Inn, responded to this review

We thank our guests for their honest review of the Inn and appreciate that they had "no complaints." Regarding the "value," however, which was reviewed extremely low: the guests stayed in our largest suite, the O'Keeffe, which has a king bed, spa tub, and separate bathroom, living room, and sitting area. They stayed with us for one night (which is...

East Coast
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Since my dog was with me, we stayed in the one room in the inn that allows dogs. It has a gorgeous roaring gas fireplace and high ceiling. We were so happy there! Breakfast was nice too. Quiche each morning. The inn is within a short walk to downtown Wilmington and the waterfront. Love!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahdippity
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We went to celebrate my husbands birthday. Our room (the Hemingway) was terrific. The owners were absolutely wonderful and we took advantage of the massage service they offer. The breakfast was the best ever at a B&B and the dining area is special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheenapoe1
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I recently visited Wilmington with some friends. We were looking for a historic bed and breakfast close to the river. The location of the inn is perfect. It's at enough away from Market St to be quiet, but easily within walking distance to all you could want to experience along the waterfront. The Salinettis were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mkwhitti
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Since we had never stayed in any place in Wilmington, I did a lot of research here on TripAdvisor to help with my selection. Even though they did not rank really high compared with all of the other options, I liked what I saw on the inn's website. They have good pictures of all the rooms and most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brett D
Edenton, NC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Front Street Inn is a great B&B property in a great location. Within walking distance of much of the Wilmington Historic District, it is a welcoming place with very nice accommodations and people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chairman10-11

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.8 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 44 in Wilmington
143 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
212 reviews
10.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn of Wilmington is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright suite has a unique personality. As one of Our State magazine's 21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina, we are exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for. There are many bed and breakfasts on the Cape Fear River, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range: €127 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Front Street Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Front Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Hemingway which is on the 2nd floor in the Front with a private balcony and we Loved it!”
ShipandChell, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are unique, fun, and comfortable!”
nicolepQ9088CT, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Molly Brown suite was great for two friends traveling together.”
mlthompson942, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check out the web page frontstreetinn.com to see the rooms.”
FrederickA174, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Study the room descriptions and carefully choose one that fits your needs.”
K3416VSalanb, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5