We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Americas Best Value Inn Shelby

825 West Dixon Blvd., Shelby, NC 28152 (Formerly EconoLodge)
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
  • Shelby City Park
    1.2 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 29 November 2016
Great Place
We enjoyed our visit to Shelby for the American Legion World... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 29: English reviews
Rockport, Indiana
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to Shelby for the American Legion World Series. Could not have asked for a better place to stay than Americas Best Value in. The rooms were clean and the staff was great. Would recommend to all

Thank Tammy R
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Thanksgiving day, I made a reservation for a non-smoking room. We showed up at midnight to check into our room. After going into the room, I immediately noticed a cigarette smell. I called the front desk and explained that I had reserved a non-smoking room. The clerk responded, "Oh, someone must have been smoking in there." No, kidding Sherlock, 'that's...

Thank 416tanyar
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed at the ABVI in Shelby. The Staff here was very nice and cooperative. The room has a refrigerator, microwave, ironing board, iron, desk, and a small table with two chairs. The bathroom had a bathtub, sink and a toilet which was not fastened well to the floor on one side, thus causing it to rock side to side. The...

Thank LJ K
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I agree with other reviewers "Great place to stay for the price". We will be in town for our daughters wedding and have stayed once already for wedding planning meeting. We recommended to all of our out of town guests as the 'best budget friendly option'. Rooms are clean, staff is extremely friendly and the location is great for the...

Thank Christi B
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Great place to stay for the price, front desk staff was awesome an th rooms were very clean an comfortable. I will be staying here again when I visit Shelby nc.... great location for food an shopping. very quite an relaxing place to stay....

1Thank dhappysmith
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

There are no pros for this motel. It advertised a whirlpool room so we checked in. To our dismay, as we entered the room there was a bad cigarette smell, carpet was filthy, comforter had cigarette holes, bathroom floor need to be replaced. I was scared to approach the whirlpool but had to do it, and there it was... tile...

1Thank Mujergitana28
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Quite honestly one of the worst places I have ever stayed! Not even the cheap rate was worth it. Bathroom door had a hole in it, the bathroom sink was falling off the wall an unstable. There were four of us in a room that was only supplied with two sets of towels, thread bare I should add, when we...

Thank Karinaaron
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Karinaaron, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us. Although we do have alot of construction workers staying with us, we do our best to prevent any issues from occurring. Although we cannot control the actions of others, we do handle any situations which may...

Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The room smelled like stale cigarettes and wet carpet. The bathroom floor was really dirty. I booked the room online for 4 people. At check-in, I was told that they had assigned me a king room. I was charged $20 more to get the room with two double beds. For that price, I could have stayed down the road at...

Thank floydfamily2202
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear floydfamily2202, We appreciate your feedback regarding your visit. I am concerned about the issues you had experienced with housekeeping. We do take all complaints seriously and appropriate action taken. We will be sure to address these issues so that future guests are not affected. We pride ourselves in maintaining a clean and affordable facility. Gary-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby,...

Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed 8 July 2015

So the outside appearance of the motel was fine. The kids were thrilled there was a pool, since temps were soaring into the high 90s. The room had two double beds. The bedding looked clean. We had our own pillows. The room smelled a little musty and took a long time to cool down. The laundry facilities were in a...

Thank Tina J
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Tina J, Your feedback is very important to us. It helps us to determine what we are doing right and which areas we can improve. We feel that we offer an affordable rate which includes complimentary breakfast which can be much higher at many other hotel chains. We try and control our costs without affecting our room rates. Our...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

I was glad we brought some pillows along for the trip because the ones provided had blood stains (what it looks like anyway) on them. They were also extremely flat. The room itself was ok, everything appears up to date. Continental breakfast was lacking. There was no batter for waffles. I also found shell casings in the parking lot, not...

1Thank Rain Y
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Rain Y, Thank you for providing us with your review of our location. My apologies for the issues with the pillow cases. We will be sure to address the issue with our housekeeping department. We do offer a limited breakfast in order to keep our rates affordable. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future. Gary-Manager...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Room/Suite (8)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shelby hotels
1.1 km away
Days Inn Shelby
Days Inn Shelby
#4 of 8 in Shelby
163 reviews
3.4 km away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
3.2 km away
Affordable Suites Shelby
7.2 km away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#5 of 8 in Shelby
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn - Shelby. We are conveniently located off exit 10B (Highway 74 W) via I-85 S. Our hotel just 8 miles from Gardner-Webb University and Ambassador Baptist College. Popular attractions like Kings Mountain National Military Park, Cleveland County Historical Museum, and the Historic Shelby Foundation Inc are minutes away. The small-town atmosphere and friendliness of Shelby is certain to charm guests. Be sure to take the kids to Shelby's City Park carousel, one of a very few year-round carousels in a traditional park location. Golfers will love being close to the Royster Memorial Golf Course. Located on the way to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, we are near several restaurants including Mi Pueblito Mexican Restaurant, Fatz Cafe, Golden Corral, and the Sagebrush Steak House. Americas Best Value Inn - Shelby features 50 spacious rooms. All guest rooms are generously equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, micro-wave, mini-fridge, cable TV with Showtime, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, and complimentary local calls. All of our guests are invited to enjoy a variety of amenities, including complimentary continental breakfast, fax/copy services, vending machines, and ice machines. The hotel also features an outdoor pool. There is a spacious meeting room available to accommodate most events and business functions. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Americas Best Value Inn - Shelby provides friendly customer service, superior accommodations, and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Shelby area. Stop in to see us the next time you travel our way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Shelby

Address: 825 West Dixon Blvd., Shelby, NC 28152 (Formerly EconoLodge)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Price Range: €48 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Shelby 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Shelby
Shelby Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this place. . .go elsewhere for a good room”
 of 5 bubbles 416tanyar, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room number 200 or above and you will be with the vacationers”
 of 5 bubbles christib490, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles roberthG2381OE, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“At time there is no helpful tip.”
 of 5 bubbles PatT101, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Trust the employees.”
 of 5 bubbles coveyofdoves, 4 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5