We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barossa Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Barossa Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barossa Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Northern Territory Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

We did not book ahead as our decision to stay was last minute. Friendly relaxed greeting. Neat motel, room very nice and roomy. Easy parking of vehicle at door and undercover. Ate at restaurant on site and the meal was great, very enjoyable. Recommend.

Helpful?
Thank mcalice6
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

The room was spacious and clean, the bed comfortable and the air conditioner worked. The décor was very dated especially the bathroom. Please redo and get rid of the horrible brown tiles! The biggest complaint was that our TV rarely worked - deal breaker for me! When we advised the office about it the were very apathetic. The motel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimmaree61
Jeff M, General Manager at Barossa Motor Lodge, responded to this review

in response to ms lindardon, I fixed problem with tv when called at 8pm & it was working when I left, she should have let me know it stoped working again, no good complaining next morning. If I knew about tv when MS LINARDON discovered a problem in the morning I would not have had to leave my dinner to... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We last stayed at the Barossa Motor Lodge some 12 years ago and it was like a trip down memory lane. Not much has changed. The "For Sale" sign on Murray Street explains much. The Motel is tired and clearly so are the operators.Friendly enough but clearly they'd prefer to be somewhere else. Our unit itself was clean and served... More 

Helpful?
Thank houhoek
Jeff M, Manager at Barossa Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad you had a great nights sleep in our very clean motel. We advertise rooms FROM $90, which is for single occupancy, not weekends. It is unfortunate that you didn't try our fantastic restaurant offering great tasty affordable meals and a great select of wines and drinks also at affordable prices. The menus are located in the rooms... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I phoned at short notice and the Manager offered to keep the office open until I arrived at 9pm which was kind of them. The bed was comfortable. Arriving late and leaving early I did not visit the restaurant onsite, nor did I purchase the breakfast. The offer free Wifi - the signal was weak but sort of worked at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay P
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We have stayed at this motel twice now over a period or 3 or 4 years. We have visited the Barossa far more times that that in that time, so we tend to saty elsewhere mostly. However, the Barossa Motor Lodge is well located to some of our activities which is why we go. I noted on our last visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank pakabay
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2016

While this is not the most up to date Motor Lodge, it was clean and the shower was hot. The guy on reception was friendly and it was inexpensive it has a pool and a tennis court. There was no wi-fii. The decor was very 1970's.. The restaurant was not open, but there is plenty of places to eat so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krisglatz
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2015

we stayed 3 days with two accessible rooms, the rooms were spacious and very clean, the rooms are out dated but we thought that added character, the location was fantastic, everything with walking distance. we had the continental breakfast each day, it was very good for the price and we had dinner in the restaurant on two occasions, the meals... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank suecouper
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2015

It is outdated but the food was nice, it was close to sights & everyone was friendly. Room was reasonable & we got a double bed each; could have used a small table and chairs out the back of each unit. They can accommodate GF with ease and breakfast was a breeze - GF toast, cereals, soy milk - I... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisabradley67
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Located just outside of the main town strip, the Barossa Motor Lodge, although out-dated and in need of a hotel upgrade, is a great little comfortable stay in the middle of the Barossa Valley. You can travel all directions from the lodge and come across many of the top wineries located in the area. Clean and comfortable rooms but a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jemkh
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Set just on the edge of town, (20 minute walk from the CDB) the location seems ideal, but beware. This place is in need of a major facelift. It's hard to get by the ants, spiders and centipedes. More out of the 60s, it's an embarrassment to this major wine valley. Sign on the door says it all: "For Sale."... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheSpitter
Jeff M, Manager at Barossa Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry that you were not happy with your stay, however I can't see your registered stay with us Mr Spitter from Canada. Are you sure you have attached this review with the correct motel? We would have been very happy to converse with you regarding your stay. More 

Travellers are raving about these Tanunda hotels

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
0.5 km away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
6.6 km away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
5.1 km away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
No photo provided
Barossa Gateway Motel
#3 of 3 in Nuriootpa
20 reviews
4.7 km away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
5.7 km away
Angaston Vineyards Motel
Angaston Vineyards Motel
#1 of 1 in Angaston
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable clean and affordable 3.5 Star accommodation. Free Wi-Fi. Friendly staff. Spacious rooms with private ensuite, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with DVD player and complimentary DVD Library at Reception. Ground floor units with undercover parking at your unit door. Free Cots and high chairs available. Guest Laundry, free Guest BBQ, free guest internet kiosk, summer use outdoor pool and spa, tennis court. On-site Baccus Restaurant - fully licensed, a la carte menu - open 7 days a week - for breakfast and evening meals, anniversaries, weddings, functions, and conferences. Fantastic food, local Barossa Valley wines. We can arrange wine tours and bicycle hire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barossa Motor Lodge

Address: 182 Murray St, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Price Range: €77 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barossa Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barossa Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Motor Lodge Tanunda, Barossa Valley, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barossa Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room at rear”
 of 5 bubbles InM81, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms would be quiet. We were 5 rooms back from the road and didn't hear a thing.”
 of 5 bubbles C3561DQpeterl, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All very good.”
 of 5 bubbles RonS527, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be equal, so any one would be fine”
 of 5 bubbles Krisglatz, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Easy access to rooms with parking at the front of rooms and huge car park. Great food.”
 of 5 bubbles 676jackiv, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay