We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alexander Cameron Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alexander Cameron Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alexander Cameron Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I cannot fault this place!! I selected it at short notice after checking Trip Advisor on my phone and seeing it had excellent reviews and believe me, I was not disappointed! The check in process was smooth and painless which was good as I was exhausted and really did not want to have to think! What I was not expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kay, Thank you so much for your kind review recently. We do pride ourselves on the huge rooms and our housekeepers do a grand job of keeping up the standards that we aim for. We look forward to accommodating you again soon. Nanette & the Team.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Friendly, helpful reception, huge well equiped rooms, great location. Close to all attractions, shopping, restaurants. Spotlessly clean, free wifi, comfy beds. Lovely surroundings and very quiet. A great spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunno2
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Dunno2, thank you for your recent review and we are more than happy that you took the time to give us such a wonderful review. We look forward to catching up with you again soon. Nanette & the Team.

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2016

A two night stay to visit Coonawara wineries & Mt Gambier. On arrival we were upgraded to a King Suite which was a pleasant surprise. The room & bathroom were massive! Very clean & tidy. We also had our own little verandah area. A continental breakfast was included. Management were very helpful recommending places to see & eat. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Thank you Ruth, Your kind words are so appreciated and hope you get a chance to come through this way again and stay with us. Nanette & the Team.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed for six nights using Alexander Cameron as a base to explore the region. IGA with fantastic cheese and meat deli right next door. Very short walk to the Main Street, restaurants, pubs and shops. Room was huge, (TV even bigger ;-) very clean and with excellent mini-bar. Fantastic continental breakfast included. Very friendly staff, clean, fast and efficient. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillD01
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi Bill, Thank you so much for your kind words and review.We look forward to accommodating you again in the not too distant future. Nanette & the Team.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Huge rooms, but with no furniture. Continental breakfast was minimal with what seemed very little effort of thought put into it. Internet was slowest possible. Would make a good place for a family as plenty of space for the bed to fold down but bring you own cereals

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Roger, I'm confused when you said we had no furniture? I had to go back into Suite 6 just to make sure no one had stripped us of the couch and coffee table and desk for one to work from that was in your room. The continental breakfast which is complimentary by the way, I believe would be adequate...

Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

For years my mate and l have been driving across from Melbourne to Adelaide for the Tour Down Under. And we break the journey around about here. We found this place excellent. Spacious rooms, generous breakfast supplies in the room, friendly staff. And they recommended a very good local restaurant, reviewed elsewhere. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaAnthony
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi Anthony, Thank you for your kind review recently. We are glad you liked our hospitality here at the Alexander Cameron Suites and we look forward to accommodating you both again on your way through Penola. Nanette & the Team.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We'd pre-booked and after an easy drive from Dunkeld, Vic, we overnighted in Penola on our way home to Adelaide. It was reassuring to find that the reviews on TripAdviser were totally reliable. Our Room 14 was on the end of a block leading away from the road, surrounded by gum studded paddocks and no traffic noise as most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kay, Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast we supplied and it was enough to start you day with. We look forward to having you stay with us another time. Best wishes, Nanette & the Team.

Reviewed 14 January 2016

It was very clean, which was wonderful! Also, the rooms were HUGE! Such a treat for motel style accommodation. The breakfast provisions were continental style and more than adequate. The IGA is pretty much next door and is huge, so you won't go without anything you might need. The internet was great for leisure (occasionally patchy but most people aren't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilyMB
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi Lily, Thank you for your review about out motel recently. It is much appreciated. Glad to hear the soundproofing was good for you! Do let us know if we can accommodate you again in the not too distant future. Nanette & the Team.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2016

What a wonderful experience. We stayed two nights while we were passing through the Coonawara and they were excellent! It stands out as the gem on our trip because unlike similar properties in other destinations, they provided free breakfast and they cleaned our room and refreshed our towels daily. It was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina300
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi Sabrina, Thank you so much for your generous review of late. I am bias I know, but I think the motel is a real gem too, that's why we like working here! We are very happy that you enjoyed yourselves here and we look forward to catching up with you again soon. Nanette & the Team.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2016

passing through Penola we decided to stay overnight , as we checked trip adviser for hotels Penola the Alexander Cameron Suites came up with excellent reviews and let me tell you the reviews were spot on this Hotel was very clean with quiet large rooms with a Host that was very willing to assist with any questions we may of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank casinomelbourne
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello casinomelbourne, Thank you for choosing the Alexander Cameron Suites for your recent stay. We are so happy that you did and we look forward to having you stay again soon. Nanette & the team.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
1.3 km away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
175 reviews
1.1 km away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
9.0 km away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#3 of 5 in Coonawarra
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
0.0 km away
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in Coonawarra
6 reviews
0.5 km away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Address: 23-25 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia (Formerly Alexander Cameron Motel & Apartments)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Price Range: €102 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alexander Cameron Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 has wheelchair access”
  • Bathroom
  • Kitchenette
  • Bathroom
  • Beds
  • Bathroom
  • Kitchenette
  • Beds
 of 5 bubbles Wheelchair_Traveller, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select a queen suite”
 of 5 bubbles Linda0615, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles 842miam, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not be persuaded into the heritage cottage unless you do not mind continual semi-trailer highway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RhodyGirl02818, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all ground level, they do have King suites.”
 of 5 bubbles barryp746, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5