We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alexander Cameron Suites

Expedia.comUS$112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$115*
US$112*
US$115*
US$115*
US$112*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Alexander Cameron Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 251: English reviews
Start your review of Alexander Cameron Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very friendly reception, beautiful clean comfortable rooms, we enjoyed our stay. If you want to visit the Coonawarra Wineries Alexander Cameron Suites in Penola is the best place to stay. A continental breakfast was included with the price of the room which was unexpected and nice. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mauri S
alexcam2015, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Mauri & Raija, Thank you so much for your very kind review. So happy you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast. We at the Alexander Cameron Suites really appreciate the time our clients take to get back to us with feedback. We work hard to make our guests happy. Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon. Nanette &...

Langwarrin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst this property was at the high end of cost it was also at the high end of quality. The room was most spacious and had most things you need from accommodation whilst on a road trip.The Queen bed was comfortable and the room was easy to keep at a livable temperature. The continental breakfast provided juice, cereal, toast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blunt-of-Langwarrin
alexcam2015, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Blunt-of-Langwarrin Thank you so much for your top review of us. We so much appreciate the feedback our clients give us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Nanette & the Team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was excellent, really cosy, fast wifi is provided for free, complimentary breakfast is provided each morning you stay and bed was super comfortable, really beautiful modern bathroom, it's not far from the local supermarkets or the main street. The staff were super friendly and I would recommend this motel if you plan to stay in Penola. For my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley B
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi Bradley, Thank you for a great review of us. We strive to make our guests happy and to get the feedback from you is a bonus and we much appreciate your time. We hope you get to come back again soon. Nanette & the Team

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were very pleased with the room. Bed was very comfortable and the continental breakfast provided great. One small comment would be a request for a better standard of wine glasses given located in the Coonawarra wine region! We will happily return though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinaAsh
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi TinaAsh, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're very happy that you were pleased with our accommodation especially the complimentary continental breakfast we provided. As our glasses dwindle through breakage etc, we hope to replace with a new design soon. Thank you again and best regards. Nanette & the Team

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the cottage which is connected to the suites Sleeps 8 and has everything that opens and shuts you could ever need Great kitchen and lounge area with a big TV Being old it isn't the most sound proof place but all the character makes up for that

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WayneR2233
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hi WayneR2233, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you were comfortable in our 100yr old cottage. Unfortunately I agree about the sound proofing and we are working on that. Hopefully in time this can be rectified. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Best regards. Nanette and the...

Reviewed 18 April 2017

Continental breakfast is provided every morning that includes cereal, toast with butter/ jam, fruit juice, and yoghurt. There is also a small kitchenette with a microwave. Room service is provided every day. Room was very clean and spacious. Free wifi is available and it was fast too. Honestly one of the best places I've stayed in for work at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stirling H
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Dear Mr Stirling, Thank you so much for your top review of us. So glad you were comfortable whilst you were staying with us. We look forward to having you stay again in the not too distant future. Nanette & the Team

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Very good place to stay. Big rooms and service was awsome. Thank you very much. We will stay here again next year. Only 5 minutes from the wineries and right next to the IGA. Easy walk to the restaurant's and pubs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
AlexCamSuites, Front Office Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you so much for your great review of us. Much appreciated and we look forward to having you back here again next year! Take care. Sue & the Team

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

On arrival friendly efficient check in staff with information about local eating places. The room was very spacious, well set out and spotlessly clean. This is a quiet location and our room had rural views. We love this venue and would always like to stay longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine Y
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much Lorraine for your very kind review. We work hard to make our guests happy and so much appreciate the feedback. Hope we see you again soon. Nanette & the Team

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Look no further. If I can help one person enjoy their stay....................... Wife and I were travelling around South Australia not knowing where we would stay. Found this place and it was fantastic. Stayed 2 nights. Had the best 2 nights sleep! Clean, comfortable, friendly, spacious, affordable and the ideal base for the wine district or beyond. Peace and quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Hello Chris D, Thank you so much for your very kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you again when next time you are in the South East. Best regards. Nanette & the Team

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We stayed in one of the executive rooms. It was very spacious, clean and very quiet. Even though there were semi-trailers passing the motel during the night, we couldn't hear them from our room. The motel also provides a continental breakfast at no extra charge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
AlexCamSuites, Manager at Alexander Cameron Suites, responded to this review

Thank you John for a wonderful review. We at the alexander Cameron Suites much appreciate your feedback. We hope you get another chance to visit us again. Nanette & the Team.

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
1.1 km away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
1.3 km away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
184 reviews
9.0 km away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#2 of 4 in Coonawarra
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
0.5 km away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
18.3 km away
Coonawarra Bush Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Address: 23-25 Church St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Price Range: €96 - €146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alexander Cameron Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you ask for a description of the unit.”
Blunt-of-Langwarrin, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back”
958JohnH, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 has wheelchair access”
  • Bathroom
  • Kitchenette
  • Bathroom
  • Beds
  • Bathroom
  • Kitchenette
  • Beds
Wheelchair_Traveller, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select a queen suite”
Linda0615, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms would be good.”
842miam, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$115
Hotwire.comUS$112
Orbitz.comUS$112
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates