We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel

Hotels.comUS$76*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$79*
US$76*
US$79*
US$76*
US$79*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tin Can Bay\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Start your review of Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, tidy, quiet and has all the necessities. Nice paths and gardens for kids to wander around in too. Staff helpful with local information and things to see & do. Would suggest maybe some face washers in rooms & possibly more milk depending on how many people are booked into the room :) Overall a very lovely place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tia940
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am always pleased to hear back that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for your suggestion about face washers and extra milk for cabins depending on occupancy level.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one night. The owner was very welcoming and explained all the things we could do in tin can bay. Rooms were clean and well priced. Neighbours decided to shower at 4:15am and we could hear everything- cupboards slamming, heavy footsteps. Would stay here again- just unlucky we got the noisy neighbours. Faultless otherwise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmalee8181
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

I am pleased to here back that you enjoyed our motel -thank you for your feedback. We get the odd guest who isn't mindful that noise travels to neighbours particularly early in the morning but this doesn't happen too often thankfully. Thanks again for staying with us.

Emu Park, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped at Tin Can Bay overnight and was presently surprised with this motel . The motel was great value. The room was spacious with a small kitchen attached which had everything we required , It was clean and beds comfortable. Their was a hotel next door which served great food. A visit to feed the dolphins is a must and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ihburg
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

It is great to here back that you enjoyed your stay here at our motel and in Tin Can Bay. Thank you for your great review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night to do the dolphin feeding and we were not disappointed! The motel is super cute and only a 15 minute walk away from the dolphin place, when we checked in the manager Paul was super friendly and very informative! The room itself was immaculate, a very cute little cabin style with its own very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachelv93
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

It is great to hear back that you enjoyed your stay here. Obviously not the best weather because of the Cyclone but luckily we were not effected too much in the end by it. Thank you again for staying with us; it was a pleasure to have you here!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a week at Sleepy Lagoon and had a great time. The facilities were perfect with bbq and seating area outside. Paul the owner was extremely friendly and helpful . This place is great value for money. I highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure having you here and it is great to hear back that you enjoyed our facilities and the area

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The owner of the motel is very nice. He gave us some clear information about Tin Can Bay. The room is so clean.We booked some sea food boxes in the morning. Then We went to Rainbow to do some activities, we was back so late. The owner picked our sea food boxes and put them into his fridge. When we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yzllinda
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure having you all here and it is very pleasing to hear back that you enjoyed your stay in Tin Can Bay your visit to Rainbow Beach and our motel. I will pass your kind comments about the cat on to her.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic place to stay, clean, comfortable & quiet. Perfect for a family, my children had a great time!! Hotel management went out of there way to help with local hot spots, hiring of sports equiptment and even sending a beloved (left behind) toy back to Brisbane for us. Highly recommended and very affordable!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erynjasperse
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

I am glad to hear back that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the little toy horse arrived home safely in the mail

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Just this minute checked out of Tin Can Bay sleepy lagoon motel and couldn't be more pleased with our stay. After a busy wek in Noosa staying with friends we just wanted a few days peace just as a family and thats just what we got. The Family room was clean spacious and well equipped. Its quiet in the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anniemay79
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review ! It was a pleasure to have you here. I am glad to hear back that you enjoyed you stay at the motel and in Tin Can Bay.

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The manager drove us at 7 am to see the dolphins at barnacle centre. He also let us stay in our lovely air con room 4 hours beyond checkout!! Room had kitchenette was totally clean and comfortable! Next door to the greyhound bus stop. Don't confuse with the Hotel of same name.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dancingdawn2017
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay here. I am pleased to hear back that you enjoyed your stay here and our in our little seaside town

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel. The room was small but we had plenty of room for the 4 of us. The kitchen had a fridge and microwave but we were told there was an electric frying pan we could use if we needed it. We made some delicious dinners in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p0et123
Sleepymanagement, Manager at Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is very pleasing to hear back of how much you enjoyed some of the great things Tin Can Bay and the Cooloola Coast has to offer. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our cabins.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tin Can Bay
0.6 km away
Dolphin Waters
Dolphin Waters
#3 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
52 reviews
1.5 km away
Tin Can Bay Motel
Tin Can Bay Motel
#1 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
342 reviews
1.3 km away
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park
#1 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
403 reviews
8.6 km away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
8.1 km away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 24 cabins, sleeping up to 5 people. We were known as Sleepy Lagoon Hotel Motel, but we now are a separate entity, hotel is next door with a different lessee. We have been undergoing refurbishments since taking over business in May 2014. Now we are known as Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel. We offer single night stays and a discount for 2 nights or more getaways. Approx 3 mins to world-renowned daily dolphin feeding. 25 Mins to Rainbow Beach and barge to Fraser Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel

Address: Groper Street, Tin Can Bay, Queensland 4580, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Tin Can Bay
Price Range: €48 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Owner was extremely helpful and friendly”
Kieran27, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I suspect all rooms are of the same excellent quality and presentation as the one I placed.”
224erico, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They are all good. We saw three inside.”
911franm, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“All cabins. Seemed to be pretty quiet no matter what number you pick.”
gouldian, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful sea breezes and bay glimpses from the front rooms.”
Jennifer_SRS, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$76
Hotwire.comUS$76
PricelineUS$79
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates