We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a really good time. The hostel is a bit out of the town, but a shuttle bus runs from the hostel and back all day so this was never a problem. The rooms were clean and the staff were really friendly. There is free wifi in the common area (which was surprisingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lvtravel_0
lisa c, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Sounds as though you had a wonderful time here at Southern Cross. It is unfortunate that we don't have laundry facilities, but as we run on pure rain water here, it is impossible to put in washing machines. Our shuttle busses do run into the town laundry. We have a $5 day...

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

The hostel is clean, set in beautiful surroundings, so it serves the needs of the average backpacker. It's a bit out of Agnes Water, but there is a shuttle bus (though beware, the Swedish girls who drive it are among the worst drivers I've ever encountered!), and quite often the free WiFi doesn't work. The hostel lacks an atmosphere however;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chi_Alex2
lisa c, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your nice comment regarding our lovely surroundings. I am sorry if you thought that the Swedish girls driving the bus back then were bad drivers. We had no reports of this from any of the hundreds of guests who stayed during the time those girls were with us. Even our other staff who travelled...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 9 March 2016

The grounds of the hostel are beautiful on 16 acres of land and rooms/beds were clean.Staff was mostly helpful, shuttle into town and free breakfast is a nice bonus but unfortunately they owners don't do a lot to encourage a social atmosphere. Since it is out of town I expected there to be more of a social vibe but it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn S
lisa c, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes I do agree that the social atmosphere was lacking a bit but now that my husband and I are back driving the wheel, so to speak, we have bought back the parties, the evening games, the camp fires, home cooked meals and our bar is pumping. I am so glad that you enjoyed everything...

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Let me start by saying the only thing about this hostel is that it's a little way from town. But they have a shuttle bus that runs, so it's easy to get to town and back. It's a nice hostel with a great atmosphere. A common area with ping pong & pool. Free wifi!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
lisa c, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice review. So glad you enjoyed your stay here in our little piece of paradise. Being a little way out of the town is what makes our Hostel so special. If we were any closer we would not have our16 acres of beautiful nature, kangaroos hopping in for a visit and our gorgeous little private...

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

I got in from the Premier bus at 3am and the shuttle was quick and we went straight into an overnight room. The bathrooms were clean but the toilets need some serious bleach. The $5 day stay is really good if you're leaving on a late bus as well. It gives you complete access to all the facilities there. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie E
1770southerncross, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and I am very pleased you enjoy your stay. Re the toilets - As you know we use rainwater here, not town water supply and we use our pure water for drinking and cooking. This means recycled water is used on the gardens and water to flush the loos is in fact drawn from the dam....

Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Manager was very rude. I think they need a younger, cooler person who can inject a bit of life into the place. Bar close's early, and the atmosphere was a bit dull. Otherwise a great place place and all the other staff where nice, friendly, and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bonjour85
1770southerncross, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. It is the role of a hostel manager to operate in the best interests of the owner and, from time to time, this might mean that more firmness in dealing with customers than is usual. If you construed this as rudeness, this is unfortunate. It would appear on the basis of previous reviewer comments as well,...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Although there isn't much going on in the town of 1770, I came here and stayed at Southern Cross Backpackers for 2 nights. I've stayed at many hostels in Australia and this by far was my favourite so far on my tour up the east coast. I wouldn't even call it a hostel, it's like glamping. You stay in dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UnitedKingdom44
lisa c, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review. You obviously took in the whole beautiful vibe of our little piece of paradise. I am so glad you had such a wonderful experience. I am sure you will always keep a little piece of us in your heart.

Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic little place to stay!! We arrived late and night and asked to be in the same room as some girls we had met along the coast and they let us go in the same room! Nothing was to much trouble, the shuttle runs often down to the shops and where the bus picks you up. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rach C
1770southerncross, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you so much Rach. we were delighted you came to stay with us and hope your journey around our beautiful country is fabulous.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 20 January 2016

We were a family of 4 and rented a room with a bathroom. The room wasn't that great but it was a good place to sleep, fans were in the room to keep you cooler, outside was clean and there seem to be activities atmosphere seemed friendly. didn't get to try breakfast. seems laid back maybe more then some would...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackJ5417MG
1770southerncross, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Jack for your recview. I am glad we could have you and your family to stay. Please enjoy your travels.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I was only at the hostel for a few nights but the staff were incredibly friendly, the chef will cook his daily special meal very cheaply for the standard, and there is a pool table, table tennis, table football as well as DVD rental and free computer and WiFi access. If you are looking at Scooter Roo then this hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jarrod G
1770southerncross, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Jarrod for taking the time to submit your kind review. We are always happy to hear that customers enjoyed their stay. We wish you the best in your travels in our beautiful country, and perhaps we might see you again one day. .

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
3.6 km away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
205 reviews
2.8 km away
Backpackers @ 1770
Backpackers @ 1770
#1 of 17 in Agnes Water
156 reviews
3.1 km away
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
#12 of 17 in Agnes Water
102 reviews
3.0 km away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
3.0 km away
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
#17 of 17 in Agnes Water
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience for yourself, a resort style hostel with a Club Med feel! Get comfy in our large 4-6 share ensuite dorms that wont break your budget, or pamper yourself in our private deluxe double rooms or Family room with ensuite, TV, DVD & fridge. Dorms & doubles with shared facilities also available. Huge common area with Digital TV, Ping pong, Fuseball, Pool table and cozy fireplace for the Winter. We have a swimming pool with elephant fountains perfect for cooling off after a hot day at the beach. Hammocks to chill out with a good book and lots of under-cover areas to get out of the sun or rain. The resort is set on 15 acres of land with a pretty little lake that has a jetty a free paddle boat, horses grazing in the paddocks and loads of tropical gardens to stroll through, perfect for nature lovers. Lots of areas for a bit of meditation or yoga as the sun is rising or setting or a game of football, volley ball or cricket. During your stay why not treat yourself to a relaxing massage or beauty treatment in our "Healing Hut". (extra special prices for our guests)Our on site bar "Karma bar" with super cheap drinks and beer garden surrounds the pool area and is perfect for the afternoon drink to quench your thirst after you arrive home from any of the amazing tours Agnes / 1770 has to offer. Free Breakfast Free Tea & Coffee all day every day!Free Motel Quality Linen.Free DVD hire.Free Courtesy Shuttle to beach + shops (3 minute drive)Free pickup for the Greyhound bus service* FREE 24 hour WIFI, and a cinema room. We believe that we have something pretty special here at Southern Cross and we want to share it with YOU! Our Motto LIVE IN THE DREAM! Get up to date with life at the hostel on our Facebook page Southern Cross Backpackers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Address: 2694 Round Hill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Price Range: €16 - €59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a hammock out front !”
 of 5 bubbles Deejephson, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private doubles are quiet and reasonably priced.”
 of 5 bubbles sadiethecleaninglady, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay at this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles WeeeeBa, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Free wifi in bar area. I stayed in the Austria room, it was quiet and I had a very comfy nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Annon1800, 5 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Doubles have a nice patio!!! Also at some of the cabins have a barbecue/bonfire place!”
 of 5 bubbles U6590GJgeorgeb, 19 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5